We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Manning, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Its been a awhile since I stayed here, but I love to visit it every time I am in Victoria. The property is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spacious and I love the down filled comforters. Roomy shower with excellent water pressure, fragrant amenities (love the shampoo) and the whole guest room was spotless. Fair sized balcony with a view of the ferry terminal across the street and the inner harbor. Excellent location to walk to the Empress, the Inner Harbor, and all the other shops. And the food - what a culinary masterpiece!!!

Room Tip: Get a view of the harbor, you wont regret the piddly difference in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    612
    180
    44
    19
See reviews for
483
745
64
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We enjoyed our room on the eight floor. Watched cruise ships docking to the west, and the Scenic Parliament buildings are just out to the east. Our room was airy with high ceilings and was just fine for our two nights.
We discovered we had no corkscrew and the front desk provided one with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HardwickeHowlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the past 7 years when travelling on business.
Rooms: decor is a bit tired but consistently clean and rooms meet my needs. Wifi in rooms much better than it used to be.
Amenities: best pool area/hot tub/sauna/steam room that I have found in the city. Nice to have all these options. On-site eateries are convenient but pricey. You are better of checking out the great variety of other choices the city offers.
Location: doesn't get any better. The harbour views are stunning but even if you get a residential view, the property is in a great location.
Service: hit and miss. I am now used to rooms usually not being ready until later in the day and just work around it. The valet and concierge are always friendly and helpful. Front desk totally varies. They have a few great, friendly, customer-oriented staff but there a a couple who seem rather disinterested at times. However, I have never had any problems with billing, reservations, etc.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Victoria despite the fact that weather was quite changeable.

The hotel was excellent, lovely big, clean, warming room with plenty of space and a veranda to sit out on.

Lovely spotless bathroom with plenty of space for any little necessities you need to bring. There is also a sink located just outside the bathroom in a small alcove, good if you need to brush your hair and do your teeth while your partner is having their shower. Iron, Iron Board and Safe are all in a small built in Wardrobe.

The hotel is across the road from the Marina and is right next to very stately Government Buildings, its a short walk to the town where there is plenty to be had food wise and shop wise.

The big plus for us was that we were travelling to Seattle on the Ferry from Victoria and the Ferry Port was only a 5 min walk with cases from the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WellKentFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

A recent 3 night stay in Victoria at HGP was very nice. The rooms are rather small but well appointed and met our needs. Most important very quiet with very little hall or bathroom noise or from other suites. Parking is complimentary (unlike Laurel Point Inn)
Disappointed with their advertising practice of offering a special promo deal but when you call to book the rooms in the special are all booked, but we can give you an upgrade room on the promotion, but there is an additional $40 for view. Come on!!! "Bait & Switch" at its best.
Certainly one of the best hotels on the harbour, but also in the high price zone.

Room Tip: The Grand or View rooms are overpriced and not worth the extra $$$'s unless you intend to sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99franko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location and the hotel is average overall. We were disappointed with the lack of service. We arrived at noon and asked to check in early but could not- fair enough. We were told we could keep checking back and that our room would be put on "priority status" with housekeeping. Ok, so we came back at 2:45, still no room. Again we were told we would have to check back but they had no idea when it would be ready. We sat in the not-very-comfortable lounge (hard straight back chairs...) and watched four other groups check in and get their keys. Finally I for the third time asked for our room, still not available. I had to ask if ANY room was ready and we were given a really small room on the fourth floor, overlooking a building next door. Nice. A good hotel would have at least offered something like a free drink while you waited- little things like that make or break your experience and they should know this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blenniewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the delay at check-in. Generally speaking we can find a room for our guests that arrive prior to our 3:00pm check-in time but it is more difficult when the Hotel is sold out.

It would be helpful if you could share your contact information so that I can follow-up with our Guest Service Manager on why there was no offer of a complimentary beverage while you wait for your room. This is standard in our Hotel. I apologize for this as well.

You may reach me at 1-800-663-7550 or rjames@hotelgrandpacific.com

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Reid James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful evening at the Hotel Grand Pacific in the Victoria harbor area on Sept. 17th. The evening was "cool" but that's to be expected for that time of year. Our room was a suite on the 7th floor overlooking the harbor and a second balcony afforded us a view of the Parliment building and grounds as well as the Empress Hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. Don't take no for an answer for the room location.....my wife booked the room well in advance, specificlly asking for a full harbor view. I knew there was going to be a problem when the receptionist hand us the room key and said it was on the 3rd floor! What kind of view are you going to get from the 3rd floor? As predicted the view was hardly a "show stopper" Once presented with the prospect of us going "elsewhere" things started to "happen" and we were given the room type we wanted on the 7th floor. This issue was not entirely the hotels fault as my wife had requested a "king bed" and most of the bigger harbor facing suites don't have them. So make sure you clear that up when making your reservation.
The hotel is perfectly situated for walking around the harbor and close to lots of shopping pubs and dinning in the "downtown" core. We ate dinner at IL Terrazo which was only a 5-6 dollar cab ride there and we walked back to the hotel along the water front.. We highly recommend IL Terrazo as did the packed throngs eating there.If you plan dining there I would call them a week or 2 ahead of time for a reservation......try the lamb!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sand_Hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing