We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this room because of Tripadvisor outstanding ratings and it didn't disappoint! Very arrived early and our room wasn't ready. They told us to have lunch and be back in 1 hour. We did that and the room was still not ready they gave us an upgrade to a suite! Rooms were charming and the gardens were beautiful. The staff was very helpful and to complete a perfect stay free breakfast was gourmet quality. Great hotel!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gatorcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    78
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
770
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes. Beautiful room and bathroom, immaculately clean. All the staff are incredibly helpful, friendly and smiley! The breakfasts are devine - those scones OMG! The management have just thought of everything to make your stay comfortable; nothing is too much trouble.

We simply can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I traveled to Victoria for our honeymoon and chose to stay at Abigail's. Best decision. EVER!

At Abigail's, we were pampered, made to feel like the most important people in the world at this small, immaculately furnished hotel. We looked forward to each breakfast (the hardest choice we made every day was to choose between the sweet or savory option). The chef is fantastic. We relaxed every afternoon on the patio, enjoying a lemonade or beer with magical appetizers. Idyllic? You bet.

The staff should be commended. In my estimation, this is the way a service business should be run. They were always available with a smile, ready to answer questions or make trip arrangements for us.

Abigail's Hotel is close to Victoria's inner harbor (3-4 blocks away).

Our future trips and the hotels at which we choose to stay will forever be compared against Abigail's.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room on the second floor or higher, facing toward the strait, so that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THVolpone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwick, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This B&B has everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. From our initial contact with the staff to our departure, everyone and everything was perfect. The manager "Nick" shows a true love in managing the Inn. He and his staff are always attentive to your every need. From directions to late afternoon hors d'oeuvres (5 pm), they make sure you are happy.

The inn is a close walk to all the downtown activities and restaurants but far enough to be out of the hustle and bustle when you want to relax. It has a nicely appointed community area and outdoor patio to enjoy as well.

The room was large and spacious. It had everything you could need: plenty of towels, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hair dryer, AC, comfortable bed, wifi, a claw foot tub with a rain shower. Even though we were near the stairs and had people above us, the room was very quiet. The only bad thing was it was hard to sleep in with the smell of the wonderful breakfast creeping up the stairs into our room.

So now let's talk about the free gourmet breakfast. They have a chef who plans and makes breakfast. You get a choice of three main dishes: a cereal type, a sweet type like apple fritters or pancakes, or a savory type (egg dish) plus a scone or muffin, juice, coffee or tea, and 2 sides like potatoes and a meat. All were prepared excellently.

We highly recommend this Inn if you are visiting Victoria.

Room Tip: Staying in the main house provides better access to the community room, breakfast room, and nightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Excellent service - we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

Great breakfasts and the complimentary evening appetizers were delicious.

We stayed on the top floor of the Coach House, and our room, 4C, was absolutely beautiful.

We look forward to returning to Victoria, and indeed to Abigail's! We would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Coach House room 4C was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Abigail's this past week in June. What a great boutique hotel. We stayed in the Coach House which had recently been renovated. We really appreciated the great hospitality and service of the staff and especially the delicious breakfasts that were prepared by Chef Matt. Chef Matt also created all the tasty late afternoon appetizers for the guests. Our room was large,charming and wonderfully equipped. Best of all were the bed and the pillows. For us, as we get older, it is all about the bed. We were travelling with another couple and after our first night at Abigail's all we could talk about was how great the bed was! A valuable thing to know for newcomers to Victoria is that Abigail's is a short 3 block walk to the inner harbour where the Empress Hotel is located so you can leave your car parked at Abigail's and walk to all the action. The hotel has a very nice little garden eating area and a comfortable library for relaxing. We have no reservations about recommending this hotel and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

If you want the best service in a beautiful settling then you have to choose this hotel!

Abigail's hotel is a bit more expensive than the rest but it is worth it if you want to experience something special!

The service is out of this world! The staff make you feel so welcomed and at ease and they help you with anything! And it is so genuine! We have not experienced anything like this before so we really enjoyed it! And you appreciate it even more after comparing it to the service in other hotels, i.e. in Vancouver.

We stayed in their most basic room for 1 night but everything was really good and we were very pleased with it! Very quiet, clean and the rooms are decorated in a beautiful way!
The breakfast was also really nice! Offers you a selection of really delicious things and it is cooked to a very high standard!

So we were very pleased with this small hotel and we highly recommend it to people who want to experience something more special whilst visiting the beautiful city of Victoria!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina_K_Coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Abigail's Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing