We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. You can walk around the harbor, shops, and restaurants. Walk down to a boat to go whale watching. The hotel itself was average. I recommend taking a walk outside in the evening - the town is beautiful with all the lights.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry you felt our Hotel was average. I would be very intererested in finding out why this was the case.

Please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 to discuss.

Thank you for your feedback and for the comment about our great Inner Harbour location.

Kind regards,

Reid James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

When we checked in we were up-graded to a suite by a pleasant lady (Sherry). The suite was lovely - the view was awesome. The bathroom was nicely up-dated with more towels than a regular hotel. The pool area was large and the shower/change room was spacious and clean. The location is perfect! Will definitely want to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washingt0n2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Phenomenal location. Beautiful property with lovely comfortable rooms. Close to everything and easy walking to major sites. The gym and pool are great. We got an upgrade to a room with a little sitting room part of it. Partial view. Very nice staff

Room Tip: I've always had good rooms here. Facing the back might be even quieter but that would be a city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanps3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We were 5 guests, 2 adults and 3 children. The room was specious enough to have us all without being too crowded. We took a room with a water view, which was worth every penny! The hotel has a nice pool and a gym. It is located perfectly on the water front, which allows the guests to take a walk on the lovely promenade in front of the hotel and walk to the lovely Fisherman's Wharf or to the delicious Red Fish Blue Fish place to have quick meal.
The staff were very friendly and assisted with all our requests.
It must be point out that the hotel is a bit dated but it doesn't effect the positive experience.
The price was fair and the hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Avi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for such a your positive review.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our close to it all location, The Victoria Athletic Club and its 25 metre lap pool and our close to it all location.

I was thrilled to read that you think our colleagues service is top notch – I agree! It is their dedication to hospitality that is the backbone of our business. Without their efforts we would not have the reputation we do today. I will be pleased to share your note with them.

We are in the process of renovating and upgrading our property and look forward to having you back to see the results. Thank you once again for your thoughts.

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everyone were very professional and friendly. Clean , elegant , and friendly. Close to downtown and right across from the Inner Harbour ( excellent location ). The only thing I was not very happy with was the bed was to hard for me but some people may like them like that. The private balcony was nice to sit on and look out over the harbour. I will defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a harbour room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Perfect location, views and room. Staff went over and above from the time we arrived until the time we left. Sorry we couldn't have stayed more than 24 hrs. but this was just a stopover on our way home from 2 weeks in Alaska. Murray, the concierge, is amazing. We arrived late and Murray arranged a bus tour of the city. It was too late for the hotel shuttle and we were exhausted so he arranged for the hotel to pay for a taxi to take us to the front of the Empress to get the tour. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariec4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The pictures make you think 5 star luxury, but when you get there, I was starting to think if it was more of a cattle car. Thankfully, their service proved me wrong. From check-in to the dining staff, service was excellent. While there are lots of tourists in the lobby, the hotel still maintains an upscale presence. Our basic room had nice touches but was a bit small. However, the bed was extremely comfortable, and I slept like a rock. Bathroom was a bit Holiday Inn-ish. Seems like there are lots of deal for about $210. Next time, I might upgrade to a harbor view. Can't beat the location, especially if you're coming in on the Victoria Clipper. It's right across the street. All in all, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rat-ta-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,890 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,153 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £91 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing