We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thumbs up..Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Thumbs up..Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent just one night here and would definitely stay again. Very centrally located for tourists as it is 1/2 blk from the Parliament Building. Was able to walk to downtown shopping area as well as historic Chinatown. Rooms had a in-closet safe, in room Wi-Fi, complimentary house coats, ironing board, iPod docking station on alarm clock radio and coffee machine with tea available also. Beds were extremely comfy and view from 6th floor was nice from a little balcony with 2 chairs. The shower had great pressure as to me that is very important. Room service was available but pricey and also laundry service available (see pics). Has a swimming pool as well as a gym which is not just for guests but for public use as well for a fee. There was a restaurant within but I did no use it as again prices where high and with the Parliament building so close and the fantastic hidden restaurant (Legislative Dining Room) they have downstairs it was my choice for breakfast (also reviewed) Corporate rate for 1 night stay was almost $190.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    627
    180
    45
    19
See reviews for
497
762
65
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We (2 adults and 2 children) had a 2 queen bed room with a small view of the harbor on the 5th floor with a balcony. The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed here 1 night after arriving on the Victoria Clipper. We were dropped off directly at the door by the bus we took to Butchart Gardens as arranged through a package deal with the Clipper (very nice). One of the front desk managers (sorry name was hard to pronounce) heard us talking about setting up a late afternoon activity and said he would like to help get it arranged. After several unsuccessful attempts with some vendors he found one that was willing to help. We would not have been able to get this done on our own due to the time constraint... Thanks Grand Pacific. Only item of note, they charge additional for a roll away bed :(

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side of the hotel if you are a light sleeper. We were on the 5th floor faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

From booking to arrival to departure we were treated amazingly. The room was great, with a view of the harbour. We stayed 4 nights and paid just $25 for the whole stay for valet parking. We have an oversize SUV and they had to park it at a hotel across the street and they never hinted that it was an imposition to get the truck. Free umbrellas, bikes. We got to feed the resident ducks by hand. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again. :) The location was awesome in that you can walk to all the great harbour amenities.

Room Tip: Try and get a harbour view. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a 2 bed city-view room on the 7th floor. Room was clean and fresh. The balcony was nice even without a harbor view. It was a classy place. Only knocks were that my room was not ready for check in when we arrived at 3:30. The hotel gladly held our bags for us but it cost me two good sized tips for the bellman. The kids loved the huge pool and exercise room. We also enjoyed meeting with Joe the Groundskeeper and his ducks. He let the kids feed them by hand. We did not eat the breakfast buffet at the hotel but did get good muffins and coffee at the courtyard level cafe. We were amazed that we got on and off the elevators with such ease in a big hotel. One can't beat the location in Victoria!

Room Tip: Get a harbor view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing such a great review of your recent stay with us. We are blessed to have all of our rooms with balconies. I'm happy to hear your family enjoyed the view, the ducks, and the elevators! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

James Fry
Director, Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and checked in graciously. We had my mother with us and they made sure she was on the same floor and close by. The staff couldn't do enough and that includes the restaurant staff also. Martin, Timothy and Shirugh were excellent. We ate several meals there, food was superb. Would we return, in a heartbeat. It is so convenient to downtown Victoria we hardly used our car except to go to the Gardens. Thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCP1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Arrived in Victoria BC with great expectations and were looking forward staying at Hotel Grand Pacific, which we had booked usind Booking.com. Booking.com is our preferred hotel booking site and we have never faced any problems using it. Obviously my credit card number wasn't correct (my fault) so they could not authorize the card for my reservation. As the hotel was fully booked we were told there was no room for us. They had our contact information from booking.com (I saw the print) and asked why they didn't call us sorting this issue out. The front desk manager (don't remember the name) sad "As we are fully booked for the night we never came to that". Obviously, it was not important for the hotel to solve a minor issue with a guest as they would get the money anyway. This is for me an unacceptable attitude.

The front desk manager was happy to help us with finding a room at another hotel. Same standard of the room and same rate. He failed even this time. We were shown to another hotel, but not at all the same standard as the Grand Pacific. The good thing is we were met with nice smiles and good service unlike at the Hotel Grand Pacific.

As a frequent traveller and hotel guest I have never met this kind of attitude at a hotel before, I will for sure never book the Hotel Grand Pacific and avoid any hotel connected to Preferred Hotels and Resorts.

Running a hotel when there are no issues to be solved is probably relatively easy, but if you don't even have the ambition to help your customers, you shold do something else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Comments such as these can only help us in our efforts better serve all of our guests.

I apologize that you were not able to stay at our beautiful property because your reservation was not guaranteed with a valid credit card. As your reservation was booked the night before your stay through a third party and we were only given a European home number for contact info, the situation did not give us an opportunity to contact you. I always recommend booking directly with us to help avoid any issues. However, when you did arrive, we did help you find an alternative that we consider to be just as fine a hotel as The Hotel Grand Pacific. In fact when we are full we refer our guest to the same hotel and have received very positive feedback.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Grand Pacific on any of your upcoming journeys to Victoria. Please feel free to contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 if you decide to allow us to have the privilege of looking after you in the future.

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were fortunate to stay in this hotel during Canada Day. We had a great view of the celebration and festivities around the Inner Harbour all day and night from our room. It's walking distance to shopping and tasty eating establishments. If you're into government buildings, the Parliament building is just next door. The hotel is modern and our standard room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing