We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Service at the Fairmont Empress Victoria BC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
“Quality Service at the Fairmont Empress Victoria BC”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Once again the banquet staff were very attentive, and the food was incredible! Thank you for another wonderful memory! We will be back again and again. Looking forward to experiencing other Fairmont locations around the world.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor Harbour view...Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ED L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Nanaimo,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and that our banquet staff were so attentive and provided you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It was also wonderful to read that you enjoyed your room. The harbour views are truly wonderful. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,884
    895
    435
    201
    105
See reviews for
788
1,510
125
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merrillville, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our trip to B.C. was a celebration of life; serious illness left behind and it was a time for joy. Our trip ended in Victoria, and the Empress was perfect in every way. Our suite overlooking the inner harbor was breathtaking. If you imagine the elements that make a world-class hotel, the Empress checks all of the boxes. But perhaps more importantly, it is the people that elevate this hotel. Everyone, from the gentleman who helps with your bags to the concierge team to the waiters at High Tea or the Bombay Room, are incredibly friendly and helpful. It seemed that whatever we needed was attended to before we finished expressing the need, rather like Radar in the old series Mash. High Tea is reputed to be one of the best in the world, and it's hard to imagine any finer. And the Bombay Room: if you have ever had the experience where you are sitting in the most incredibly comfortable club chair, enjoying a lovely wine, listening to perfect live music and enjoying the smells of wonderfully prepared food, and suddenly you realize that you are in the most perfect place in the world for you at that moment, then you know how it feels in the Bombay Room. This hotel is absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAJ1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Merrillville,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were welcomed warmly upon your arrival and our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. I was also happy to read that you were able to enjoy our Afternoon tea experience as well as the Bengal Lounge. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

It was a special occasion weekend for us and the Empress Hotel and the staff there really made our weekend wonderful. We were able to get a superior suite with a stunning harbor view which was very clean, comfortable, spacious, and quiet. This all happened because the staff took notes of our requests when we booked the reservation directly and followed through to fulfill our requests (big kudos there!). We also visited the spa for a massage and you can use the sauna, steam room, and mineral bath prior to the massage, it's quite a great package for relaxing. We ordered breakfast through room service, it was nice to see healthy food options and items for special dietary needs. Later we dined at the bengal lounge for dinner and the Indian food buffet was absolutely delicous. We loved this hotel and the entire staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueovalobject1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Seattle,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay to celebrate your birthday with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy the spa as well. I am happy that you were pleased with the variety of healthy food options and special dietary needs, and that you were able to experience the Bengal Lounge featuring the Curry Buffet. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We only had a couple of days in Victoria so we decided to get a harbour view suite as a treat. It was absolutely worth it in every way. The view and the sunset were lovely and the (extremely) large rooms were a luxury given we were travelling with our 10 and 12 year old children. The service was outstanding from the welcome phone call throughout our stay. The doorman and bellman were both very helpful with eating and entertainment tips. I didn't rate the spa or breakfast because we didn't experience those (I will save them for a return visit). We did eat dinner in the hotel. I was particularly impressed with the menu. We have a range of dietary requirements in our family and the menu was exceptionally well labelled and included Raw, Diabetic, vegan and vegetarian options - well done Fairmont!!! The location is walking distance to many attractions. Having read a couple of comments its useful to note that being a member of the (free to join) Fairmont club also allowed us free internet and express check-in and check-out.

Room Tip: Consider spending a little extra on a room upgrade, its really worth it. The corner suites are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My mom and I were here at the end of December 2013. We wanted to experience Butchart Gardens at Christmas (which, by the way, was fantastic). We sprang for a harbor view room when we got there. We had just reserved a standard room and we really wanted to enjoy a nice view. Yes expensive, but so worth it! We had a wonderful view of the water and some of the buildings (not the Parliament Building though, which looked like a gingerbread house with christmas lights on it!!) we were so glad to have that nice view. The room was a great size and had nice amenities. It had a Keurig system and my mom could have a nice cup of tea or coffee whenever she wanted. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was cute and plenty big. The shower had pretty bad water pressure and shower stream, though.

There were several dozen variously decorated christmas trees strewn through the hotel which were so fun to look at. There was a huge tree in the lobby too. There were lights on the outside of the hotel as well. I loved all the christmas decorations.

We enjoyed tea at the empress which was very nice. Very pricy but everything was tasty and the service was excellent. We had a nice small table by a front window to watch the harbor.

The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and the bellman and doorman would always say hello. We really enjoyed this hotel. It was a bit noisy when people would go by in the hallway by our door, but it didn't really disturb us.

Do spring for the harbor view room and have the tea. One last thing to note, our window didn't open all the way and we realized ( at least we thought) the reason was because of the seagulls. If they see a window opening they come right over and say hello! Just a warning!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Washington,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to experience our Afternoon Tea. It was also nice to read that you enjoyed the decorated Christmas Trees located throughout the lobby. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The building is old. Like ridiculously-old-for-the-price-point-they-charge. And we stayed in one of their nicer rooms... Also, we went for a special occasion. Mentioned it several times and yet no one acknowledged it. Guess I am a hotel snob for previously working in the industry at a luxury boutique hotel so I know what differentiates a hotel from appearing five stars and actually "owning" the guest experience... Everyone was professional and quick in their service though - much appreciated. It was my boyfriends birthday and I thought staying at this hotel was synonymous with visiting Victoria. Will never stay again. And don't bother with the afternoon tea. Overpriced for pastries. But I assume most people have the same thought I had - Fairmont Empress IS the true Victoria. So I would suggest do one or the other - stay at the hotel or get the afternoon tea. Or just don't, save money and be happier elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itzelp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A true classic. Beautiful, nicely located. We walked to B.C. Museum, which was great. This hotel is expensive, and I felt like they could easily have internet included, which even most "chain" hotel/motels frequently have. Instead the $15 for the internet seemed petty.
The doorman was overly eager to move and park my car as I tried to make up my mind about going right back out and using it. He pretty much hounded me thru the lobby and made me self conscience about my cheap rental as some luxury cars sat unused. I cherished the experience as these minor complaints can't diminish my appreciation for where I was.

Room Tip: Ask for the bed and breakfast as the breakfast was excellent, very expensive, and included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,992 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,177 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing