We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great view!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Grand Pacific from June 4th to June 9th. She was there for a conference, I tagged along for sightseeing. Great hotel, close to a lot of attractions: marina and ferry to Seattle, Parliament, Royal BC Museum, Fairmont Empress hotel... We were in room 640 which had a spectacular view of all the attractions mentioned above. The view of the illuminated Parliament at night is awesome. Service at the reception desk is efficient. Murray, the concierge, will guide you in choosing the places you want to visit and provide you with maps. He will also make reservations to restaurants, call a taxi...The bell boys outside the entrance are great (sorry, guys, I can't remember your names). They can also help you in choosing attractions to visit. If I return to Victoria one day, this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Room 640 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michèle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    660
    185
    47
    19
See reviews for
536
805
69
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked the hotel at the recommendation of a colleague instead of another older hotel closer to the conference centre, at the same price, but a few blocks away. Did not regret it.

The walk to the VCC leads you passed the legislature and gives you a nice view of the harbour.
The hotel itself is nice and has a fresh look.
The room was spacious and had everything you expect from a business-oriented hotel, like a large desk, iron+board, safe, refrigerator, and pretty good WiFi service.
If visiting downtown Victoria this is a very good fit.

Room Tip: My room had a balcony and a decent view. I did not request it but it was a nice addition, since you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyfire323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trail, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for a work event held in the building! The staff were all super nice and helpful. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurant had amazing french toast and bananas, seafood and burgers to name a few. Room service for breakfast was right on time. Everything about this stay was excellent.

Room Tip: bay views are nice, the higher the better! the other side apparently gets some noise from the cruise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was attending a conference at the Hotel Grand Pacific. The hotel is right on the Victoria harbour, in downtown Victoria. You easily have access to downtown Victoria. The rooms are very clean and nice with a little balcony with two chairs. I must point out the hospitality of the staff. They are always smiling and greating you when you get in and out of the hotel. By the way, they even take care of the ducks that reside in the little pond next to the entrance. I have seen employees feeding them. Really nice!

The food served at the hotel during the conference (breakfast & lunch) was delicious. Hot breakfast and lunch served at a buffet in the restaurant. Very good.

I definitively recommend this hotel right in the heart of downtown Victoria.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel with a view of the harbour. Rooms at the back have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YUL_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It's not that there is anything wrong - just that it failed to take full advantage of the promise of greatness afforded by such a wonderful location. In many senses the room I was in reflected mediocrity rather than excellence. Towels...medium, Shower...medium, TV...smallish flat screen - the list could go on. It seems as if this hotel is trying to aim higher than it is ready to deliver on.

Having said that, the people were wonderful, the breakfasts very nice and I had no complaints. The problem? This could be the sort of place that you rave about. But other than its location it is hard to find much that elevates it above the better run chain hotels

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFKSAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Good location for touring downtown Victoria. Many restaurants close by. Large pool and health club. Very comfortable beds. Only reason I gave it a 4 is because we were on the 2nd floor and we did not have a balcony. Price was $188 plus $18 parking the tax , a reasonable price for a big scale hotel in a downtown area of a city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my fifth time to stay at HGP, so I guess by now it's my "go-to" hotel in Victoria. I had reserved a Pacific view room when I found out that Blackball Coho Ferry offered a package deal (ferry ride with car plus hotel) that was really too good to pass up...leaving us staying in a Standard room instead.
I would not recommend the Standard rooms only because of the street noise early in the morning (delivery trucks backing up with that annoying, loud beeping sound) and tour buses playing fake bagpipe music to get their tourists back on the bus. Otherwise, the Standard room was okay. (There is VERY little surface space to place things, as the one side tabletop is filled with the coffee maker, ice bucket, and tray with glasses.) There is a small bedside desk, but still we had very little space to place things.
The hotel itself was as clean as ever; the personnel were as friendly and efficient as they've always been; and the food in the restaurant for breakfast ($22 / per person buffet) was good--restaurant service was impeccable.
The valet parking was worth it ($25 per night --only $7 more than self park), as the attendants were quick and very courteous...and we didn't have to worry about our car in the parking lot. (I had to go down to the car to retrieve something left behind and saw where they valet park cars. It was very secure.)
I'm sure I'll stay here again for my next Victoria get-away. Though, I will definitely reserve independent of the ferry line and get a room with a view on a higher floor. That's what I've always had in the past.
Overall, I really do prefer this hotel over the Empress or the Inn at Laurel Point--the other two Victoria hotels where I've stayed. Hotel Grand Pacific is a solid choice.

Room Tip: Having now stayed in a Pacific Suite room, Grand room and Standard room, it's definitely worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzan1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,694 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing