We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Beautiful!”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Best place to stay in Victoria hands down!
So quaint and beautiful!!
Looovved it!!

My boyfriend and I came to Victoria to get away for just one night and we wished we could have stayed longer when we got there.
It's a quaint little cute 'Inn' type hotel and didn't feel like a B&B so much which we loved! The place a Christmas time is beautiful!

It's older and creaky, but the history and age made it even better. With how old it is, it's so beautiful and clean still!

The staff was amazing, We stayed in the Foxglove room which is on the second floor, (there are no elevators) so one staff took our luggage up as another showed us around then brought is to our room.
Homemade cookies on the bed, 2 bottles of wine for purchase (a little expensive but we brought wine), fireplace, Jacuzzi, amazing shower. The bed was the best I've ever slept in, in a hotel. The sheets and pillows were amazingly soft, the bed was comfortable, good kingsize and high bed with steps up to it!

They have fresh baked goodies, apple cider, coffee and tea in the lobby always which was so nice! Unfortunately we didn't get out of bed fast enough to get the breakfast but we will be back for sure!

I would recommend this hotel to any couple! It's not a family place for sure we thought. Seen a family with teenage daughters and thought it's a odd place to bring your kids.

But 100% awesome!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

The previous reviews gave us heightened expectations which I must say were borne out by our experience. The genuine welcome from the staff and the blazing log fires in the reception and library made us feel instantly at home. A small buffet was set out at 5 o'clock which was delicious and prompted conversation with other guests.
Breakfasts were excellent with the chef on hand to prepare other dishes if required but the menu had good choices.
One point which may not have been mentioned before is the proximity to the centre of Victoria, within two or three blocks you find yourself at the harbour side or the Empress Hotel and yet Abigail's is in a quiet residential area.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Victoria.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank sailinggerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I stopped in Victoria for our first night of four on Vancouver Island. We chose Abigails thanks to reviews and were very glad we did. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel in the morning, after arriving by ferry, and were gven great restaurant recommendations for lunch and dinner. The front desk staff happily made reservations for us then sent us on our way to our city tour. When we returned exhausted they had already hoisted our luggage up to our room. This was a great service as there is no elevator and the second floor rooms are really on the third floor. The evening snack Looked wonderful although we didn't partake since we'd just eaten at Nautical Nellies and were pleasantly stuffed. The room was quiet and comfortable although the chairs are difficult to relax in. (only criticism) The bathtub in the "Ruby King Room" is amazing. A tall person can soak in it. The rain shower is wonderful too. Breakfast is so good it made us want to stick around another morning. The best part of our stay was the staff, especially the front desk girl who volunteered to call the rental car company to see if our reservation could be changed to a downtown pick up instead of going to the airport. She made other arrangements for us too. She was even able to have the car company pick us up at the hotel and it's not a normal service for that company. That saved us about an hour and half which is great since we're headed for Tofino.
The hotel is located so you can easily walk to the sites downtown.

If we are able to come back we will definitely return to Abigails.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you're physically challenged go for lower floor. Ground floor has no guest roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldenslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely hotel located in a quaint residential area. Short walk to all the sites and restaurants. Fantastic breakfast and great service. Super clean.If you like to walk and explore I highly recommend it. But if you don't like exercise or stairs try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattiGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a beautiful and well appointed boutique hotel. The staff and management are excellent being very friendly, efficient and attentive to the needs of their clientele. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed and great water pressure in the shower. During the afternoon/early evening hours, they serve a small selection of tasty appetizers which we enjoyed in the library area. Nick, the manager, was serving drinks and helping everyone with dinner arrangements. He had wonderful suggestions for various types of food and dining and offered to make reservations for anyone who wanted them. The breakfast was delicious with friendly wait-staff. We would recommend this to anyone wanting a more personal and smaller place to stay in Victoria. The hotel is within walking distance of the harbor, but it is a bit uphill so just be prepared for the walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudy3291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband, myself and two friends stayed at Abigail's in September for 3 nights prior to a cruise. I cannot fault this treasure of a place. It is so lovely. The neighbourhood is extremely pleasant and no real distance from anywhere. Our deluxe room was large with a very comfortable bed. The shower in the bathroom was terrific - I want one! The staff were so very nice and extremely helpful. Recommended places to eat at night and booked them for us. Breakfast was very good and I asked chef for a variation one morning, no problem. This B and B deserves its 1st place in Victoria.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Abigail's for our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful, in a great location (easy walking distance to downtown and many of the sites in Victoria), the breakfast was amazing and we loved that there were snacks/tea available throughout the day, and the room was perfect. We stayed in the honeymoon suite - a log fire was set up for us every night and easy to light, a bed fit for a Queen, and the bathroom with the giant soaker tub was wonderful. Overall I would recommend this to anyone. There weren't any elevators, but that didn't matter as the staff helped carry luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £98 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Abigail's Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing