We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I decided to stay at the Grand Pacific for the evening—to celebrate our belated anniversary. We often pick hotels we haven’t stayed at close to home as we both have very busy work schedules. We both have been at the Grand Pacific for meetings, etc. but this was our first over night stay.

The property is beautiful. However, we were disappointed in the service level of the staff and room.

Upon arrival to our room, we had a back facing room with two twin beds. Upon booking the grand room with ocean and mountain views, we specified that it was our anniversary and we would like a king size bed. I called the front desk and was told I would get a call back. After 20 minutes of waiting with our bags unpacked I called again. This time I was told there were no rooms available. I then asked for the manager who did find us a king size bed but the room was very very dark and had only a view of the hotel behind us. The bathroom also had a very strong smell of urine and the toilet didn't flush well. To add insult to the entire experience we received a call around 30 minutes upon arriving (5:30 pm) at our second room with a noise complaint - which wasn't coming from our room.

We did receive a free voucher for dessert which we both don't eat. I think a complimentary upgrade would have been a lot better considering it was our anniversary.

We left this morning feeling very disappointed with our stay. It was the first time in years we have be disappointed in a Victoria area hotel, resort, spa, etc.

It is a beautiful property with stunning views (if only we were able to experience them other than from the quick elevator ride.

Room Tip: We booked a grand room (not so grand) with ocean and mountain views. The only view we had was of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lporayko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Further to our email discussion (before you posted your comment on Tripadvisor), I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will review the alleged odour in the room and we will be more careful with isolating noise complaints involving other guests.

In my email to you, I informed you that your Expedia reservation requested a non-smoking room with one bed. You gave no information about your wedding anniversary.

I went on to say that when you checked into the Hotel you announced to the Guest Service Agent that it was your anniversary and you asked for a room with a view or an upgrade. Unfortunately, we were unable to provide a complimentary upgrade to a view room because the Hotel was sold out.

I then asked you the following question: Did you expect the Hotel to downgrade a another guest that has paid for their view room and upgrade your room at no charge? You did not reply. Instead, you posted on Tripadvisor.

Please know that we do the best we can with all of our special occasion requests, subject to availability.

I see that you received our complimentary dessert vouchers to acknowledge your anniversary but you did not use them. I also offered you a complimentary upgrade for your next stay but you did not reply.

I sincerely feel that under the circumstances, the Hotel did everything it could to accommodate you and your husband. I am sorry that you do not feel the same.

I would be more than happy to discuss this or any other topic at your convenience. Please contact me 250-380-4452.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Reid James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    633
    181
    46
    19
See reviews for
502
766
67
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our teenage daughter. We Loved the high floor room and the balcony looking over the harbor. Very comfortable and clean. Big double queen room with sitting room. Dated, yes, but charming! Close to everything. It was a great value!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 123ksal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have chosen a better place! The location is ideal, overlooking the inner harbour and right next to the parliament building. It is only a 5-10 minute walk to fisherman's wharf for the whale-watching companies, and also slap in the heart of downtown. The staff are lovely, very helpful and polite. The gym and swimming pool are excellent, though very popular in the mornings, and the food (we had breakfast) is very nice. You can also have use of bicycles at no extra charge for a couple of hours, which was brilliant for exploring a little further afield! The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and had everything that anyone would need for a wonderful stay. I wouldn't say that it was cheap here, but compared to the Fairmont over the road it represents exceptional value for money, and you feel that it was money well-spent. All in all, a first class establishment and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and again (and are planning to for our next holiday in Canada!)

Room Tip: The higher the better, and choose a harbour-view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyjb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We just spent the weekend at the Grand Pacific and came away very impressed. The location versus the room cost and room quality is the best in Victoria. Walking distance to everything, but a little to the side of the hubbub of downtown. Especially noteworthy were the staff. Although a mid price hotel, the staff were uniformly exceptional in their professionalism and engagement with guests. This reminded me of what seems to largely be a by-gone era, where big city hotel guests were actually made to feel special and that hospitality was part of the experience. You cannot go wrong in staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor view upgrade to a 1-bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdjedddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

For me was a special place, very romantic, decoration style, personal.
the location is perfect. we came by ferry and was just perfect in front of the hotel.
just walk distance to everywhere.
i could recommend this option to any one.
rooms was perfect.

Room Tip: try to get a front view. mine was back and just a garden view. the rest is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaolaLyxurysolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Participated on the Victoria Dragon Boat Festival for the first time, and Hotel Grand Pacific helped made the my stay a memorable experience. This modern luxurious hotel is located right on the harbor and the Seattle Ferry is just located right across the street. All the main attractions of Victoria and great restaurants are just short walking distance away. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Guests have free access of the pool with sauna, steam room, as well as the health club which was great in keeping yourself in shape. This is an excellent hotel and I will definitely stay here again when I come back to Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Checked into this hotel with no problems. Concierge was so quick and helpful. We had no idea what kind of room we were getting until we got into our double doored room. Wow who knew. Our room had a his and hers double sink, living room with separate doors and a private bedroom with French doors. I'm so impressed. Now for the little details. I'm real picky when it comes to teas/coffee in my hotel room and this hotel got it right on the money. They offer 2 types of tea, organic English breakfast and Organic green tea sencha (my favorite and #1 on my tea list). I hate going to hotels where they offer you cheap Lipton teas and their green tea has some weird mix of lemon. Keep It simple impresses me. All I have to say is excellent hotel with a great location. You can walk everywhere by the pier from here. The hotel amenities are excellent with a full equipped gym, towel service and swimming pool + sauna.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichelleLudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing