We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

My Fist time in Victoria we stayed here in the middle of the week!
when we arrived at the Hotel the front staff were so friendly they gave us an upgrade for free before we even checked in to our room!
The best bed I have ever slept in, in any hotel
we even had a patio with an amazing view of the harbour!
what and awsome trip

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jetbjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    627
    180
    45
    19
See reviews for
497
762
65
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed at the Grand Pacific for 3 nights at the beginning of our 10 day Vancouver Island vacation. The hotel's location was great, but I do note that it is ACROSS the street from the water, not directly waterfront. The hotel was fine, but generic in a chain hotel manner. Nothing really unique. My only complaint is that the coffee at breakfast is awful. Even the french press syle coffee ($5 extra) is bad.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mossway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

The service by staff at this hotel was fabulous. The concieger was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, even sent up a bunch of balloons for our anniversary. The best part of our stay was the spa. Between the two of us we had four massages. A little weird to get from the east tower to the spa (through the underground parking lot). We booked through Westjet Vacations and received 10% off everything in the hotel other then alcohol, plus receiver our fourth night free.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen-Larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I booked an overnight trip through Clipper Vacations. For $114 per person, we got our roundtrip Clipper ticket from Seattle to Victoria as well as our hotel. It was a very good deal. The hotel is nice and located close to the ferry terminal, museums, waterfront, and the Empress. They also had a free shuttle in the evening which took us to dinner and back, and that saved about $15 - $20 in cab fares for one night. The room had a balcony with a side view of the water. It was quiet and roomy.

In April we stayed at the Marriott Inner Harbor, which was newer, closer to shopping and restaurants, and had more comfortable beds. However, the Grand Pacific had larger rooms and was a better price. I would stay at the Grand again, especially if I got the good rate.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

The location is so central, you are right in the middle of it all. The view of the harbor can't be beat (if you get a harborview room of course). View of the Empress. Mind you the Empress, The Parliament and the Royal BC museum is just around the corner. Everything is at your doorstep. If you arrive via the Victoria Clipper, you simply walk across the street and down the block. Location wise, this is as central as you're going to get.

This is also a top notch hotel. The rooms are excellent. The balcony is a tad small but that's what you get from most (all?) hotels. It was still wonderful hanging out there first thing in the morning and for winding down before bedtime. Beds are super comfy. Bathroom and bath products are excellent. All the staff members were super friendly. We ended up hanging out with the door/valet people a couple of times and just talked about how Victoria has changed over the years. Had the buffet breakfast which was a part of our package. It's a pricey breakfast but it's a buffet and the variety of cooked dishes, the egg dishes, meats, sausages, bread, bagel, fruits... etc one of the most complete breakfast buffets I've had in years.

This hotel is not cheap. But we think it's worth the money. But if you can get a deal online (like we did), this hotel can't be beat in Victoria especially if you can get a discounted rate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tykwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

I was in Victoria for a conference that was actually held at the Empress. I had done my research and the Grand Pacific was rated higher on Trip Advisor, and Expedia. I liked the idea of a balcony in every room.

Our room was at the back of the hotel, but we could see the legislative building and they were lit up at night. very pretty.......and we could see the white caps on the mountains - totally beautiful. We also had our balcony plus two windows - unheard of.......room 515.....very clean and updated and the staff was very helpful.

My colleagues stayed at the Empress as the conference was there.............no air conditioning!!!!!!! and we had a heat wave........so, although one colleague had a lovely view of the harbour, the curtain had to be closed to keep the sun out.......and had a fan running in front of the open window at night........and her room was way smaller........so glad I did my research and chose the Grand Pacific......and it was maybe a five minute walk......we were there for 4 nights......and parking was very convenient to work around

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

Stayed in a victoria room which I found to be run down and disappointing especially after the hotel we stayed on the mainland. Overall, the staff was friendly but again it was lacking... The check-in was efficient and fast. The lobby is ok... nothing special. The tv in the hotel was ancient and so was the towels and bedding. The bed itself was comfortable but the pillows were not. There was a strange smell from the room. The location is great in regards to access to the other sites. Internet access but not wireless... Swimming pool not open during the weekends and closes at 6pm... what's up with that??? Overall, Victoria was a disappointment. The only part of the trip that was worth it was the ferry ride to the island and Butchart Gardens.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arminelosangeles_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria
Hotel Grand Pacific Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing