We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of luxury in Victoria, BC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed in the Fairmont Empress and we enjoyed thoroughly the experience. The historical charm coupled with the professionalism and genuine hospitality of the staff made it for us a stay fit for royalties.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest from Dubai,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I am so pleased to hear that you “enjoyed thoroughly the experience” of staying with us. It sounds as though our attentive, engaged staff took wonderful care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fairmont Empress when you return to Canada. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an honest review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,168 - 3,174 of 3,890 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was once my favorite hotel not for the rooms as much as the lade back elegance. The pool is great the staff tries to be accommodating. I was sad to see the restaurant downstairs gone. The cheaper breakfast is now $30 and takes longer. I also find it irritating that the waitress acted like I was trying to pick her up because I was friendly..... I went to look at the shops to see if they still had the English Bone China and found one of the shop girls to be very rude and snobby. The only china I found had Fairmont stamped on it..... It still is a nice hotel but Next time I plan to try another Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okpeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest from San Francisco,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review of your recent experience at The Fairmont Empress. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool facilities our accommodating staff. Our Kiplings Restaurant, which was located downstairs, closed at the end of 2005 and is now used as banquet space. Instead, we offer our full breakfast services in our Empress Dining Room. I apologize that you did not find the service warm and engaging in The Fairmont Store. All of the fine bone china made in England sold in the store is stamped with the Fairmont logo as it is custom designed for us. This authenticates it as uniquely ours! Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This old majestic hotel has been maintained, had wings added, and refurbished over the past decades, and it shows. Yes, it is historic (and old), but very welcoming and with everything just right. The location is wonderful, the staff all helpful, the rooms great, and the services offered what you would expect.

Room Tip: We paid a bit more than others in our party for a "gold" level room overlooking the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1andR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest from California,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us, enjoying our food, excellent guest service, and all the amenities our historic property has to offer. The Fairmont Gold floor is a wonderful ‘hotel within a hotel’ and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy your room with its great harbor views. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fairmont Empress when you return to Victoria. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an honest review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Excellent location, exceptionally helpful staff members.
Beautiful hotel, no problems.
Beautiful and spacious room, plenty of facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LindyBopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest from London,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s “excellent location” and experienced our “exceptionally helpful staff members.” We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fairmont Empress when you return to Canada. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an honest review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Lovely historical hotel. Excellent food, disappointed in cleanliness of room. Much dust and not just an oversight of a day of cleaning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest from Port Townsend,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. First, I want to apologize about your disappointment in the cleanliness of your guest room. Do you happen to recall your room number? If you do, can you please e-mail it to our Director of Operations (see email address below) so that we may follow-up with our Housekeeping Manager to ensure that this room is thoroughly reviewed for cleaning and any deficiencies. Your experience is not up to the standards that we strive to achieve and we would like to follow-up. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the excellent food at our property. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fairmont Empress when you return to the Victoria. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an honest review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Absolutely top cabin at the Empress. Although we only spent three nights there it was a very memorable stay. The room was overlooking the harbor, with everything we needed for a fabulous long weekend.
I had to remind my wife that, no, we were not in the penthouse. It was actually the attic. the windows were dormiers in the roof. None the less, it was a wonderful stay. The restaurant was exquisite, both in service and the food selection and preparation.
Victoria was a great place to visit. One thing I did notice, was the absence of sirens and police presence. Did not see a single auto accident, which was not surprising, since the locals take great care to give up the right of way to pedestrians.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank desertsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest from Phoenix,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful 3-night stay with us. It sounds as though your room offered all of the charm of our heritage building – we have 477 rooms, all with different configurations! As a point of note, the front desk is always happy to assist with a room change should your assigned room not quite be to your liking. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and felt safe in our city. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fairmont Empress when return to the Pacific Northwest. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an honest review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Fairmont is situated right on the waterfront at Victoria Harbour. A beautiful hotel with gardens to match. Yes, the bathroom is a little small as they are in most Fairmont hotels but the amenities are plentiful and generous. The bed sheets weren't as nice as some other Fairmont Hotels, not pure cotton and felt very synthetic. The hotel is close to everything, shopping, restaurants, the museum and park as well as all the local tourist activities. The service is excellent and the breakfast is very generous and we had a very amusing waiter who made our morning.

Room Tip: The harbor front rooms while having a great view, face west so in summer will be very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest from Sydney,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an honest review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I am very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our engaging guest service, and that one of our servers even made your morning! I apologize that you did not find our sheets as comfortable as you would have liked; they are a high thread count cotton-poly blend. It sounds like you were able to explore the best of Victoria from our central location. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,834 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,336 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £160 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing