We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay for friends”
Review of Beaconsfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaconsfield Inn
Ranked #12 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was my second trip to this wonderful B&B.
I love it every time.
Warren and Gary are fantastic host...The food is fab.
Can not wait to return later in the summer.
Keep up the terrific work guys.
We like the garden suite. There is a separate sleeping area. That is great if someone snores.
You have a door to a small outdoor area. It is very private and greats some great sun.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

A stay at the Beaconsfield Inn is a five star experience in all regards.

Hosts Warren and Gary are an absolute delight. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and given a quick tour of this gracious home. First off, there is on-site parking at no extra charge. The décor throughout the Inn is lovely, tasteful and in keeping with the age of the house. There is a working fireplace and a piano in the centre hall, off of which is a handsome, well-stocked library where the morning tea and coffee are laid out and sherry is served late in the afternoon. The dining room is particularly lovely and bright due to its many windows, affording a view of the mature garden with its abundance of flowering shrubs, bulbs and trees. The tables are beautifully set with sparkling china and crystal. Breakfast is scrumptious. The Inn is an easy walk to the centre of town, the waterfront, parks and recreation, restaurants, shopping, etc.

We stayed in the Gate Keeper Suite which is on the ground floor. This set of rooms has a private patio accessed by double French doors and enjoys its own entrance to the adjacent garden and parking area. Everything about the suite is exemplary, from the comfortable beds, pristine bathroom with large walk-in shower, full length mirror(s), individual heat controls, fire-place across from the king bed with television above, books and magazines, seating area, writing desk, and ample storage in dressers and night tables. This is a very spacious suite. There is good lighting with reading sconces by the beds (one King and two Singles). The twin beds are separated by double pocket doors in an adjoining room. All is blessedly quiet and serene.

Gary and Warren are warm, considerate and refined hosts. They set the tone for a wonderful stay, from the time of our arrival on their doorstep, to the final sad moment when it was time to head home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I met my parents for a two night reunion at this lovely B&B. As soon as we stepped over the threshold, we were transported back in time and pampered. Gary and Warren are excellent hosts: friendly, helpful, and wonderful people. We felt at home instantly. The Inn is within walking distance of downtown Victoria and on a quiet residential street. The beds were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on away from home, and the jacuzzi was a nice addition to the washroom--- a nice treat after a long day of walking to see the sights! Breakfast (three courses!) was divine both mornings. The Edwardian-style house is so enchanting, you'll want to make sure you spend time just enjoying the atmosphere. Afternoon tea and evening sherry are delightful traditions, as was sitting in the library with a book and roaring fire. I loved every minute and was only disappointed we had to leave. My husband and I will be back for some more pampering in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our first time at the Beaconsfield, but certainly won't be our last! After experiencing the elegance, beauty and comfort at this historical home, we're looking forward to experiencing each of the nine rooms. We were greeted upon arrival by one of the inn's gracious hosts and given a brief tour, schedule(including the time for sherry in the sumptuous library!) and choice of breakfast service before being shown to the Duchess Room. Simply beautiful, this room included antique furnishings, a working fireplace including all the necessary tools for burning. It was like stepping back in time, but with all the modern conveniences. The bathroom was no less stunning as it is equipped with the original deep bath, finished with wood and a shower stall within the bath, enclosed with more beautiful wood and gorgeous curtain. The original towel heater warmed the towels whilst showering. We had breakfast in one of two of the bright, cozy dining rooms and it was nothing short of spectacular. Such care to detail and customer service! We can't say enough about this lovely gem and absolutely recommend to anyone looking for that something more than simply finding a place to crash. Thank you Gary and Warren for an enchanting experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights at the Beaconsfield Inn, & we enjoyed every moment of our time. The inn is very conveniently located (within easy walking distance) to the center of Victoria, parks, shops and restaurants. The house is beautifully decorated in Edwardian style- we felt transported in time- yet modern conveniences such as Wi-Fi were available. The bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet & spacious. The hosts Gary & Warren were welcoming, friendly, informative and so very considerate. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious, impeccably prepared and beautifully presented. The evening tea, cookies & sherry were especially enjoyed. We couldn't have felt more pampered and cared- for! We have already raved about the Beaconsfield Inn to our friends, and we will continue to do so, as we look forward to returning some time in the future!

Room Tip: The Emily Carr room was enjoyable- decorated with painting reproductions from important artist/ writ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCV847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We enjoyed two nights at this lovely B & B located in a quiet street just a few blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour. The "Inn" is an old house converted into a B & B. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Gary and Warren who gave us a warm welcome and who turned out to be very pleasant and helpful hosts.

We were shown to our "room" which actually consisted of a bedroom and an adjoining sitting room which contained the slightly odd combination of a fireplace and jacuzzi. Both rooms were large and contained period furniture which fitted the style of the inn. We had a ground floor room with direct entrance to the front yard which was very convenient.

Breakfast was a large meal starting with home made muffins on one day and home made croissants the next, the breads were followed by a fruit salad with specially made dressing and then a main course. The very complete and enjoyable breakfasts were quite special and a long way from your standard eggs and bacon with toast.

Thanks Gary and Warren; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return before too long.

Room Tip: It was nice to have a ground floor room with direct exit to the garden but I suspect all the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hosts were very welcoming and friendly. They made us feel comfortable but also gave us our space and privacy. The room (Mclure) was awesome, great bed, nice shower, jacuzzi tub, and fire place. The Inn has a lot of history, and it was cool to be able to be surrounded by it. We have never stayed in a B&B before, but this was great. Would recommend staying here. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank River D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,080 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 92 in Victoria
275 reviews
James Bay
Pendray Inn and Tea House
Pendray Inn and Tea House
#11 of 92 in Victoria
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconsfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconsfield Inn

Address: 998 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £80 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaconsfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beaconsfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaconsfield Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing