We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Ranked #33 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 for 4 nights. We were looking for a B&B with cooked Breakfast, nice rooms and a good location.
All three of them we found at Haterleigh Heritage Inn and we found much more!!!
Ann gave us a really warm welcome and outstanding hospitality. It was like coming home!
We really enjoyed our stay and when we are this area again we will stay here for sure.
If you looking for a really delicious homemade and cooked breakfast, beautiful Ensuite rooms and a location where you can reach the main spots by foot then you should stay here and nowhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShirleySheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

If you want a great B & B experience with delicious made to order gourment breakfasts, look no further. Anne is their delightful Hostess that will draw you into her cozy breakfast room. Her scones are second to none. No need to pay excessive prices at the Empress for Tea when you have a hearty breakfast here. Accomodations are comfortable and clean. In walking distance to some nearby restaurants which are also great. We hope we can come back here again soon. Anne is who makes this place so special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Our visit to Victoria and our stay at the Haterleigh Heritage Inn was the high point of our recent visit to the San Juan Islands, Victoria, and Vancouver. Great location within walking distance to everything. We seldom needed our car. Ample off street parking as well. But what really sets this B&B apart is the innkeeper, Ann. Such a welcoming atmosphere and comfortable home especially the spacious sitting room downstairs. The food was indeed a feast as others have noted. Breakfast to order was just wonderful. Suggestions from Ann as we explored Victoria, were great. We were never disappointed. Going to Vancouver and looking for a great B&B? No need to look further than the Haterleigh Heritage Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Thus far my wife and I have stayed here for a little getaway twice, and are coming back a third time. If I would need to give only one reason to stay at the Haterleigh, it would be the innkeeper Ann! She is welcoming and friendly, and really works hard to make guests feel comfortable, appreciated, and welcome. Her helper, Susan, is also a gracious, caring and welcoming hostess. It's worth the stay simply to chat with these two over breakfast! One really has the feeling of staying in a country inn in the English countryside.

On top of that the rooms are extremely comfortable (both rooms we stayed in had jacuzzi tubs, king-sized beds, and sitting areas) and quiet - plus some rooms have great extras, such as the private balcony in the Secret Garden room. Rooms are well furnished in a style consistent with the heritage home, bright, and exceptionally clean.

The breakfast was outstanding - we always get the smoked salmon eggs benny, which is always loaded with hollandaise, smoked salmon, perfectly poached eggs, and on our most recent visit spinach - and alongside is a fresh bowl of fruit, yogurt, and scones that are simply to die for (Ann is British and got the recipe from her Gran - need I say more?). I could survive on the scones and marmalade alone! After breakfast, one hardly needs lunch! Breakfast is always a pleasure in the bright and airy dining room, where you have the chance to chat with other friendly guests and Ann and Susan (I will say - satisfied guests make for nice company at breakfast!).

It is a short jaunt (less than 5 minutes) to the inner harbour of Victoria, and one feels completely safe in the neighbourhood. There is no need for a vehicle if you are wanting to experience Victoria - pretty much all major attractions, shopping, and fine dining are within walking distance.

All in all - a fantastic getaway both times that felt more like a stay with close family (the ones you like, that is) than a B&B, all in the lap of luxury!

Room Tip: Although some rooms are larger than others, both rooms we stayed in were extremely comfortable, brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank therockacrossthepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A great place with kind, enthusiastic people running the place. Ladies with a great cense of humor making the breakfast a feast, not just by the excellent food, but also with their humor and kindness.
Rooms we used had a jacuzzi, separate sitting area and where more suites than rooms.
The location is great as it is close to the inner harbour and Victoria centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Haterleigh Inn has a lot to offer - gorgeous hardwood and stained glass windows everywhere; fabulous, healthy breakfasts; all the amenities you would expect at a high quality establishment - but their innkeeper is the diamond in their crown. Anne has to be one of the most personable and accommodating people I have ever had the pleasure to meet in my travels. Together with her assistant Susan, she made our visit to Victoria most memorable. The owners of Haterleigh have a lot to be thankful for with an excellent manager like her.

M.E. Archer

Room Tip: Anne upgraded us to the Kingston Room, which I recommend, though the first room (Roses and Lace, I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M-E-A-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a two night stay in Victoria BC. We went hoping to stay at a Victorian-esque bed and breakfast for a reasonable price, we most definitely found what we were looking for! The Haterleigh is a well situated Inn just a couple blocks away from the Parliament building in downtown Victoria. The building itself is very charming and aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Inside it is equally lovely and very clean. The Innkeeper Ann was an extremely welcoming and warm person. She was kind enough to upgrade our room without adding any extra charges simply because it was available during our stay! She went above and beyond what we expected and truly made the trip memorable, giving useful advice and tips for our stay, as well as making us delicious breakfasts both mornings. To our surprise we were allowed to choose whatever breakfast we wanted the night before! I would definitely recommend the Haterleigh to anyone looking for a cozy and welcoming environment for their stay in Victoria; at an affordable price! We hope to come back some day soon:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Beaconsfield Inn
#13 of 92 in Victoria
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Pendray Inn and Tea House
Pendray Inn and Tea House
#11 of 92 in Victoria
218 reviews
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 92 in Victoria
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haterleigh Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haterleigh Heritage Inn

Address: 243 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £82 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haterleigh Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Elegant Victorian Manor is located in the heart of the historic James Bay. The Haterleigh Heritage Inn is a 1901 Victorian Mansion built by the architect Thomas Hooper for himself and his family. The stained glass windows of the house are original and are considered to be the most stunning glass windows of any private residence in British Columbia. The Haterleigh Hetitage Inn is a short walk from the Inner Harbour, Seaplane and Ferry terminals. Staying at the Haterleigh, you will not require a car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Haterleigh Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haterleigh Heritage Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing