We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENCHANTING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mojacar, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“ENCHANTING”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A beautiful, elegant, historic building. All rooms are different...we had a gorgeous room with a water view and fireplace. Romantic. This is truly the life! Location, service, ambiance all rolled into one. Do expect to pay accordingly, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the kind of room you would like...they're sure to have what your perfect room would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojaquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Majocar,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room and harbourview. As an interesting historical fact to share, The Empress Room, our formal dining room features ceiling molding that is actually done with horse hair and plaster! We offer 477 different rooms, all with unique configurations which is one of the features of our historic property. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when you return to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    940
    446
    218
    115
See reviews for
845
1,575
131
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a truly great hotel in the prime position on the harbor in Victoria. Central to everything, the hotel has all the qualities that are expected in a Fairmont. Spring/Summer in Victoria is definitely the best time to visit.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Edmonton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I was happy to read that you were able to enjoy our central location on the inner harbour close to so many attractions and venues. I hope that you had a chance to enjoy a city tour of Victoria to see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Empress with spouse. Room better than expected. The nice view helped. Didn't miss A/C due to nice weather. It is a classic older hotel that appeals to many but not everyone. Pleasant staff. President's Club membership had no cost and provided immediate check in at the front door. super fast. Gift shop has art prices in the $20,000 range so unless you are a Prince or oil baron, probably best avoided. Rather buy a souvenir from the aboriginals in the Harbor area where is it low priced and authentic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Toronto,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the history of the hotel. I am pleased to hear that the staff were pleasant, and that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. Our Fairmont Presidents' Club membership has some great attributes. The complimentary preference program does provide immediate and very fast check in, as well as other options to input onto your profile, as well as free internet, use of the BMW bicycles etc.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back again when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

For the price of the room, I expected a lot nicer accomodations. Other family who stayed here found a moldy coffee pot. Rooms do not have same layout with smaller less accomodating bathrooms, etc. If you are really into staying in a historic and don't expect top of the line room then this place would probably get a higher rating. If you expect to get top of the line, I would suggest one of the other beautiful properties also located on the harbor.

Room Tip: Find out where your room is before you book~
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoad062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Seattle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as memorable as we would like. We strive to provide the best experience and customer service that guests have come to expect of Fairmont Hotels. Your feedback is very important to us and I will be following up with your comments regarding the coffee pot. We are aways very happy to move you into a room that is more comfortable. Please do not hestitate to ask in the future. Thank you again for sharing the feedback; I would be happy to discuss your stay further should you wish.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Was recently at a conference and stayed for three nights. The ambiance, services, setting, food, amenities, and staff were top notch. Location is perfect in every way. Definitely a place to go back to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Port Moody,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us for your conference. I was happy to read that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I am happy that you enjoyed our wonderful central location within walking distance to so many venues and attractions. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is one of the original majestic CN hotels of Canada. It is as much a landmark as it is a lodging place. It is very expensive to stay there but, if you are looking to enjoy Victoria to the max, this is the only place. Five star luxury in a building that could be called a museum. Plenty of interesting food with a British theme. Tons of shopping and sights nearby. Read about the city's contrived British theme and consider the Empress the epicenter of that marketing scheme. If you don't stay there, you will still have to visit. I love a scotch in one of the arm chairs of the Bengal Lounge in a spot where you can see that garden. Remember, this is the city of gardens. Go in the spring and you will be amazed. The weather is seldom horrible there so, early spring is still quite nice and you may get a lower rate. http://www.fairmont.com/empress-victoria/?cmpid=google_emp_search-branded_branded-e-revsh&s_kwcid=TC|1025556|victoria%20empress%20hotel||S|e|44332511460&gclid=CKXM2tCs8L4CFQhqfgodTi0Awg

Room Tip: Ask questions about the room. There are various views and the harbour one is the best. There are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Fort Langley,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us here at The Fairmont Empress. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its history and ambiance. The Bengal Lounge is wonderful and I hope that you had a chance to try the famous Curry Buffet. Our gardens are magnificent. We have a very hardworking team who do a fantastic job of keeping them look pristine. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, beautiful pool area, great location, LOVED it !! The hotel is located within waling district of many of the attractions. The hop on hop off bus starts in front of the hotel. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank judychladek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Lakewood,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our wonderful location within walking distance to so many attractions. The hop on hop off bus tour is fantastic and one learns so much about our beautiful city. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when you visit Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,055 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,735 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing