We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bonython
1 review
“Classy Hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great, quick check-in. Staff were friendly and welcoming. A little pricey but it was nice to spoil the lady
The hotel is in a great location overlooking the waterfront.
Quiet at night. High tea was enjoyable but pricey

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our wonderful location with so many things to see in the inner harbour. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    940
    446
    218
    115
See reviews for
845
1,575
131
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived in Victoria on Christmas Day, a busy time of year. It was our daughter's birthday, as well. The staff at the Empress did everything to make the occasion great. The room was terrific with a harbour view and check in was very positive. The front desk staff arranged a booking at a local restaurant for the Christmas Day and Birthday celebration which fully met our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests from Kelowna,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were welcomed warmly upon your arrival and our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay to ensure that you had a memorable stay and that your daughter enjoyed her birthday. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fairmont Empress again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

A wonderful old building with endless corridors, I almost felt like being in the famous movie 'Shining', without all the negative consequences of course. The very friendly staff told us that we had been upgraded to a room with harbour view. To our surprise this was a room with a single queen bed only., we had reserved a Twin bed room. Only a quick call to the reception was necessary  to get this corrected. The next surprise was that we would be charged 30 CAD for overnight parking. What I found unbelievable though was the amount they wanted to charge for wireless internet access. Roaming costs for my wireless contract are cheaper than that.
While this is a wonderful hotel in good shape with great employees, the unexpected costly annoyances diminished the experience a lot.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HBOGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Germany,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you were welcomed warmly upon your arrival and were able to enjoy a beautiful view of the harbour. We do provide complimentary internet when you join the Fairmont Presidents Club. This preference program is complimentary to join and then allows you not only free internet access, but also the ability to input preferences on your profile such as food allergies, pillow type, music type etc. The complimentary program also offers other advantages such as the use of the Fairmont BMW bicycles. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Canada again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you are going to visit Victoria, BC I recommend you stay at the Fairmont Empress Hotel. The staff and the facility is amazing. You may pay a little more but what you get for those extra dollars is worth every penny. Love it there and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Loraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were welcomed warmly upon your arrival and that our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

You don't necessarily stay at the Empress Hotel because it is the best hotel in town, you stay because it is such a part of Victoria both in historical and geographic senses. I'm not saying that the Empress is not a quality hotel, because it is, but sometimes you just have to be comfortable with not having the largest bathrooms or slick fittings if you are staying in an older property such as this.
The Empress is the grand old dame of Victoria. Along with the adjacent B.C. Legislature Building, it forms the centerpiece of the charming city of Victoria and everything else revolves around these landmarks. Practically, this means that everything Victoria has to offer in terms of sights, food and drinking are within easy walking distances of the hotel.
As a hotel, the Empress is typical of the Fairmont chain of historical hotels. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and their fittings and furniture reflect the style of the building. The bathrooms are rather small, with mine having the shower over the bath.
The food in the Empress Dining Room was of excellent quality and given the dark timber work, very atmospheric. Prices for dining (and drinks in the Bengal Bar) are as you would expect for a hotel of this nature. Given its good location to the rest of the city, there are many good quality (and cheaper) dining and drinking options nearby and within easy walking distance.
Unlike some of the Fairmont properties located in popular locations (and I'm thinking particularly of Lake Louise and Banff), the Empress never seemed to be overwhelmed with large numbers of visitors and guests.
The service provided by the staff was polite, efficient and friendly, all that you would expect from a property of this nature. Others have commented that it is worthwhile to join the Fairmont President's Club as amongst other benefits it provides you with free WiFi access. Both valet and self-parking are $30 per day.
The surrounding hotel gardens are quite pretty and be sure to visit Roger, the marmot who lives in the rockery.
Frankly, if you are staying in Victoria for a few nights, you must stay at the Empress to maximise your experience of this beautiful city.

Room Tip: As you would expect, the Harbourview rooms provide views of the all the activities associated with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Sydney.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our historical features as well as our wonderful location. We are so fortunate to be within walking distance to so many venues in Victoria. I was pleased to read that you were able to dine in The Empress Room which features ceiling molding that is actually done with horse hair and plaster! I was glad that you learned about our resident Marmot named Roger. Hopefully you were also able to see our honey bees who are working hard to make our Empress Honey. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for the second time during the Victoria Day weekend. This is the premier location in Victoria. The Hotel and the City were packed but the Hotel maintained its customary quality service. The price is steep but it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Ogden,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in Victoria for a conference being held at the Fairmont, and took advantage of the conference rate (about half the usual rate) to stay a few extra nights. The hotel is beautiful, set in gorgeous gardens and with lovely public areas. Our room was a long walk from reception and had no outlook but was a good size, comfortable bed, lots of cupboard space, a coffee pod machine and a variety of tea, and free wifi (join the President Club - it's free - to get the free wifi and local paper each day),

There's a great dining room with Victorian (the era not the town!) decor, a bar on the verandah overlooking the harbour, and an Indian empire style restaurant. Afternoon tea is a specialty of the hotel, but we did not have time to try it. The hotel is right on the harbour and only moments to town. Victoria is a great city - small and friendly, a pub on every corner, beautiful colonial buildings, a busy harbour, fantastic seafood. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbour but you will pay a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandrhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful gardens and public spaces. I also was happy to read that you enjoyed our restaurants. We have been serving Afternoon Tea in the Tea Lobby since 1908. I hope that you will be able to experience this on your next visit. Victoria is a wonderful city. I hope that you had the chance to enjoy a city tour while you were here to see all that it has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,052 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,735 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing