We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Abigail's for our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful, in a great location (easy walking distance to downtown and many of the sites in Victoria), the breakfast was amazing and we loved that there were snacks/tea available throughout the day, and the room was perfect. We stayed in the honeymoon suite - a log fire was set up for us every night and easy to light, a bed fit for a Queen, and the bathroom with the giant soaker tub was wonderful. Overall I would recommend this to anyone. There weren't any elevators, but that didn't matter as the staff helped carry luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    74
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
78
728
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a great place! My wife and I stayed here for one night. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown waterfront but an easy walk. Staff was excellent and very accommodating. Room was lovely with very comfortable beds and well appointed. The morning breakfast was in a beautiful setting and phenomenal. Really charming and relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A beautifully restored apartment building turned Inn, the Abigail Hotel is a delightful place to find yourself in Victoria BC. Comfortable beds, well appointed bathrooms, and a delicious breakfast everyday are pluses, a small negative is no elevators. We happened to be there over Canadian Thanksgiving, and the staff researched different places for us to enjoy the holiday meal. Looking forward to returning to the Abigail.

Room Tip: No elevator, so third floor rooms are a bit harder to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 145JulieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Abigail's Hotel is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria yet it's only 10 minutes stroll to the waterfront, shops and restaurant areas. It's a small hotel that has been around for many years, privately owned and kept to a high standard. Our room was quite small but adequate. My only minor criticism would be that the hand wash basin is in the same room as the bed rather than in the separate shower/toilet room and there's no real space to put toiletries out. This is a minor gripe though as the room was very clean, tastefully decorated, has a very comfortable double bed, an armchair, dresser, TV and wardrobe/cupboard. The shower is powerful and hot water was always plentiful. Tea/coffee is available downstairs in the lobby/sitting room area and is complimentary. It's the good stuff too, not your normal cheap tea bags!
Breakfast was always very nice indeed, cooked on demand although the menu was fixed. The chef was always happy to tweak things for you though. For example, if you preferred scrambled eggs rather than fried then that's no problem. The breakfast room is small and can't house all the guests at once so they have an extra table in the sitting room to help the overflow. However, sometimes you had to just time it right to get seated straight away. You can pay extra for breakfast in your room. They served complimentary treats such as soup, cheese/biscuits, scones, etc around 5pm and wine could be purchased by the glass or bottle as could beers and spirits.
The sitting room was a lovely haven with comfy sofas and chairs, the walls covered in bookcases filled with books you are welcome to borrow and read whilst staying at the hotel.
The staff, without exception, were excellent. They were friendly, helpful, professional and always ready to advise if needed. Car parking is free as is the wifi. They also have a spa although we didn't use that.
All in all a great place to stay when visiting Victoria. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the Opal rooms for 4 nights this October. We were so pleased with the elegant accomodations, quiet in town location, and incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Our room was top notch, with a working fireplace, extremely comfortable bed ( with step stool as bed is high!), and cozy couch by the fire. The bathroom is enormous, and includes a jet bath. Two half bottles of wine were left for us to use if wanted, at a reasonable price, in the room. All details were attended to, and we had the most comfy soft velour robes I have ever seen!

Delicious Hors d'oeuvres were served daily from 5-7, and cocktails were available for purchase, also at a very reasonable price. (The pinot gris is very nice). You can relax and enjoy the lovely living room, complete with books, games, etc. There is also a lovely, small gift shop. The staff was incredible, as was Chef Matt, who loves to chat with the clients over the sumptous breakfasts that are served every day(complete with weather report!) He even packed us a lunch to go on our last day, as we had to leave before breakfast. The hotel is an easy walk to town, a hidden gem in this lovely city. We would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: We loved the Opal room we stayed in, called the Foxglove. It is on the third floor. It was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KF633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We loved our three night stay in early October. The staff is so great and location is a pretty easy walk to downtown, whale watching tours, Beacon Hill park, etc. It's clean, comfy and the breakfasts and happy hour can't be beat. Chef Matt makes the best scones ever!! Stayed in a the Abby Rose room. Very nice but injured my knee prior to arrival and the three floor hike was a lot. Keep in mind if that's an issue for you. Still, a nice room and I'd recommend it if you can walk the stairs. Also you'd have to be ok with a clear view of the john through the fireplace so not great if you still keep some mysteries from your significant other! I would recommend Abigail's to couples who like great service, location and food!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kellyonthego905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband & I were looking for a hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend and found that our "regular" hotels were either full or boasting outrageous prices ( it was the Marathon weekend). I happened upon the listing for Abigail's Hotel which had just opened up a vacancy. The price was reasonable, so why not?

What a lucky choice. The hotel is beautiful -- meticulously appointed rooms with lovely common areas such as a library and porches. Excellent lighting, lit fireplaces, graciously offered tea and coffee available all day and night. Then there was the food. Superbly created appetizers featuring local fare were offered each evening. Honestly, could have skipped dinner on one occasion.... The included breakfast is served in a lovely dining room with a choice of daily menu options (light, sweet and savory), again created with seasonal local ingredients.

All in all, a wonderful experience, and with the combination of the fabulous food, I have to say a good value. I will definitely make this my new "go-to"!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookhousecanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Abigail's Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing