We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with superb service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The staff were extremely attentive without being pushy. Always there to help you if needed. The rooms were great, and the view from the balcony was amazing. Excellent service, excellent product. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pigeonherder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Pacific
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,779 - 1,785 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location by the inner harbour, walking distance from everything you need. The staff at this hotel was very friendly including the groundskeeper who let me feed his ducks! Clean spacious room, good value. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting or working in Victoria.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalemryan, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Josee09,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Pacific. We take great pride in the level of service delivered by our employees and this is something that is often recognized by our guests. Our ducks are definitely a hit with adults and children alike and Joe our groundskeeper loves to show off his little family.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria!

Sincerely,

Dale Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The best attribute of this hotel is the excellent location in downtown Victoria. It is within walking distance of all the best downtown restaurants, shops and tours. It also has a fabulous spa, gym and pool. The only downside would be the rooms as they seem a bit dated for the price of stay (ie. TV is dated, the closet size is extremely small, the carpet and washrooms need some updating, etc.) and the rooms seemed smaller in size compared to other hotels I have stayed for similar pricing. The staff were cordial but not overly friendly. A three star hotel (perhaps 3.5 with the spa as it is truly an excellent asset to this hotel).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelstoall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmoryHaines, Director of Operations at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about The Spa at The Grand, The Victoria Athletic Club and our staff.

I apologize for the lack of decor in our East Wing guestrooms during your recent stay with us. We will begin refurbishing these guestrooms this fall and continuing into 2012. These guestroom improvements will include soft goods and flat panel televisions. Our Victoria Room is similar in size to the offerings of the other inner harbour hotels-however we do have larger room types available.

Please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 if you wish to return for another visit.

Thank you for your recent patronage of the Hotel Grand Pacific.

Kind regards,

Emory Haines
Director of Operations
The Hotel Grand Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed here for 3 days while celebrating our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and just across the street from the harbor. We were on 7th floor with a view of the harbor and surrounding mountains. It was awesome! You can walk anywhere in the city from this hotel. We enjoyed a special anniversary dinner in the hotel restaurant "The Mark". Since we told them it was our anniversary, they treated us to glass of champagne, appetizer and yummy dessert. The service was outstanding and the meal was delicious. A special hotel for a special occasion....so glad we stayed here

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommaw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalemryan, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and chose to celebrate your anniversary with us.
We are very proud of our award-winning dining room The Mark; it is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occassion.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Dale Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have stayed here on a number of prior occasions and have always enjoyed ourselves (see my 2009 review). This visit, for the first time, we were located in the original east tower. The difference in the rooms was dramatic. Instead of the bright, well appointed rooms we had grown accustomed to, we were faced with a dark, slightly musty smelling room. The wallpaper in the bathroom was beginning to peel around the edges and the stucco outside by the balcony was stained.
We went to ask the desk if perhaps we had inadvertently selected a different room type and were told that no, this was the same room type. The desk clerks did concede that the east tower was the original tower and may be showing its age. They offered to move us to a partial view room (for an extra $50 a night) but given that we were traveling with a child and had only one more night we declined the offer.
Given our past history we may still return to this property, but will be certain to request an updated room.
On a related note we had lunch in the Pacific restaurant and were once again very impressed. Even if you're not staying at the hotel this restaurant is worth a visit. Local, organic and sustainable seafood options coupled with pleasant, knowledgeable serving staff make this one of my favourite restaurants in Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EskarinaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Guest,

I apologize for the lack of decor in our East Wing guestrooms during your recent stay with us. We will begin refurbishing these guestrooms this fall and continuing into 2012. These guestroom improvements will include soft goods and flat panel televisions.

Thank you for your kind comments about the cuisine and service in The Pacific and The Mark (restaurants). Our food and beverage team take great pride in providing unique offerings and great flavours for all of our guests and patrons.

Please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 if you wish to return for another visit.

Thank you for your recent and past patronage of the Hotel Grand Pacific.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed in Victoria for a couple nights during a 14 day tour of the Northwest. The staff was very nice and informative (with a good sense of humor, which is always a bonus). We had a room with a balcony and a view of the harbor. It was fun to watch the harbor traffic (sea planes, water taxis, ferry boat).
The room was a bit small for the four of us (two adults and two young teens), but it was fine.
The workout room/pool area was fantastic! It's a small but FULL workout area (great cardio equipment and both free weights and machines) and the pool is both a fun area and lap pool (with a wet sauna). There is a no kid time period (couple of hours in the early evening), which I can appreciate even though we brought the kids with us.
We visited Butchart Gardens before we checked in, so we never moved our car once we got there. Such a nice city to walk around and the hotel is in a great location.
My only complaint is no free wi-fi, except in the lobby (we ended up racking up the roaming charges because we wanted to use our smart phones in our room). We did use the business area once, which was nice.
They also have a nice coffee/cafe area for a quick breakfast (although it was pricey).

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the harbor view...get one!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1firewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dopshgp, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Victoria Athletic Club and our easy aaccess to Butchart Gardens and other attractions.

I am pleased to inform you that later this summer the Hotel Grand Pacific will have complimentary wireless internet throughout the Hotel. As well, our wired internet service now features a 100 mbps (mega bit per second) fibre optic service. Typical internet upload and download speeds in other hotels are 20 mbps upload and 10 mbps download.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Victoria.

Warm Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Right in the inner harbour area of Victoria (adjacent to the BC Parliament building), this hotel is supremely well-located to take advantage of sightseeing and other attractions in downtown. Overall, the design and look of the hotel is "high-end chain". We only stayed for one night, but felt a slight level of discomfort with the more conservative vibe of the hotel.

One disappointment was the lack of ability the front desk had in issuing 2 hotel key cards that both worked. I had mine replaced following an awkward moment trying to get into my room, only to find the second didn't work either. We also had a very unspectacular view of the Best Western and its pool from our 6th floor room. Ask if firm mattresses are available if it's important to you - ours was SO not.

Room Tip: Chose a downtown or harbour view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dopshgp, Director Of Operations at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay.
Feedback such as yours helps us continually improve the guest experience at The Hotel Grand Pacific.

I was sorry to hear about your problems with the key cards.
The key card system is working however there are a number of reasons why a
card can become inactive in any hotel. We are looking at our system carefully to determine if an issue needs to be addressed.

Additionally, I was dissapointed to hear that you did not find the bed comfortable.
Please let us know if you choose to stay again and I quite certain that we will be able to find a solution for you.

Should you choose to stay again, please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 and I will see that you have an enjoyable visit.

Warm Regards,

Emory Haines
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.2 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.3 mi away
Inn at Laurel Point
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £111 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing