We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grand Pacific
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
US$247
Official Site
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Oswego Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$222
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,226)
Filter reviews
2,226 results
Traveller rating
1,267
697
192
51
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,267
697
192
51
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsathletic clubparliament buildingvictoria clipperinner harbordirectly across the streetsteam roomblack ball ferrysmall balconyperfect locationhot tubharbor view roomwithin walking distancethe royal bc museumhotel restaurantferry terminalcorner suiteport angeles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,006 - 2,011 of 2,226 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2009

From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and courteous. The doorman and concierge looked up and said hello every time we entered the hotel. Our room was very comfortable, and the housekeeping was excellent. The housekeepers noticed we were using the extra blankets and added them to the bed, under the comforter - not many places would notice something like that.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, with a terrific selection of regional items. I particularly enjoyed the BC spot prawns, and the cheese selection after dinner was very tasty.
The pool was warm enough to enjoy with a child, and yet cool enough that other guests were swimming laps. It was never crowded and always clean.
The location is ideal, just at the edge of the inner harbour. Close to the museum, legislature, attractions and multiple dining options.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EskarinaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

This was our second 3-day stay at the Grand Pacific, again for Victoria Day weekend. First, and foremost, this property is perfect for Coho Ferry arrivals, right across the street from the terminal, no cab needed, The rooms on both trips were very nice and we had a Harbour view rooms with a nice deck and deck chairs. Clean. and crisp. Staff service was superb.

The one thing lacking at the Grand, is dining options. It;s either
high- end dining (which is rather pricey, and slow,) OR a deli style serve- yourself caffeteria on the street ( pre-wrapped sandwiches?) .

The lounge (bar) is an oppulent, dark cherry wood affair with brass trimmings, subdued lighting, and a Steinway piano at the entrance.
However, both the posh restaurant and lounge were DEAD DEAD DEAD on both trips.

My wife and actually refused to sit in solitude in such a dead environment. For three days we never counted more than four people dining, and the bar was ALWAYS empty...ever time we passed by...both trips.
We felt sorry for the bartender one afternoon and had a couple of cocktails just to keep her mixology skills fresh and provide her some company.
My guess, is that this lounge and Dine is for Parliment deal -making during session. The rest of the year, it makes the Empress seem like a rocking joint!

So, Stay at the Grand... but dine , drink, and party elsewhere.
(as we did, at the Swiftsure restaurant and patio lounge next door...)

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Boxarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The bed was super comfortable, the room was spacious and clean. I really liked the light in the coat closet so you could see to hang up jackets, etc.
Now the Great Pacific restaurant was something else. We arrived at the restaurant for dinner at 6:56 . waited 45 minutes before we were served our appetizer, the waiter mixed up the next part of the order, gave me the soup and my spouse a salad, when we had both ordered each, had another long wait for the main course. They offered us a free dessert because of the awful service but when the bill arrived they charged us for the dessert and 2 appetizers of which we had only one as we shared it. They were not very good or quick about adjusting the bill. We finally manged to leave the restaurant at 10:04 pm. Talk about slow service. Any time we were served a dish, the waiter would ask us "How it tasted?" I would stay at the hotel but would never eat there again. Too pricey for the service you receive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We spent 3 nights in Victoria as the backend of our Vancouver Island trip.

It was my wife and I with our 11 month old daughter. The room was spacious and the service at the hotel was great. This hotel is located in the inner harbour so you are walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants and cafes.

Take the effort to get to the Blue Fox Cafe. It is a bit of a walk (20-25 minutes). We ended up eating there 3 times during our stay but only walked there once.

Food in the hotel was good but there is better value in the restaurants around the inner harbour,

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gambit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We took the Black Ball ferry from Port Angeles on a little PNW trip to visit friends in a few different locations around Puget Sound. The hotel was easy to find. We were able to check in early because rooms were available already. I had seen the hotel on Trip Advisor and was excited to check it out. It seemed to meet or exceed all expectations. Since it was the off season I assumed they would honor the online rate I had found prior to arrival. I was hesitant to book because we weren't completely confident the weather would allow us to take the Black Ball in February. I was caught quite off guard that the front desk staff had no intention or leeway to honor the internet rate. It was the week before President's weekend and so not a very busy season. It was a disappointment for sure.

Sorry to say that in future, I will probably try another hotel next time in Victoria. There are so many nice ones in town, it is not worth the money for a neighborhood view. We had expected to get a third night free (as per the internet) and were going to stay in a harbor view suite. Since we were paying for three nights we took the back... nothing special for sure. At the same time I was glad I did not pre-book as some of the hotels that had very mixed reviews on Trip Advisor looked very dumpy. I guess with HGP you will get a clean, well cared for room.

We did not try the main restaurant. We did have coffee and baked goods from the coffee shop below the hotel. Also tried the more casual lounge one evening. Service was friendly and quality of products very good in both locations.

You will have to pay for parking. The rate is higher for valet than for parking on your own. Worth it to bring your car if you want to explore Malahat, Cowichan Bay, or Sooke or Saanich.

Wouldn't fear booking ahead to secure a better rate in future for a harbor view at HGP... but the neighborhood views... they are not worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamNHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews