We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$228
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,299)
Filter reviews
2,299 results
Traveller rating
1,321
708
199
52
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,321
708
199
52
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsathletic clubparliament buildinginner harborvictoria clipperdirectly across the streetsteam roomsmall balconyblack ball ferryharbor view roomperfect locationhot tubwithin walking distancethe royal bc museumferry terminalhotel restaurantcorner suiteport angeles
Filter
Updating list...
1,971 - 1,976 of 2,299 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed here for 3 days while celebrating our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and just across the street from the harbor. We were on 7th floor with a view of the harbor and surrounding mountains. It was awesome! You can walk anywhere in the city from this hotel. We enjoyed a special anniversary dinner in the hotel restaurant "The Mark". Since we told them it was our anniversary, they treated us to glass of champagne, appetizer and yummy dessert. The service was outstanding and the meal was delicious. A special hotel for a special occasion....so glad we stayed here

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommaw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalemryan, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and chose to celebrate your anniversary with us.
We are very proud of our award-winning dining room The Mark; it is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occassion.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Dale Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have stayed here on a number of prior occasions and have always enjoyed ourselves (see my 2009 review). This visit, for the first time, we were located in the original east tower. The difference in the rooms was dramatic. Instead of the bright, well appointed rooms we had grown accustomed to, we were faced with a dark, slightly musty smelling room. The wallpaper in the bathroom was beginning to peel around the edges and the stucco outside by the balcony was stained.
We went to ask the desk if perhaps we had inadvertently selected a different room type and were told that no, this was the same room type. The desk clerks did concede that the east tower was the original tower and may be showing its age. They offered to move us to a partial view room (for an extra $50 a night) but given that we were traveling with a child and had only one more night we declined the offer.
Given our past history we may still return to this property, but will be certain to request an updated room.
On a related note we had lunch in the Pacific restaurant and were once again very impressed. Even if you're not staying at the hotel this restaurant is worth a visit. Local, organic and sustainable seafood options coupled with pleasant, knowledgeable serving staff make this one of my favourite restaurants in Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EskarinaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Guest,

I apologize for the lack of decor in our East Wing guestrooms during your recent stay with us. We will begin refurbishing these guestrooms this fall and continuing into 2012. These guestroom improvements will include soft goods and flat panel televisions.

Thank you for your kind comments about the cuisine and service in The Pacific and The Mark (restaurants). Our food and beverage team take great pride in providing unique offerings and great flavours for all of our guests and patrons.

Please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 if you wish to return for another visit.

Thank you for your recent and past patronage of the Hotel Grand Pacific.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed in Victoria for a couple nights during a 14 day tour of the Northwest. The staff was very nice and informative (with a good sense of humor, which is always a bonus). We had a room with a balcony and a view of the harbor. It was fun to watch the harbor traffic (sea planes, water taxis, ferry boat).
The room was a bit small for the four of us (two adults and two young teens), but it was fine.
The workout room/pool area was fantastic! It's a small but FULL workout area (great cardio equipment and both free weights and machines) and the pool is both a fun area and lap pool (with a wet sauna). There is a no kid time period (couple of hours in the early evening), which I can appreciate even though we brought the kids with us.
We visited Butchart Gardens before we checked in, so we never moved our car once we got there. Such a nice city to walk around and the hotel is in a great location.
My only complaint is no free wi-fi, except in the lobby (we ended up racking up the roaming charges because we wanted to use our smart phones in our room). We did use the business area once, which was nice.
They also have a nice coffee/cafe area for a quick breakfast (although it was pricey).

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the harbor view...get one!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1firewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dopshgp, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Victoria Athletic Club and our easy aaccess to Butchart Gardens and other attractions.

I am pleased to inform you that later this summer the Hotel Grand Pacific will have complimentary wireless internet throughout the Hotel. As well, our wired internet service now features a 100 mbps (mega bit per second) fibre optic service. Typical internet upload and download speeds in other hotels are 20 mbps upload and 10 mbps download.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Victoria.

Warm Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Right in the inner harbour area of Victoria (adjacent to the BC Parliament building), this hotel is supremely well-located to take advantage of sightseeing and other attractions in downtown. Overall, the design and look of the hotel is "high-end chain". We only stayed for one night, but felt a slight level of discomfort with the more conservative vibe of the hotel.

One disappointment was the lack of ability the front desk had in issuing 2 hotel key cards that both worked. I had mine replaced following an awkward moment trying to get into my room, only to find the second didn't work either. We also had a very unspectacular view of the Best Western and its pool from our 6th floor room. Ask if firm mattresses are available if it's important to you - ours was SO not.

Room Tip: Chose a downtown or harbour view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dopshgp, Director Of Operations at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay.
Feedback such as yours helps us continually improve the guest experience at The Hotel Grand Pacific.

I was sorry to hear about your problems with the key cards.
The key card system is working however there are a number of reasons why a
card can become inactive in any hotel. We are looking at our system carefully to determine if an issue needs to be addressed.

Additionally, I was dissapointed to hear that you did not find the bed comfortable.
Please let us know if you choose to stay again and I quite certain that we will be able to find a solution for you.

Should you choose to stay again, please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 and I will see that you have an enjoyable visit.

Warm Regards,

Emory Haines
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The rooms are still great and the beds very comfortable. Stayed here as I was attending a conference in Victoria. Front reception staff was great at giving instructions on how to walk to a nearby restaurant that we wanted to eat at. The only weakness is their parking lot. Difficult to get around and very narrow turns to get into parking stalls. The hotel was great working around the construction that was going on on the street in front of them. They made sure that you safely turn onto the street to get to their parking lot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalemryan, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and easy access to the Royal BC Museum and other attractions. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews