We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in a beautiful Island Town!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Empress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco Bay Area, Us
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a beautiful Island Town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Love this Hotel, not only because of it is the oldest and famous hotel in Victoria, but also give me the comfort and spacious stay! Stuff are friendly and helpful. Bought the great English breakfast tea from the store. A little expensive but it's worth! My stay there in Oct 2013 will be the greatest memory over all trips that I took for 2013!
Will love to come back and stay there if I have a chance to go visit Victoria, BC again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanCan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from San Francisco Bay,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,825
    877
    427
    197
    101
See reviews for
768
1,465
121
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Valentines weekend. There is no other place I would rather be with my sweetheart than the Fairmont Empress Hotel in Victoria.
For years my wife's dream was to go to Victoria, stay at the Fairmont Empress hotel and enjoy High Tea there. I presented her with here dream come true on Valentine's weekend.
But I did even better than that. I upgraded to an Empress - Gold room.
We were greeted warmly, checked in the minimal amount of time and presented out room. Our huge, clean, wonderful room and a long stem rose with chocolate covered strawberries.
We are not accustom to high life living and were at a loss as to what to expect and the staff at the Empress set us at ease. They are warm and friendly and treated us as if we were long lost relatives. To my wife and I it was wonderful!
To us, Victoria is the Empress and the Empress embellishes Victoria.

Room Tip: Go for the Gold. You will never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I definitely recommend the Fairmont for your vacation trips, go and enjoy the best service from the best hotel.

Be prepared to pay a $50 seat in the afternoon tea (totally worth it) and enjoy from one of the Canadian Landmarks available to the general public.

JB

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuBenPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Winnipeg,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our Afternoon Tea experience. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here during An Occasion for Tea with Tea Time magazine. The hotel did a wonderful job hosting the event. Stayed two nights in a room with two queen beds. Room was spacious, beds were comfortable. Has old world charm and history. Staff was friendly. Sign up for the club to get free internet plus other perks. Bengal Lounge was awesome! We went down for drinks one night, tried the next and could not ever get past a 45 min wait-tried 3 times! Try the drink with tea infused vodka-it was Amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkwa2robbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

It'a nice enough and the location is certainly unbeatable ... BUT $30 extra a day just for parkiing strikes me as over the top!
That being said,
a) the staff are pleasant ... and
b) the Bombay Room (the hotel's bar) is delightful ... best part of the hotel ... a real Raj-like atmosphere. They have a superb Indian buffet ...but most importantly, the fish and chips are the best anywhere! Its most fun to eat at the bar (alert: there are only four stools) because the bartenders are great fun to watch and very entertaining. I almost forgot ... the ice-cream is delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingzogofalbania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the curry buffet as well as the fish and chips in The Bengal Lounge. I was very happy to read that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for and that the bartenders were entertaining. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a terrific time on Valentines day - got the reservation a couple days prior, Harbour views were spectacular - the room was comfortable and luxurious. Chocolate covered strawberries and champagne greeted us on our coffee table, a rose on the bed.
The service at the front desk was superb - the Fairmont Gold lounge was super inviting with free food and a wonderful selection of wines, beers and alcohols at the Honour Bar (we poured and poured and poured) as we sat looking out at the most iconic view of the city. We were also pleasantly surprised by the quality of the Breakfast! Delicious hot items and cold items - full meal deal really.
Room service was fast and extremely delicious - with the nicest touch being an included tip and no need to fill anything out. Plus a unique rolling dining table so we could eat properly.
The pool was one of the warmest I have ever been to, also with great views of the city - and a hot tub too! Never crowded.
The bed was UNBELIEVABLE - so soft - high quality duvet and all - beautiful city views - and some of the best pillows I have ever had at a hotel. Could have stayed forever!
I love this hotel - the staff were incredible - the service was impeccable. A true Gem of Canada. Thanks Fairmont!
Note to all: We stayed in a Harbour View King Fairmont Gold - The Gold is soooo worth every penny for the perks I just decribed. Happy Hour appies, Tea in the afternoon, and a huge breakfast in the morning! Do it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadwayclaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Victoria,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a memorable stay on our Fairmont Gold floor for your Valentine's Day Celebration. Our Fairmont Gold staff are wonderful and I am happy that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Living only a few hours away, I come to Victoria with my wife every few years. I've always wanted to stay here, so we did for 2 nights in September (our 20th anniversary). Being an older hotel, it is not as shiny and fancy as many newer hotels - but it is still very elegant and refined. I am glad we chose to stay here - although I will not feel pressed to do so again. Once was enough for that kind of money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing