We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relied on Trip Advisor for this inn Selection and was not disapointed”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relied on Trip Advisor for this inn Selection and was not disapointed”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed two nights at Abigail's Hotel (which is a misleading name - it is a quaint, comfortable in every way, INN). Our room, though small, was charming. The breakfasts were delicious, The restaurant recommendations were excellent. But most of all the staff was PERFECT. Friendly, helpful, welcoming, everything you could ask for. The location, although a bit hard to find, was perfect for walking to town.

Room Tip: I suspect that the rooms in the newer coach house, though more expensive, would be spectacular. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mswilson149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    76
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
739
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Abigall's Hotel is within walking distance to the historic area of downtown. The staff is extremely friendly and provide delicious hors d'oeuvres for their guests each evening, encouraging them to mingle on the patio. The breakfasts served each morning were the best we ate during our entire 2 week vacation. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Would stay here any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in the Canterbury Bells room on the third floor. It was roomy and well appointed. The bed was high off the floor so there was a two step "stairs" on each side to climb up and into the bed. Unfortunately, this contraption is not very stable and it tipped sideways when my wife was getting into bed resulting in nasty bruises to bothe knees and shins.

There was an area on the carpet (in front of the chair by the window) that smelled moldy. This was mostly noticeable when walking on that part of the carpet. Apparently it had been wet at some point and there were still mold spores in the carpet.

Otherwise things were good. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfasts, good location. Be aware that there is no elevator so it is not handicapped friendly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukko22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Ukko22,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your travels insights with this community.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced a couple of blemishes during your stay with us. Most notably, I am very sorry to read that your wife fell off one of our bed steps. I sincerely hope that she has made a full recovery and that this did not tarnish her stay with us. These units, while not infallible, are used on a daily basis without injury and are as sturdy as can be expected given their size and profile.

As for the area on the carpet that you mention, I have personally inspected the carpet in question with my Housekeeping Manager and we are unable to identify any areas of neglect or mould. The carpets in our two Sapphire rooms (one of which is the room you were in) are both under 6 months old and are of the finest quality commercial carpet available.

We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and cleanliness level. We budget nearly twice the industry norm amount of time for our housekeepers to facilitate a thorough cleaning of each room. This isn't to say that stains or spills don’t happen, which could have caused such a situation, I only state this to say that we are usually on top of such issues. Reading your review is the first time we have heard of either of these incidents, it is regrettable that you didn't share them with us so that we could take appropriate actions to remedy and apologize for them.

If you do return to our part of the world I would be honoured to offer my apologies in person. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss these matters further.

Safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at Abigail's for two day in September, it was perfect. The staff cannot do enough for you, they are always there with a smile or advice on attractions or where to eat in the city. Our room was just perfect, large king bed, very well decorated and large. When you come down the stairs in the morning you smell breakfast and fresh coffee, it just feels like home and well worth the value. We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was 2B on the second floor and to the front of the hotel, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamalowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. From arrival to departure of our 2 night stay we were treated courteously and with consideration. Front desk and staff were consummate professionals. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The morning breakfast ( included with the room) was uniquely offered (cooked to order from an open kitchen) and the selections offered were well thought out and delicious. Having the added benefit of dining outside enhanced the morning repast. Complimentary evening canapés on this same patio rounded out a typical day at this hotel.
The location is top notch with easy walking access to all the typical tourist venues and countless good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B_and_N_1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff are terrific, the rooms tasteful and comfortable, the location quiet and convenient. Most of all, there is a lovely atmosphere to the place - as guests gather at 5.00 for complementary appetisers (and,in our case, a glass or two of local beer) you are in an oasis of calm, sitting in the pretty garden and already thinking of the next morning's tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC776615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent a night here and the room was superb. Had to carry bags up three flights of stairs, which was no problem for us. Staff was very warm and welcoming. Super nice happy hour food spread. Breakfast was excellent. This was a splurge for us, but we were satisfied.

Room Tip: The older building is a bit farther from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Abigail's Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing