We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional lodging right on the inner harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional lodging right on the inner harbor”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked a room at a great rate over New Year's. When we arrived, I discovered I had inadvertently booked a "Victoria Room," which was a neighborhood view, not a harbor view. The good news...as returning guests, we had already been upgraded to a harbor view (outer harbor) without extra charge on the top floor (we had requested "highest floor" online). No inner harbor view room was available at that time, but they worked out a room trade when one was available, for our 3rd night. Then we had a view of the inner harbor, The Empress, and the Parliament building, decorated for Christmas.

The accommodations were perfect - clean, roomy, high-end, and a great view. Our housekeeper, Milka, was so warm and helpful.

All of this made for a wonderful, relaxing anniversary celebration in Victoria.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ctomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    633
    180
    46
    19
See reviews for
502
766
67
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The pool and gym were an excellent addition to our short stay. Breakfast was good, service excellent. An easy suggestion to make your hotel greener is to have small coffee creamers in the room fridges. Some herbal tea would have been nice too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Loved my stay at the Hotel Grand Pacific ... the room was huge and I had a nice balcony that overlooked the harbour.

I could not have asked for anything else from a stay ... service was great and I would definitely stay again. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent three nights here including New Years Eve. After telling the staff that we were going to get engaged on New Years Eve they upgraded us to a stunning suite on the top floor overlooking the harbour with Christmas lights glowing in every direction. The service was outstanding and all the staff were extremely courteous and congenial. They made the entire stay enchanting and we did get engaged on that balcony over looking the harbour ! We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the inner harbour is a must for this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed at this property before and it has always been a great experience. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The location is ideal and so close to the water and downtown and all the local activities. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pacific room as opposed to a Victoria room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This place had the best bed & pillows we encountered in the three weeks we were on the road. The room had a great view over the harbor, though there are signs of wear and tear beginning to show. The front desk was manned by efficient staff. We tried to have breakfast in the restaurant as we were flying home that day and wanted something close and easy. The food was ok but the wait for a table was long and dreary, so our advice is forget it & go somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you again for taking the time to write and share your observations as we learn so much from our guests and their expectations.

I would agree that some of our rooms in the East Wing are showing some wear and tear and I am pleased to announce that we have started a room renovation in this area of the hotel. With that said, we are proud of our impeccable service standards and strive to accommodate each and every guest.

I do, however, apologize for the wait for a table in the restaurant. We do get busy at times and encourage guests to leave us their name and room number so that they may relax comfortably in their room until a table becomes available. Additionally we have the Courtyard Café on our concourse level which offers a variety of fast efficient breakfast options.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and observations from your recent visit. Your reflections are greatly appreciated as it allows us to review our services so we can continue to deliver exceptional guest experience. We hope to have the privilege and pleasure of serving you again the next time you are in the city for either business or pleasure.

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Beautiful building with well kept grounds. Ultra luxurious stone/marble/wood throughout the grand entrance.
The room was well appointed and of normal size in the 150 CAD price range. I feel that the room I was in almost due for a renovation. The carpets have had a long and fruitful life but it is now time to put them to pasture. Though the washroom is of a classic and posh design with marble vanity and carved wooden accents, the floor and shower/tub appear to be from the 70's.
The location is absolutely perfect for a holiday in Victoria. It is literally right next to the BC Legislature and looks boldly upon Victoria harbour.
They offer free internet in both wifi and ethernet cable with an option to pay for a higher broadband connection.
They have underground parking with an EV charging station. It will cost you 18 dollars every 24 hours to park as is such everywhere in downtown Victoria. You can find cheaper if you do not mind walking 500 meters to and from your car.
This is a fantastic hotel in an unbeatable location but for the money you can get nicer rooms in other nearby high end hotels (ie the newly reno'd rooms in the Inn at Laurel Point)

Room Tip: If you are in Victoria as a tourist for sight seeing then you should be worthwhile to pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks again for your observations and candid feedback. I apologize for the technical response... in the competitive landscape of luxury hotels our current research shows that our charge for both our rooms and our parking is consistent and in-line with the local market. Like the Laurel Point we have a wing that has been more recently updated and a wing that is just starting a renovation. We hear consistently from our guests that they feel the hotel provides very good value for the services provided.

Our location in the heart of downtown is usually extremely well-received by our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed it as well.
We are a centrally located property, next door to the Parliament buildings, the Museum and moments away from the downtown Victoria.

We hope to have the privilege of having you stay with us again.

Thank you again for your note and thoughts.

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing