We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over The Top”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over The Top”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This was our first stay at Abigails but it will definately not be our last. From the moment we arrived via the Clipper till the time we left two days later we were so well accommodated. We arrived too early to get into our room but they kindly offered to keep our luggage until our return for check in. We were able to get back to the city w/o carrying our luggage all over. A nice afternoon snack was provided to the guests at 5 with coffee and tea always available. But I think the best part was waking up from a wonderful nights sleep to the delicious smell of scones baking right below our room. What a way to wake up! The breakfast is what made it completely over the top. With multiple choices we were extremely pleased with our choice of baked egg wrapped in a slice of crispy salmon, topped with delicate mushrooms. Sooooo good. We felt like we were on a romantice honeymoon or anniversary even tho it was just a quick get away for us. The staff are top notch, gave us wonderful reccomendations and the chef even shared his recipe with us. We have wonderful memories of our 2 day get away and Abigails was a big part of it all. Thanks Very Much to them for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yonderlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    78
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
772
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2010

This bed and breakfast was an amazing place to stay while we were on our honeymoon! The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They even offered to help make reservations for any tours we were taking.
The location was good, but a little ways from the bay, which was nice also to be out of the way where it was nice and quiet. The walk down to where all the shopping and tourist activities was not bad at all though!
The rooms were beautiful, romantic, and cozy! With a sitting area and fireplace, it felt very homey and inviting! The rooms are a good size with a very large bathroom that has a jacuzzi tub in it. The beds were beyond comfortable and we slept better there than we do even at home!
The breakfast menu was AMAZING! The chef, Matt, works in an open kitchen and the food is delicious! The staff is incredible and friendly, and Matt will talk to you over the counter and offer suggestions or advice on what to do in Victoria.
We loved this hotel and will definitely visit again if we are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrod6112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We loved Abigail's Inn. The location was great, quiet yet just a short distance to the heart of Victoria. The breakfast was delicious. The service impeccable, our room was spacious and the service was A plus. I highly recommend this inn. You will be treated like family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights last week at the Abigail & we would give it 10 stars if we could. The hotel & our room was spotless, roomy, very comfortable. The staff was exceeding helpful and always ready with a recommendation, made reservations for us at restaurants & music venues. The breakfasts were out-of-this-world delicious. We will definitely be back & can't recommend the Abigail more highly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scphel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Cove, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Abigail's is a small inn located in the center of Victoria that combines charm and excellent service. The first night we met some really interesting people in the library during the late afternoon tea/cocktail hour. It is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, cultural locations, and the waterfront. Your stay includes delicious breakfasts served in a lovely little cafe. The excellent service started with making reservations to say. Everyone on the staff at Abigail's is friendly and professional. The rooms are nicely appointed with antique furniture. If you are someone who perfers to stay at a small hotel rather than a chain, Abigail's is an excellent choice in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devotedtraveler_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Abigail's was beautiful. The room was very quaint, with all the necessary amenities. When we arrived there were fresh baked cookies in our room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and solicitous. The chef was outstanding - there were two main breakfast choices in the morning and delicious appetizers, including chocolate covered strawberries starting around 5pm. The female pastry chef was doing the cooking while we were there, she's only there 2 days a week, the rest of the time is their staff chef, so we didn't get to taste his food. The location was perfect. It was off the beaten path, so it was quiet, but super close to everything. We walked everywhere with no problem. There's free wi-fi in the library and a computer room with one computer which is also free. I also got a massage our last day, and the massage therapist was very accommodating (we were on a tight schedule) and very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fakefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Here's what sold us: they let us see the rooms and pick the one that called our name. I don't usually use the jacuzzi tubs when we travel but here the rooms are so clean that I soaked my aching bones. The staff, especially Chris are so well mannered and personable. Two years after our initial visit he remembered us. That's pretty cool. The luxurious rooms, linens, fireplace and attention to detail in the decor was a treat. The evening appetizers, the glass of wine in the library before retiring and the amazing gourmet breakfast aroma wafting to our room in the morning all add to the value we receive when we stay at Abigails.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeakLifeExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Abigail's Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing