We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Once again TripAdvisor came up trumps with this lovely hotel in the heart of Victoria, just a short stroll from the busy centre. They even have a small separate patio for smokers. Immaculate rooms in a building that feels like home from home. If you want a large corporate hotel don't come here. The staff could not have been more helpful with information from restaurants to excursions, and booking them for us. As others have already mentioned, a couple of the highlights are the breakfasts and the 5pm appetizers. If we return to Victoria, we will return here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Abigail's after finding it here on Trip Advisor. The room was great with a large bath and great natural lighting. it was one of the fireplace rooms. The staff were friendly, eager to help and knowlegable of the area. Our last morning we had to check out before breakfast and they packed a nice bag of muffins, croisants and drinks. I'd gladly stay here again or recommend it to friends. it isn't really that far from the inner harbor and the attractions there. We found it easy walking distance.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Astrobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Very nice rooms, staff very friendly.
Maybe a little too far from the city center.
The breakfast is made in an open kitchen next to the tables. There is a menu, and it's one of the best breakfast we ever had!
Only one small problem: in one room we had the kitchen's smell in thé morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Used Trip Advisor to locate a hotel close to my sister's condo in Victoria and luckily found Abigail's! What a wonderful hotel - more like a large B&B! Delicious cookies, breakfasts, and appetizers at 5pm with indoor or outside seating - Because the main house was full we were upgraded to a large, romantic room with a fireplace, sofa, 4 poster bed, jacuzzi tub, and soft bathrobes in the coach house. Very helpful and friendly staff- nice conversation with the chef at breakfast. Great location close to public transportation and short walk to the harbor, shopping, etc.
Looking forward to another stay the nest time we visit my sister.
Deborah and Andy,
Los Angeles

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here two nights in mid June along with friends. Staff was charming and helpful, suggesting restaurants, and providing directions for a scenic drive to Buchart Gardens. Breakfast was supurb, appetizers in the afternoon were quite good, and the room was spacious and charming, and beautifully decorated. Location is quite close to the harbor and city center, but on a quiet residential street.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Helpful staff and good breakfasts. Comfortable room though no stairs to second floor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were so pleased with our choice of Abigail's. The soft relaxing music in our room was such a warm welcome after a very well-traveled trip in such a beautiful country. The atention to detail was immaculate and the pre-dinner appetizers served in he library were just to die for. Without a doubt a wonderful abode where you can expect to be pampered and well-cared for. We couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,832 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £99 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Abigail's Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing