We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Gold is Gold!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a terrific time on Valentines day - got the reservation a couple days prior, Harbour views were spectacular - the room was comfortable and luxurious. Chocolate covered strawberries and champagne greeted us on our coffee table, a rose on the bed.
The service at the front desk was superb - the Fairmont Gold lounge was super inviting with free food and a wonderful selection of wines, beers and alcohols at the Honour Bar (we poured and poured and poured) as we sat looking out at the most iconic view of the city. We were also pleasantly surprised by the quality of the Breakfast! Delicious hot items and cold items - full meal deal really.
Room service was fast and extremely delicious - with the nicest touch being an included tip and no need to fill anything out. Plus a unique rolling dining table so we could eat properly.
The pool was one of the warmest I have ever been to, also with great views of the city - and a hot tub too! Never crowded.
The bed was UNBELIEVABLE - so soft - high quality duvet and all - beautiful city views - and some of the best pillows I have ever had at a hotel. Could have stayed forever!
I love this hotel - the staff were incredible - the service was impeccable. A true Gem of Canada. Thanks Fairmont!
Note to all: We stayed in a Harbour View King Fairmont Gold - The Gold is soooo worth every penny for the perks I just decribed. Happy Hour appies, Tea in the afternoon, and a huge breakfast in the morning! Do it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadwayclaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Victoria,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a memorable stay on our Fairmont Gold floor for your Valentine's Day Celebration. Our Fairmont Gold staff are wonderful and I am happy that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,284 - 2,290 of 3,845 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Living only a few hours away, I come to Victoria with my wife every few years. I've always wanted to stay here, so we did for 2 nights in September (our 20th anniversary). Being an older hotel, it is not as shiny and fancy as many newer hotels - but it is still very elegant and refined. I am glad we chose to stay here - although I will not feel pressed to do so again. Once was enough for that kind of money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

There is something to be said about staying in a building that has been around for over a century. The hotel has hosted Queens and Kings and hollywood royalty. The rooms reflect the elegance from the era. Our room had a two poster bed and beautiful crown molding, as well as a view of the harbor. We very much enjoyed our stay. The location is convent to the down town area as well as fisherman's wharf, the bc museum and parliament. All of the staff were outstanding in their attention to detail and taking care of the clients. We had a wonderful cocktail prepared by Robin in the Bengal Lounge and a pizza delivered by room service. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Very nice to have the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opusjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Kansas City,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the history of our hotel. As an interesting historical fact to share, The Empress Room, our formal dining room, features ceiling molding that is actually done with horse hair and plaster! We offer 477 different rooms, all with unique configurations which is one of the features of our historic property. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We recently returned from a three-night stay at the Empress in Victoria during a business trip. The service was fantastic and we were always greeted with smiles. We were very comfortable throughout the trip, the beds were wonderful and the in-room dining was very good. I enjoyed the view of the moon from our window in the bathroom, and am a big fan of Le Labo toiletries.

All in all, a great experience, as expected. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarikoGel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Vancouver,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were welcomed warmly with smiles and that our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. It was also wonderful to read that you enjoyed our Le Labo toiletries. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont out of nostalgia, as my husband had lived for many years in Victoria. The service was exceptional, as you would expect at a Fairmont, but the hotel may not be the most updated or modern...but that's not why you stay at the Empress, right? We loved our experience and found everything just fine and comfortable. Nice to have a Keurig in the room (or Nespresso...can't remember which) and for a very reasonable rate, had a little sliver of a view of the harbor. Since it was November, the hotel was decorated for Christmas which was an extra lovely addition. We enjoyed our dinner in the Bengal room, though I was curious what the food was like in the other restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and also that you were able to enjoy the Bengal Lounge. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Once again the banquet staff were very attentive, and the food was incredible! Thank you for another wonderful memory! We will be back again and again. Looking forward to experiencing other Fairmont locations around the world.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor Harbour view...Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Nanaimo,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and that our banquet staff were so attentive and provided you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It was also wonderful to read that you enjoyed your room. The harbour views are truly wonderful. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our trip to B.C. was a celebration of life; serious illness left behind and it was a time for joy. Our trip ended in Victoria, and the Empress was perfect in every way. Our suite overlooking the inner harbor was breathtaking. If you imagine the elements that make a world-class hotel, the Empress checks all of the boxes. But perhaps more importantly, it is the people that elevate this hotel. Everyone, from the gentleman who helps with your bags to the concierge team to the waiters at High Tea or the Bombay Room, are incredibly friendly and helpful. It seemed that whatever we needed was attended to before we finished expressing the need, rather like Radar in the old series Mash. High Tea is reputed to be one of the best in the world, and it's hard to imagine any finer. And the Bombay Room: if you have ever had the experience where you are sitting in the most incredibly comfortable club chair, enjoying a lovely wine, listening to perfect live music and enjoying the smells of wonderfully prepared food, and suddenly you realize that you are in the most perfect place in the world for you at that moment, then you know how it feels in the Bombay Room. This hotel is absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAJ1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Merrillville,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were welcomed warmly upon your arrival and our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. I was also happy to read that you were able to enjoy our Afternoon tea experience as well as the Bengal Lounge. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £184 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing