We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 6th stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Ranked #32 of 91 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was our sixth stay at the Haterleigh Heritage Inn. We absolutely loved the new Innkeeper, Ann! What a breath of fresh air she is!!! A wonderful chef....the best breakfasts ever!!! We loved that we had a choice each morning.........my husband loved Ann's fried eggs and I loved her eggs bennie! The Inn is spotless. In fact. one morning Ann and her helper Susan were looking for dust in every corner and crevice!!!!! Dust patrol! Thank you Ann for making our trip to Victoria so wonderful!!! You outdid yourself!! Julie and Frank Chico, ca

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

We traveled with friends on our motorcycles to Victoria, so we needed comfortable accomodations. The Haterleigh was that and so much more. We were so warmly welcomed by Ann and Susan that we immediately extended our stay. They gave us expert advice on where to go and what to do while on the island. The location itself was the best it could be. Easy to find, close to everywhere we wanted to go, yet quiet and restful. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Victoria and then there's that breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is the first time I've ever written a review, but I wanted to make sure everyone knows how enjoyable the Haterleigh Heritage Inn was for us. Ann was an absolute delight-funny, warm, and genuinely happy to have us stay with her. Our breakfasts were made to order and her homemade scones and apple strudel were scrumptious! Our group (3 couples who brought their motorcycles across on the ferry) spent our 3 days exploring Victoria on foot because everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. We did ride to the Butchart Gardens and at Ann's suggestion, we enjoyed a not to be missed afternoon tea. Our rooms were lovely and immaculate and we enjoyed coming "home" every night after a full day's activities. We look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon recently and it was an amazing experience. The inn keeper is extremely nice and helpful. The room was beautiful. The breakfast is to die for. My wife and I loooved the scones and fresh fruit every morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for nine days....really great. Very comfortable and within walking distance of everything in downtown Victoria. We didn't use the car 'till the 4th day.

And Ann, what a riot. She's an excellent hostess, really funny and a great cook....besides being, basically, warm and wonderful. We've stayed at many B&Bs...this has been our favorite. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard and Jac... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Ann is such a wonderful hostess for a wonderful B&B. From made to order breakfasts to the accommodations to off street parking to walking distance to major areas of interest. I made her share her homemade granola recipe with me. Travel research told us to limit our time in Victoria and spend more in Vancouver. That was a big mistake for our family. When we go back we will spend most of our time in Victoria, at the Haterleigh Inn.

Room Tip: we needed 2 beds. the upstairs arrangement worked fine. the bath is large. the nites are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randal30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My wife and I stayed a couple nights, and were very well pleased with our host!, our accommodations, and of course, breakfast. It was simply top shelf! For example, the individual bowl of fruit to start the meal had no less than 10 fruits in it.
We had a great time visiting and getting to know our host, who is from England. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 49 in Victoria
702 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haterleigh Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haterleigh Heritage Inn

Address: 243 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £84 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haterleigh Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Elegant Victorian Manor is located in the heart of the historic James Bay. The Haterleigh Heritage Inn is a 1901 Victorian Mansion built by the architect Thomas Hooper for himself and his family. The stained glass windows of the house are original and are considered to be the most stunning glass windows of any private residence in British Columbia. The Haterleigh Hetitage Inn is a short walk from the Inner Harbour, Seaplane and Ferry terminals. Staying at the Haterleigh, you will not require a car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Haterleigh Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haterleigh Heritage Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing