We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and courteous. The doorman and concierge looked up and said hello every time we entered the hotel. Our room was very comfortable, and the housekeeping was excellent. The housekeepers noticed we were using the extra blankets and added them to the bed, under the comforter - not many places would notice something like that.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, with a terrific selection of regional items. I particularly enjoyed the BC spot prawns, and the cheese selection after dinner was very tasty.
The pool was warm enough to enjoy with a child, and yet cool enough that other guests were swimming laps. It was never crowded and always clean.
The location is ideal, just at the edge of the inner harbour. Close to the museum, legislature, attractions and multiple dining options.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EskarinaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,923 - 1,929 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2009

This was our second 3-day stay at the Grand Pacific, again for Victoria Day weekend. First, and foremost, this property is perfect for Coho Ferry arrivals, right across the street from the terminal, no cab needed, The rooms on both trips were very nice and we had a Harbour view rooms with a nice deck and deck chairs. Clean. and crisp. Staff service was superb.

The one thing lacking at the Grand, is dining options. It;s either
high- end dining (which is rather pricey, and slow,) OR a deli style serve- yourself caffeteria on the street ( pre-wrapped sandwiches?) .

The lounge (bar) is an oppulent, dark cherry wood affair with brass trimmings, subdued lighting, and a Steinway piano at the entrance.
However, both the posh restaurant and lounge were DEAD DEAD DEAD on both trips.

My wife and actually refused to sit in solitude in such a dead environment. For three days we never counted more than four people dining, and the bar was ALWAYS empty...ever time we passed by...both trips.
We felt sorry for the bartender one afternoon and had a couple of cocktails just to keep her mixology skills fresh and provide her some company.
My guess, is that this lounge and Dine is for Parliment deal -making during session. The rest of the year, it makes the Empress seem like a rocking joint!

So, Stay at the Grand... but dine , drink, and party elsewhere.
(as we did, at the Swiftsure restaurant and patio lounge next door...)

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Boxarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The bed was super comfortable, the room was spacious and clean. I really liked the light in the coat closet so you could see to hang up jackets, etc.
Now the Great Pacific restaurant was something else. We arrived at the restaurant for dinner at 6:56 . waited 45 minutes before we were served our appetizer, the waiter mixed up the next part of the order, gave me the soup and my spouse a salad, when we had both ordered each, had another long wait for the main course. They offered us a free dessert because of the awful service but when the bill arrived they charged us for the dessert and 2 appetizers of which we had only one as we shared it. They were not very good or quick about adjusting the bill. We finally manged to leave the restaurant at 10:04 pm. Talk about slow service. Any time we were served a dish, the waiter would ask us "How it tasted?" I would stay at the hotel but would never eat there again. Too pricey for the service you receive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We spent 3 nights in Victoria as the backend of our Vancouver Island trip.

It was my wife and I with our 11 month old daughter. The room was spacious and the service at the hotel was great. This hotel is located in the inner harbour so you are walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants and cafes.

Take the effort to get to the Blue Fox Cafe. It is a bit of a walk (20-25 minutes). We ended up eating there 3 times during our stay but only walked there once.

Food in the hotel was good but there is better value in the restaurants around the inner harbour,

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gambit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We took the Black Ball ferry from Port Angeles on a little PNW trip to visit friends in a few different locations around Puget Sound. The hotel was easy to find. We were able to check in early because rooms were available already. I had seen the hotel on Trip Advisor and was excited to check it out. It seemed to meet or exceed all expectations. Since it was the off season I assumed they would honor the online rate I had found prior to arrival. I was hesitant to book because we weren't completely confident the weather would allow us to take the Black Ball in February. I was caught quite off guard that the front desk staff had no intention or leeway to honor the internet rate. It was the week before President's weekend and so not a very busy season. It was a disappointment for sure.

Sorry to say that in future, I will probably try another hotel next time in Victoria. There are so many nice ones in town, it is not worth the money for a neighborhood view. We had expected to get a third night free (as per the internet) and were going to stay in a harbor view suite. Since we were paying for three nights we took the back... nothing special for sure. At the same time I was glad I did not pre-book as some of the hotels that had very mixed reviews on Trip Advisor looked very dumpy. I guess with HGP you will get a clean, well cared for room.

We did not try the main restaurant. We did have coffee and baked goods from the coffee shop below the hotel. Also tried the more casual lounge one evening. Service was friendly and quality of products very good in both locations.

You will have to pay for parking. The rate is higher for valet than for parking on your own. Worth it to bring your car if you want to explore Malahat, Cowichan Bay, or Sooke or Saanich.

Wouldn't fear booking ahead to secure a better rate in future for a harbor view at HGP... but the neighborhood views... they are not worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamNHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

My wife and 6 year old daughter stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. They gave my daughter a welcome package that included some coloring pages and toys. There was also list of things to do in the areas for young children.The rooms was very comfortable and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. We took the Victoria Clipper from Seattle and the hotel was right across the street from the terminal. Downtown Victoria is easily accessible by walking. Very nice hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawknoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Without a doubt the best hotel in Victoria. I have stayed in the top hotels here and this is no 1. Why the Royal Scot even rates I do not know. Must be a different level of clientel.

This place beats the Empress, OPR and the Marriot hands down. Not one bad thing to say.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,890 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,152 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £91 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing