We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed in Victoria for a couple nights during a 14 day tour of the Northwest. The staff was very nice and informative (with a good sense of humor, which is always a bonus). We had a room with a balcony and a view of the harbor. It was fun to watch the harbor traffic (sea planes, water taxis, ferry boat).
The room was a bit small for the four of us (two adults and two young teens), but it was fine.
The workout room/pool area was fantastic! It's a small but FULL workout area (great cardio equipment and both free weights and machines) and the pool is both a fun area and lap pool (with a wet sauna). There is a no kid time period (couple of hours in the early evening), which I can appreciate even though we brought the kids with us.
We visited Butchart Gardens before we checked in, so we never moved our car once we got there. Such a nice city to walk around and the hotel is in a great location.
My only complaint is no free wi-fi, except in the lobby (we ended up racking up the roaming charges because we wanted to use our smart phones in our room). We did use the business area once, which was nice.
They also have a nice coffee/cafe area for a quick breakfast (although it was pricey).

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the harbor view...get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1firewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dopshgp, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Victoria Athletic Club and our easy aaccess to Butchart Gardens and other attractions.

I am pleased to inform you that later this summer the Hotel Grand Pacific will have complimentary wireless internet throughout the Hotel. As well, our wired internet service now features a 100 mbps (mega bit per second) fibre optic service. Typical internet upload and download speeds in other hotels are 20 mbps upload and 10 mbps download.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Victoria.

Warm Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,876 - 1,882 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

Right in the inner harbour area of Victoria (adjacent to the BC Parliament building), this hotel is supremely well-located to take advantage of sightseeing and other attractions in downtown. Overall, the design and look of the hotel is "high-end chain". We only stayed for one night, but felt a slight level of discomfort with the more conservative vibe of the hotel.

One disappointment was the lack of ability the front desk had in issuing 2 hotel key cards that both worked. I had mine replaced following an awkward moment trying to get into my room, only to find the second didn't work either. We also had a very unspectacular view of the Best Western and its pool from our 6th floor room. Ask if firm mattresses are available if it's important to you - ours was SO not.

Room Tip: Chose a downtown or harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dopshgp, Director Of Operations at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay.
Feedback such as yours helps us continually improve the guest experience at The Hotel Grand Pacific.

I was sorry to hear about your problems with the key cards.
The key card system is working however there are a number of reasons why a
card can become inactive in any hotel. We are looking at our system carefully to determine if an issue needs to be addressed.

Additionally, I was dissapointed to hear that you did not find the bed comfortable.
Please let us know if you choose to stay again and I quite certain that we will be able to find a solution for you.

Should you choose to stay again, please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 and I will see that you have an enjoyable visit.

Warm Regards,

Emory Haines
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The rooms are still great and the beds very comfortable. Stayed here as I was attending a conference in Victoria. Front reception staff was great at giving instructions on how to walk to a nearby restaurant that we wanted to eat at. The only weakness is their parking lot. Difficult to get around and very narrow turns to get into parking stalls. The hotel was great working around the construction that was going on on the street in front of them. They made sure that you safely turn onto the street to get to their parking lot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalemryan, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and easy access to the Royal BC Museum and other attractions. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel for business purposes and really enjoyed it! The room was large with 2 beds, the bathroom was clean and large, and most of all, it was very quiet! After a long day in meetings, I wanted to go for a run. Staff @ the front desk promptly gave me a running map with various good routes marked out. The gym was also great and I took full advantage of it the next morning. The views from the rooms were nice, and I'd certainly go again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalemryan, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the Victoria Athletic Club. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We loved the place, and had a room with spectacular view of the mountains. Typical top-end hotel with excellent service and great furnishings. However, for a business hotel, they lack a bit. No wireless in the room (had internet cable though), but no place near the desk to plug in your computer. We had 2 people trying to use computers but only 1 chair. Parking was also very expensive.

Location was super right near harbour, and lots to see nearby.

However there are cheaper places nearby with equal services.

Room Tip: Try for room higher up - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Guest,

I apologize if you did not feel you received full value for your money.

I am pleased to inform you that later this summer the Hotel Grand Pacific will have complimentary wireless internet throughout the Hotel. As well, later this month, our wired internet will feature a 100 mbps (mega bit per second) fibre optic service. Typical internet upload and download speeds in other hotels are 20 mbps upload and 10 mbps download. Suffice to say, we are looking forward to this guest benefit!

I sympathize with your concern about our parking fees but we are priced well relative to our competitors.

Should you choose to stay with us again, please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 and I will ensure you receive an accessible AC outlet and a second chair for your guestroom.

Thank you for your kind comments about the Hotel and your patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. The room was small and poorly decorated and dark. Most of the walls were bare. The bathroom was tiny and old and the shower was weak. Most dissappointing was that the pictures and reviews had led me to believe the hotel was much nicer than it was.

Everything needs updating. The furniture, bathroom, internet, TV, in room amenities (there wasn't even a kettle - you had to call for one!), wallpaper, etc.

It was a very ordinary hotel and I expected it would be much, much nicer.

Spoiled a very rare weekend away for us. We will definitely not be back.

Room Tip: Dont take the top floor. It has less windows and .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank canadaguy_victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and please accept my apologies for the fatigue in our guestrooms.

I am pleased to inform you that we are addressing some of your concerns this year and will continue to do so in 2012.

The original building or the East Tower are the guestrooms in question. We will begin our upgrade program with new bedding, room accents, credenzas, and LCD televisions in our harbour view guestrooms and suites.

Most of our suites already have LCD televisions and I anticipate that the balance of our guestrooms will have them in 2012.

We are very excited about the installation of an E-100 fibre optic line next month that will feature the fastest internet service among most or all of the hotels in Victoria. At the same time, wireless internet will be available throughout the property.

Thank you for comments about the lack of a kettle in your guestroom. Our challenge with a kettle is one of space in the guestroom, not cost. As you mentioned, the kettles are available upon request so we hope that will suffice until we resolve our space issue.

I hope I have addressed most of your concerns. We are doing everything we can to accommodate our guests during what has become a prolonged recession for the hospitality industry.

Thank you again for your feedback and for your patronage.

Kind regards,


Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Bought 3 night stay on Luxury Link-great value. Spend the extra $50/night to upgrade to harbor view. Staff and service excellent. Nice buffet breakfast. Food at The Mark pricey but quite good. Hotel is central to everything. We walked everywhere. Good health club with heated pool. We were there on 30th anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sancarlosdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,879 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
4,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#12 of 46 in Victoria
2,192 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £103 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing