We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful hotel in Victoria!”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
259 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“What a wonderful hotel in Victoria!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This lovely manor house is about a 15 minute walk from the waterfront in Victoria. We stayed in the main house on the second floor in a king Ruby suite which was perfect (spacious, great linens, comfortable mattress, marble bath with claw foot tub & rain shower head).

Service was top notch all around. Complementary appetizers in the evening, wonderful breakfast options in the AM (even gluten free).

This hotel also has a spa which we didn't try.

While the hotel doesn't serve lunch or dinner they do have a recommendation list and are happy to make reservations. The front desk will also serve cocktails in the library after 5.

I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    76
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
739
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a wonderful 3-night stay here. Full disclosure: we were upgraded to the Foxglove room, which was extremely comfortable. But even without the unexpected luxury, we would have loved this hotel for its location, it's excellent food, and its friendly, thoughtful staff.

Room Tip: Foxglove has a high bed, fireplace, and an enormous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbeedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We are so pleased we chose Abigail's for our four night stay in Victoria. The service was outstanding as was the breakfast and evening appetizers. We also appreciated the location and being able to park our car free on the property. The hotel is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown waterfront but close enough to walk to enjoy the sights. Their recommendation of restaurants within walking distance was right-on. I certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCtraveler201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We decided to visit Victoria for our 25th wedding anniversary and wanted someplace special to stay. After researching, we decided that Abigail’s looked like a great choice. We are pleased to add our experience to many others that Abigail’s is the real deal. We splurged for an emerald room in the carriage house. We didn't visit any of the other rooms, but ours was beautiful. There was plenty of space and it was elegantly decorated. The bed was comfortably plush. We loved the large rain shower head in the Jacuzzi tub/shower. After reading about the breakfasts, we eagerly anticipated ours. We weren't disappointed. The breakfasts and hors d’oeuvres were delicious and fit the stylish touch of the whole atmosphere. The staff were pleasant, cheerful, and helpful. They answered our requests for directions, information, provided dinner recommendations and reservations for us, always with charm. The bathrobes in the room were as soft as any we had touched before. The only possible negative would be the size of the television in the room. When we opened the armoire looking for where we would hang our clothes, thinking that the tv would fill the majority of the space, we giggled and noted that we were glad that this weekend wasn't going to be spent watching that screen. Abigail’s did a beautiful job of blending a luxury hotel feel with the romance and familiarity of a B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellonSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I were blown away by Abigail's Hotel. It is probably the best place we have ever stayed. The Ruby King room was fantastic and quiet (we couldn't hear the street or our neighbors). The bed was glorious and plush and the claw foot tub was very big! Breakfasts were gourmet and appetizers in the evening were closer to a light dinner, which was so nice after a long day of travel or sightseeing. The service at Abigail's hotel is the best we have received anywhere. When my husband came down with a throat cold, Alice at the front desk put together a tray filled with salt, honey and lemon and offered a carafe of hot water. When we ordered a Pizza late one night, she supplied a stellar recommendation and then brought up plates and silverware when it arrived. The other staff were similarly exceptional, friendly, and helpful. The hotel is a ten minute walk from downtown, but that shouldn't prevent you from staying here! We would go back in a heartbeat and stay even longer than we did before!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting Victoria. The staff were great. They couldn't have been more accommodating. We really enjoyed the breakfasts and the afternoon appetizers. The bed and room were very comfortable.
It is a 10 minute walk to the ferry station. It is a little tricky the first time finding it, but we had a man on the street who seemed to know where we were headed and sent us right there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paysonpackertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Abigail's for 3 nights on our honeymoon last fall. We arrived before check in and the very welcoming and friendly women at the front desk took our luggage and gladly stored it in a locked room for us. Upon coming back to the hotel we were escorted into our room.. Wow. The rooms really separate Abigail's from your what you generally expect when you think "hotel." We were downstairs in one in Ruby queen room. It was so homey and the bed/bedding was incredibly plush and comfortable. Later we were moved to a Rose room on the 3rd floor, which had a king bed and double sided fire place. While the second room was much more spacious than the first, both were wonderful!

The hors d'oeuvres at 5 pm were varied and really tasty. The library and breakfast area are both great spots to hang out and relax. There is a huge selection of books and movies available for guests to borrow. We loved coming back to the hotel to unwind and relax after our bouts of exploring Victoria on foot.

The breakfast - Wow. The incredible staff make you feel instantly accommodated by welcoming you to take any seat and offering tea or coffee. The breakfast is 3 courses each morning and you can select between a light, sweet, or savory option. We didn't have anything we didn't like. It's a substantial enough breakfast to leave you feeling satisfied but was never so heavy that we felt too full.

We loved Victoria almost as much as we loved Abigail's. It rained the entire time we were visiting, but it didn't bother us at all. I found it charming and romantic. We used Abigail's umbrellas and explored the city on foot a few hours at a time, and then snuggled up in the cozy rooms/library at Abigail's. A truly perfect combination!

STAY HERE. You won't be disappointed. A huge thank you to the staff for being so friendly, accommodating and helpful. We did encounter some problems with our departure, as our flight back to Seattle was canceled due to very severe winds in Victoria. The ladies working behind the desk were MORE than happy to call Kenmore air, the bus company in Seattle, AND the hotel we were to be staying at in Portland that night, all on my behalf. I really think it's hard to find better service anywhere, thanks again!!! We hope to return one day :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Abigail's Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing