We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Fairmont Empress in Victoria was wonderful! The staff was so attentive and the property well cared for. The location can't be beat! We were there in early August and the weather was perfect. Loved the room and the view. It does charge for Wi-Fi but we didn't get it.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the water front which was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Colorado Springs,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I am glad that you enjoyed our central location within walking distance to so many lovely venues and attractions. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,954 - 1,960 of 3,850 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Lovely surroundings. Relaxing garden to sit in or walk about. Spectacular architecture. Amazing views. Lots of variety in the shape and size of the rooms. Something very Downton Abbey about the experience. There's an old world grace infused in every appointment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

They take care of everything. Our stay was perfect! I would recommend this hotel to everyone that I come in contact with. The location was great, the service was wonderful, the people were fantastic, and we loved the history.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Aurora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that your stay was "perfect". I am happy that we provided you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. Our location is great and so convenient for walking to many venues and attractions. The history of this iconic building is abundant. I hope that you had a chance to visit our archives and see some photographs and menus of many, many years ago. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Wonderful experience.Lovely room over looking harbour.Very friendly staff and eager to help with anything that I required. Meals were expensive. I did not go to tea as it was very expensive.Hotel is very central.Walk anywhere. Felt safe.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank peijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a hotel you visit for the experience of learning the history of earlier times. You must take time to walk through all the public areas to view to architecture, gardens, and exhibits. Old photos and memorabilia in the lower level too. It is so quaint. I felt like I wanted to have tea and play croquet. The outside garden areas were beautiful. Sitting on the veranda watching the sunset was romantic. Did not have high tea, as it was $65 a person, but maybe next time. For being such an old hotel, it was salacious and quiet, even with the window open at night. Out room didn't have a view but the furnishings were classy. There is wifi for a fee. Also, there were shops in the hotel that were very pricey. The location is great for summer weekends when the festivals are across the street at the docks. It is easy to walk downtown and to less expensive restaurants, if you desire. The government building is close by. I felt like a queen when I was there. The service at breakfast was very good and so was the food. The breakfast buffet had a lot of selections but we opted to order off the menu for slightly less money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoosierNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Indianapolis,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the extensive history of this property and had a chance to enjoy the photographs and menus of days gone by! The Veranda is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the view of the harbour. Our central location does make it very easy to walk to different venues and attractions of which there are many during the summer months. Thank you again for writing such a lovely review. We certainly hope that we will welcome you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

i cant say enough good to say about the Empress we where treated like a king and queen. I had a real personal touch with the staff it was like they knew us for years it was like family. Anything i wanted they made happen. my say at the Empress i cant compare it to any other hotel i have ever stayed at before. it was the whole high light to my holiday !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Spencer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the appropriate departments at the hotel, as well as with our Service Plus Committee, whose mandate is to celebrate the positive efforts of all of our colleagues. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fairmont Empress when your travels next bring you to Victoria.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A visit to Victoria afforded us time to stay in the harbor front area. This is the area to stay and see during a visit. The Fairmont Empress is an absolutely elegant, historic property and is a must do. A visit for afternoon tea, dinner, a simple stroll through the property or drinks in the Bengal Room for cocktails should be part of your plans. We stayed for 4 nights. Returning late to the room the first evening, we noticed that turndown service was not done. It was indicated on a small card in the room that turn down service was done on request only. It wasn't until the second morning I requested it for our stay. That evening, it was done, and the last day it was skipped. Turndown service at a hotel with this status should have it done automatically. Historic properties are also challenging when it comes to comforts such as not having air conditioning and bathrooms where the door swing uses up most of the room. That is what can be expected if staying at the Empress. Our reservation for a king size bed was provided after questioning their first room selection for us which was a queen bed. The mattress and bedding is superb and very comfortable. I am pleased that we experience the Empress, but would consider a more modern property if revisiting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Buffalo,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our elegant, historic property as well as our beautiful grounds, Afternoon Tea and The Bengal Lounge. My apologies that turndown service was missed on your last night with us. I will follow up with our Executive Housekeeper regarding this. I am pleased to say that we are currently working with our new owners and making plans to conduct room renovations as well as install air conditioning into our centurly old building. We are making very good progress, and I feel that one day soon we will be able to better control the temperature in our rooms. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back again to The Fairmont Empress one day soon.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,121 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £183 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing