We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is as Classic as the Empress without all the Hype. It's on the harbor with the Legislator Building next door and a short walk to the Royal BC Museum. The nice part is the lobby is not full of tourists wandering around for High Tea.
Our room faced the harbor with a great view from the balcony but far enough away from the harbor so as not to be a nuisance Starbucks coffee in the room with a refrigerator and bottled water with turn down service. The excellent staff is friendly and efficient.
The Breakfast buffet was not the extravaganza that some would expect but the food and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Packngo205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

When I made our reservation at this hotel, I specified I did not want a room near the tour busses and garbage trucks. That is exactly the type of room we were booked into. We had a very, very early awakening as a result. When I took this up with the management, Scott, the Manager of Guest Services, graciously upgraded us to a corner suite with a lovely harbor view. He seemed to really care that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

The rooms and the public spaces were well appointed and immaculate. We ate in the dining room quite late on the night of our arrival, and the food was very good.
All in all, I would stay here again even without the upgrade.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I travel a great deal and find my stays at the Grand Pacific are something to look forward to. I rely on the friendly staff and excellent facilities to make my stay enjoyable. The fitness facility is better than the one I use at home and it is convenient to use morning or evening. Whether I eat at the hotel's restaurant or coffee shop the food is always good. I've taken my family on business trips and they agree their stays at the Grand Pacific are like a mini vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, but the views are great out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Within easy walking distance of Victoria Clipper terminal (Even with luggage) and right next door to the beautiful Parliament Building the hotel is perfectly located for all of the harbour area of Victoria. The Black Ball Ferry building is directly opposite the hotel for regular services to Port Angeles, Washington State.

On leaving the hotel and turning right the bus depot for the service to Vancouver is about 300 yards along the road.

We had a Pacific View room at the front of the hotel and all the harbour activities could be watched from our balcony including the constant take of and landings from the seaplane terminal opposite.

Room Tip: Choose a Pacific View room for views over the harbour from the balcony where you can sit out and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel every thing was first class. The location is perfect overlooking the harbour and and next to the Parliament building you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. Only regret wish we could have stayed longer.

Jim Mc

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very good property in a perfect location to explore beautiful Victoria. The Harbour was at our doorstep; Parliament was right next door; The Empress is a five minute walk as is the Victoria Clipper. Twenty minutes to the left is Fisherman's Wharf and twenty to the right is the heart of the Harbour activity.
Not having reliable internet was a real inconvenience. Posted letters explained timed upgrades but they never seemed accurate. We would
return only if this issue was resolved. (As a matter of fact I was kicked off line as I was writing this review at 5am.) A few hours w/o wi/fi is ok......several days is a real
downer.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the inconsistent internet service during your recent stay with us. Regrettably, we had unforseen challenges with our wireless upgrade that caused intermittent service interruptions. I do hope my colleagues informed you that both the internet service in our public areas and business centre was operational throughout this period?

This upgrade is now complete and our wireless internet is consistent and faster than ever.

Thank you for your feedback and your patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I rate this property at a five because of excellent service, comfort of the bed and work space, cleanliness, and location, being within walking distance to all of downtown Victoria. However, the view of the bay was limited. It was interesting and enjoyable, given that it included a fair amount of downtown and inner, inner harbor. But disappointing in that one did not get the sweep of the greater bay that other properties offer. The small patio, outdoor space was very nice. i might try for a view of the broader bay on my next trip to Victoria, but overall, the experience here was excellent. I add that our work conference was held at this property, and the food was wonderful, the accommodations for the conference were excellent. I also took a guided hike and that was an amazing experience. See my review of Rainforest Tours. Pick up and drop off at the hotel made this hike very easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay, perhaps the broadest view possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,839 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,136 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £106 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing