We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and amazing service!”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

If you want the best service in a beautiful settling then you have to choose this hotel!

Abigail's hotel is a bit more expensive than the rest but it is worth it if you want to experience something special!

The service is out of this world! The staff make you feel so welcomed and at ease and they help you with anything! And it is so genuine! We have not experienced anything like this before so we really enjoyed it! And you appreciate it even more after comparing it to the service in other hotels, i.e. in Vancouver.

We stayed in their most basic room for 1 night but everything was really good and we were very pleased with it! Very quiet, clean and the rooms are decorated in a beautiful way!
The breakfast was also really nice! Offers you a selection of really delicious things and it is cooked to a very high standard!

So we were very pleased with this small hotel and we highly recommend it to people who want to experience something more special whilst visiting the beautiful city of Victoria!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina_K_Coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you want a small intimate hotel close to the centre of Victoria, this is the one. Great hospitality from all the staff and superb breakfasts to set you on your way each morning. Attention to detail makes Abigail's a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amethyst Room which was more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Battershill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What an awesome experience we had staying at Abigail's! We spent four nights in an Emerald Room in the Coach House and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations and level of service. Enough cannot be said about the staff and the hospitality they exude. We were greeted warmly every time we entered the property and breakfast room. A special shout out to Melissa! The offerings at breakfast and the evening noshing were terrific. The furnishings and linens were superior and the room cleaned impeccably. Recommendations for restaurants were spot on. Very easy to walk everywhere and the Hotel was very easy to find with our directions printed from the internet. Abigail's....you set the standard high!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianethewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff are incredible, always there for you and eager to help. They made excellent suggestions for restaurants, tours, places to go, etc. The room was very clean, neat, had everything we needed and was charming. We also loved the breakfast, made to order by one of their chefs. The ladies at the front desk were fabulous.about 7-10 minute stroll to downtown or waterfront and Empress Hotel, great location and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: I think any room chosen would be equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom81745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This Bed & Breakfast had some good aspects as well as some shortcomings. My husband and I were on a road trip that included BC, Canada and Washington and Oregon. So, there was a lot of luggage. We were booked in the Abbey Rose Room which I thought was on the third floor; however, from the parking lot, you walk down a floor to access the building, resulting in walking up 4 flights of stairs to the Abbey Rose Room. There were only young girls attending when we checked in, so it was up to us to carry the heavy bags up the 4 flights. The girls offered to carry them for us, but, my husband wasn't going to let them do that. The room itself, though small, had nice furnishings and comfortable bedding. There was an odd odor that we had to get accustomed to. BUT the worst things were: the tiny sink with NO space for our grooming supplies, and the "open" fireplace between the bedroom and bathroom. There was no privacy when in the bathroom. Had I realized this, I never would have booked it. The upside: the food and snacks were very good and the staff could not have been friendlier. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, with secure parking, but beware McClure street was difficult to find. Worth noting also is Abigail's is less than 15 minutes from the ferry that takes you to Port Angeles, Washington.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigails_GM, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear “Pickygirl09”,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with this community and for your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to read that your experience with us was only “Average”. Clearly we did not measure up to your expectations and for that I apologize.

Indeed we are an intimate 23 room, limited services property that by virtue of our size cannot offer some of the amenities or services expected from large hotels. We believe that we disclose these facts in significant detail on our website and in our correspondence (both phone and email) prior to arrival. Aspects such as our service offerings, amenities, directions to find us and the physical characteristics of our rooms and room locations are all detailed. If you found something to be specifically missing from any of these facets of communication please let me know as I would not want us to have any more misaligned expectations in the future. Please know that we do offer baggage assistance from strong and healthy housemen from 9am to 5:30pm, seven days a week. If there was a miscommunication from our desk team regarding this fact upon your check-in, we once again apologize.

Our Main House is three storeys height above ground, which under British convention means the top floor is our 3rd floor (it requires only three flights of stairs to get to). Under American convention I appreciate that this is called the 4th floor and this is indeed a cultural difference between our two countries.

Thank you for the kind words you had around our furnishings, bed comfort, food and the friendliness of our staff. Should you wish to discuss any aspects of your stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards and safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Abigail's is a complete treat !! It was everything I hoped for - charming, elegant, a completely spoiling experience for my sister and me. The Staff is SO friendly, and helpful...the breakfasts are SO delicious, and different every morning. I have stayed in many hotels and B and B's and not many offer the comfort and attention to detail that Abigail's does. Abigail's is an easy walk to any other central Victoria attraction...my sister and I walked to dinner every night (which the the hotel staff booked for us before we arrived.) It was, quite simply, perfect. Keep it up, Abigail's - and thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to Victoria for our honeymoon and stayed at Abigail's for the length of our visit. Even though we booked the smallest room that the hotel offers, the level of elegance was still outstanding! Abigail's provides a gourmet breakfast with a varying menu, great friendly staff that can answer questions about the area, as well as a fantastic location to walk and explore. Highly recommend for couples looking for a romantic getaway!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brittany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £97 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Abigail's Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing