We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel for business purposes and really enjoyed it! The room was large with 2 beds, the bathroom was clean and large, and most of all, it was very quiet! After a long day in meetings, I wanted to go for a run. Staff @ the front desk promptly gave me a running map with various good routes marked out. The gym was also great and I took full advantage of it the next morning. The views from the rooms were nice, and I'd certainly go again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalemryan, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the Victoria Athletic Club. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    638
    184
    47
    19
See reviews for
509
779
67
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We loved the place, and had a room with spectacular view of the mountains. Typical top-end hotel with excellent service and great furnishings. However, for a business hotel, they lack a bit. No wireless in the room (had internet cable though), but no place near the desk to plug in your computer. We had 2 people trying to use computers but only 1 chair. Parking was also very expensive.

Location was super right near harbour, and lots to see nearby.

However there are cheaper places nearby with equal services.

Room Tip: Try for room higher up - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Guest,

I apologize if you did not feel you received full value for your money.

I am pleased to inform you that later this summer the Hotel Grand Pacific will have complimentary wireless internet throughout the Hotel. As well, later this month, our wired internet will feature a 100 mbps (mega bit per second) fibre optic service. Typical internet upload and download speeds in other hotels are 20 mbps upload and 10 mbps download. Suffice to say, we are looking forward to this guest benefit!

I sympathize with your concern about our parking fees but we are priced well relative to our competitors.

Should you choose to stay with us again, please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 and I will ensure you receive an accessible AC outlet and a second chair for your guestroom.

Thank you for your kind comments about the Hotel and your patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. The room was small and poorly decorated and dark. Most of the walls were bare. The bathroom was tiny and old and the shower was weak. Most dissappointing was that the pictures and reviews had led me to believe the hotel was much nicer than it was.

Everything needs updating. The furniture, bathroom, internet, TV, in room amenities (there wasn't even a kettle - you had to call for one!), wallpaper, etc.

It was a very ordinary hotel and I expected it would be much, much nicer.

Spoiled a very rare weekend away for us. We will definitely not be back.

Room Tip: Dont take the top floor. It has less windows and .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadaguy_victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and please accept my apologies for the fatigue in our guestrooms.

I am pleased to inform you that we are addressing some of your concerns this year and will continue to do so in 2012.

The original building or the East Tower are the guestrooms in question. We will begin our upgrade program with new bedding, room accents, credenzas, and LCD televisions in our harbour view guestrooms and suites.

Most of our suites already have LCD televisions and I anticipate that the balance of our guestrooms will have them in 2012.

We are very excited about the installation of an E-100 fibre optic line next month that will feature the fastest internet service among most or all of the hotels in Victoria. At the same time, wireless internet will be available throughout the property.

Thank you for comments about the lack of a kettle in your guestroom. Our challenge with a kettle is one of space in the guestroom, not cost. As you mentioned, the kettles are available upon request so we hope that will suffice until we resolve our space issue.

I hope I have addressed most of your concerns. We are doing everything we can to accommodate our guests during what has become a prolonged recession for the hospitality industry.

Thank you again for your feedback and for your patronage.

Kind regards,


Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Bought 3 night stay on Luxury Link-great value. Spend the extra $50/night to upgrade to harbor view. Staff and service excellent. Nice buffet breakfast. Food at The Mark pricey but quite good. Hotel is central to everything. We walked everywhere. Good health club with heated pool. We were there on 30th anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sancarlosdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Great hotel, service was perfect, spotless housekeeping and the view from the balcony was fantastic. Had not stay in 6 months and the front desk person remembered me!!

Room was very spacious with a separate area for the crib, really great bathroom set up with lots of room for everyone. Fantastic pool and world class gym
Will stay again

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpencerV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

A very responsive hotel to both the business traveller and for holidays too. Unbelievably attentive service that always strikes the right note of gracious hospitality. What sets this hotel apart is the food which achieves a consistantly high standard in all areas: the great espressos and baked goods in the cafe, room service that arrives promptly and really, truly hot, and the two restaurants, the Pacific Restaurant and the Mark where the food is local, fresh and utterly delicious. The wine focuses on local and sustainable, and the infused tea menus is fabulous. Try every one. I've watched many hockey playoffs in the bar over a big bison burger.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiszaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

These high class accomidations offered a breath taking view both morning and night. We enjoyed a fabulous stay welcomed by friendly, helpful staff. The cozy bar offered some great local drinks served by knowledgable staff. We were rewarded by staying here by being picked up at the back door by a local tour bus who provided to be entertaining

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champsmama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing