We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grande Prairie
1 review
“Experience it all”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Eat Indian buffet on weekend is a great experience. Overlooking the marina in downtown Victoria is incredible. The staff acknowledging my family is cool. Always getting a good nights sleep in a Fairmont bed... priceless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Grande Prairie,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you experienced our wonderful indian buffet in The Bengal Lounge. Our location is fantastic with so much happening in the inner harbour daily. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when you next visit Victoria.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,888
    897
    436
    201
    105
See reviews for
788
1,513
125
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Empress property is very beautiful and the location is second to none. The staff were incredibly friendly and did the small things like offer a water bottle when I returned from my run. The design isn't modern, but that's not the look it's going for. It's mean to be more along the Victorian style. My only complaint is they don't have air conditioning because it's such an old building. The room was fairly hot at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Edmonton,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I am happy that you were able to enjoy our wonderful location. There are so many interesting trails to run so close to the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked a vacation Via the Clipper in Seattle to Victoria Over night. Stayed at the Empress, the staff was efficient and friendly. Went to the hotel off of the Clipper to check our bags and the staff allowed us to check in early (about 4 hours) to our room instead of just checking our bags without any hassle or fees.

The Hotel is 5 star class. We had dinner in the Bengal lounge, very good deal and excellent service. The drinks were a little on the expensive side, but there was no well liquor the bar is totally top shelf so it was understandable and the bartender was top notch (wish I remembered his name to say how awesome he was).

The only negative I could think of, is because of our early check in we got a room close to the lobby and would have liked a walk down the long hallways the Empress has. This is not a complaint however in the real sense, just the room the staff got to first. Also the WiFi internet is not free, so if you want it expect to pay a service charge.

This Hotel was so nice it was an effort to leave and check out the great things Victoria has to offer (which you should).

I gave the SPA, and BREAKFAST categories a 3 as I did not use them and this review should not reflect that service (TripAdvisor should have a did not use option).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonstech .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy dinner and drinks in the Bengal Lounge. If you sign up to be a member of Fairmont President's Club, then internet becomes complimentary. This is a complimentary preference program whereby you can add things to your profile such as pillow type, selection of newspaper etc. Thank you again for taking the time write such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spacious room and great service from the porters. Wifi was only free if you became a member and it took several hours to arrange. The room we had was on the 4th floor and had great views but due to the historic building and it's single glazed windows there was a lot of traffic noise at night and early morning. Great breakfast buffet on a lovely traditional setting. We loved all the historic pictures dotted around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nano0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from East Grinstead,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I am glad that you were able to stroll throughout the hotel and enjoy the historic pictures. I hope that you had a chance to visit our archives. Becoming a Fairmont Presidents Club member enables you to have free wifi. It is a preference program whereby preferences regarding pillow type, newspaper selection etc. can be added to your profile as well.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I love this hotel and I had stayed here as a child. It's still a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location, but certain things about the hotel haven't been kept up as they obviously should have been through the decades. It's still a fun place to stay and has very nice employees who make you feel very welcome. Too Bad about the cosmetic problems that should have been addressed by The Fairmont when they took over as the new owners.

Room Tip: The side of the hotel with the view of the harbor is the best. Otherwise, you have a view of the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Rocklin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as memorable as we would like. It was wonderful to hear that you had stayed with us when you were a child and I apologize that this time was not as memorable. We strive to provide the best experience and customer service that guests have come to expect of Fairmont Hotels so I was happy to read that you were made to feel welcome throughout your stay. With the support of our owners we continue to address and improve upon our hotel product each year. The need for refurbishing our guestrooms and other areas of the hotel are certainly things we are discussing as we plan for future renovations. Your comments are helpful to us in this regard, and allow us to confirm that we are investing in improvements that are most important to our valued guests. Thank you again for providing your feedback. I hope that we can welcome you back again to The Fairmont Empress one day soon.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Outstanding grand old dame in the heart of Victoria . Expect the best and relax. A great place to begin and end a trip to the island. Day or night the inner harbor is a special stroll just outside the doors. Inside there is an enchanting warmth of high tea elegant fantasy. Always a good pick.

Room Tip: Stay an extra day or two, it's a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmund c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from West Linn,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay. I was happy to read that you could relax and enjoy your time with us. Our central location is wonderful and within walking distance to so many attractions, and the inner harbour across the street is always full of lively entertainment. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our Afternoon Tea Experience. We have been serving tea in the tea lobby since 1908. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Empress is a sad, worn hotel that is living off its reputation from its glory days of fifty years ago. It is like an aristocratic family that is down on its luck and can no longer afford to repair ripped curtains or reheel shoes. We were given a room that had dirty and torn furniture, curtains off their hooks, and carpet that I wouldn't dare walk on with bare feet. I demanded another room, and the second room was only slightly better. I will say that all the staff members were extremely friendly and helpful, and the clerk at the front desk could not have been more accommodating. Overall, I would say that this hotel is in serious need of renovation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacque W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Huntington Beach,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as memorable as we would like. We strive to provide the best experience and customer service that guests have come to expect of Fairmont Hotels. I was pleased to read that you found all the staff to be so helpful and accommodating. With the support of our owners we continue to address and improve upon our hotel product each year. The need for refurbishing our guestrooms is certainly an area we are discussing as we plan for future renovations. Your comments are helpful to us in this regard, and allow us to confirm that we are investing in improvements that are most important to our valued guests. My sincere apologies that the state of your guestroom took away from your overall experience. Your noted concerns are unacceptable and I was happy to read that you were moved to another room. Your comments will certainly be shared and addressed with our Leadership team and owners with the goal of improving our product in the future. Thank you again for sharing the feedback; I would be happy to discuss your stay further should you wish.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing