We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stately”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stately”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Beautiful hotel. Stayed one night. Room was very large as hotels rooms go and well appointed. Bath was also large. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Expensive but worth a special visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCFLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,848
    880
    428
    197
    102
See reviews for
776
1,478
122
546
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

No summer AC, No seals at the adjoining room doors to keep out noise and cigarette smoke on NO SMOKING floors! Great breakfast when you get comped!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anywherebutflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Well, hard to take on that review. The setting of the hotel is great. Right at the harbour. The hotel itself is magnificent (from outside), but everything feels like they are sparing costs everywhere. The rooms are cute but not super clean and not really up to standards (for the price anyway). Our internet was poor, and kept disconnecting. I found the sound insulation not great. The personnel was very average, which I found often in North America. We had food provided as part of the conference I was at and it was far from being outstanding. I am bit torn as it is a very nice hotel but too expensive for what it is, really

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gostram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed there one night in early July 2010, under a package that included dinner and breakfast in bed. LOVED the dinner....AMAZING!!! It said 3 course dinner, and I assumed it would be a limited menu; however, when we sat down, the waiter handed us the regular full menu and allowed us to select ANY appetizer, entree and dessert! Very cool! The Executive Chef even came by and spoke to us, which was a nice touch! The breakfast in bed was equally good. Ok...now for the "not-so-nice"....the hotel does NOT have air conditioning and the day we arrived, it was very, very toasty! The ceiling fan helped, as did the open windows; however, a wasp flew in, so we quickly closed the windows, and just dealt with the heat. Didn't really care for the brick walls view from our windows, either. The room was very small, but after reading other reviews, I half-expected that. We also had the afternoon tea the next day which was very nice, but I must agree, it was very over-priced (we also had the afternoon tea at Butchart Gardens, which was lovely, and much better priced). Overall, if you realize that this is a 100+ year old property, and can appreciate the history of this beautiful hotel, then perhaps you can overlook the wear & tear.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLKgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress, Administrative Assistant, Operations at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress.

We are pleased that you were able to partake in one of our many tempting packages that we have available throughout the year. Your comments surrounding your dining experience in The Empress Room, In Room Dining and Afternoon Tea are very much appreciated and it will be my pleasure to share your feedback with our culinary and food and beverage teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future visits to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

stayed 1 night as part of a package that included breakfast and tea for two. The cost was very fair.

As some reviews have noted, this is an old hotel and so the rooms clearly were not constructed recently (or updated). But if you want a great inner harbour location and the feel of yesteryear, then the Empress is fine. (If you want ultra modern conveniences in your room, then stay elsewhere.)

As for the tea, it is overpriced if you compare it with other options in Victoria. But there is only one Empress, and to us the experience of sitting in the tea lobby is worth the extra cost. (If you are primarily concerned about cost, then buy some confections at the best patisserie in your town, go home and brew your own tea.)

We go for tea at the Empress almost every year, and if pressed I would say that without the package deal we would not likely stay at the Empress.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertfor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
322 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

We paid extra to be upgraded to a harborview suite (room 634). It was in one of the rounded turrets overlooking the harbor. The furniture was pretty sad. The sofa was old, faded and stained. The bathroom was tiny and old. The bedroom was oddly laid out and half empty. In contrast, my sister, who did not get a suite, had a room which looked as though it had been updated (room 367), with a somewhat larger and more luxurious bathroom. The high tea was fun, but expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

I was so excited about staying at the Empress. I normally don't spend this kind of money on a hotel because, frankly, we are rarely actually in the room. However...I wanted to splurge. Okay...the Good: Great location, the Empress Room dinner was absolutely Fabulous, the Bengal lounge is way cool, the beds were very comfortable. The Bad: The rooms are pretty old and oddly layed out. We could not even see the TV from the bed; way too expensive! All in all we would go back to Victoria but not stay at the Empress. Pity!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontEmpress, Administrative Assistant, Operations at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 11 July 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences in The Bengal Lounge and Empress Room.

We appreciate your comments regarding your guest room as we are currently in the process of planning our next renovation with our design team. Your feedback will certainly assist in this endeavour.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing