We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Will Return”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Annual Xmas gift to my S.O. We alway's upgrade to Gold and it's worth every penny. Great staff and beautiful room. Private tea room (Gold Only) is exceptional. Excellent Breakfast. If coming from the states take the Black Ball ferry from Port Angeles then walk to the Hotel. We have never been told your room is not available due to early check in. I can't think of any negative issues.

Room Tip: Alway's upgrade to Gold. The private tea room (with a view of the harbor) pay's for itself i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 695Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    923
    439
    208
    112
See reviews for
815
1,542
127
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Although the treatment and staff on Gold level was good the welcoming staff was non existent. As I parked infront and waited for help... there was nobody for several minutes. I then proceeded to bring all my bags onto a dolly and just as I was pushing it into the hotel someone came out! Not the type of service you see at any of the other Fairmont properties in BC . Later in the evening, same thing, maybe valet and bell desk was short staffed durning out stay but the service was brutal. The room was comfortable but the tub didn't drain and it took over an hour to get someone to the room and it took more than one call to get them to hurry up so I could go to bed. This is not the first time I have stayed here and got bad service, maybe it's the poor design of the building and everyone gets lost and takes too long to serve the customers who pay good money to visit them!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fox T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area, Us
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Love this Hotel, not only because of it is the oldest and famous hotel in Victoria, but also give me the comfort and spacious stay! Stuff are friendly and helpful. Bought the great English breakfast tea from the store. A little expensive but it's worth! My stay there in Oct 2013 will be the greatest memory over all trips that I took for 2013!
Will love to come back and stay there if I have a chance to go visit Victoria, BC again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanCan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from San Francisco Bay,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Valentines weekend. There is no other place I would rather be with my sweetheart than the Fairmont Empress Hotel in Victoria.
For years my wife's dream was to go to Victoria, stay at the Fairmont Empress hotel and enjoy High Tea there. I presented her with here dream come true on Valentine's weekend.
But I did even better than that. I upgraded to an Empress - Gold room.
We were greeted warmly, checked in the minimal amount of time and presented out room. Our huge, clean, wonderful room and a long stem rose with chocolate covered strawberries.
We are not accustom to high life living and were at a loss as to what to expect and the staff at the Empress set us at ease. They are warm and friendly and treated us as if we were long lost relatives. To my wife and I it was wonderful!
To us, Victoria is the Empress and the Empress embellishes Victoria.

Room Tip: Go for the Gold. You will never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I definitely recommend the Fairmont for your vacation trips, go and enjoy the best service from the best hotel.

Be prepared to pay a $50 seat in the afternoon tea (totally worth it) and enjoy from one of the Canadian Landmarks available to the general public.

JB

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuBenPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Winnipeg,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our Afternoon Tea experience. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here during An Occasion for Tea with Tea Time magazine. The hotel did a wonderful job hosting the event. Stayed two nights in a room with two queen beds. Room was spacious, beds were comfortable. Has old world charm and history. Staff was friendly. Sign up for the club to get free internet plus other perks. Bengal Lounge was awesome! We went down for drinks one night, tried the next and could not ever get past a 45 min wait-tried 3 times! Try the drink with tea infused vodka-it was Amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkwa2robbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It'a nice enough and the location is certainly unbeatable ... BUT $30 extra a day just for parkiing strikes me as over the top!
That being said,
a) the staff are pleasant ... and
b) the Bombay Room (the hotel's bar) is delightful ... best part of the hotel ... a real Raj-like atmosphere. They have a superb Indian buffet ...but most importantly, the fish and chips are the best anywhere! Its most fun to eat at the bar (alert: there are only four stools) because the bartenders are great fun to watch and very entertaining. I almost forgot ... the ice-cream is delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingzogofalbania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the curry buffet as well as the fish and chips in The Bengal Lounge. I was very happy to read that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for and that the bartenders were entertaining. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,691 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing