We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic films!”

IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.70*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 20 Fun & Games in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: With crystal clear images, wraparound digital surround sound, and advanced IMAX(R) with Laser projection technology, IMAX(R) Victoria lets you feel like you're really there. Six stories high and 81 feet wide, the screen pulls you in! 7 million people locally have been spellbound by the force and beauty of The IMAX(R) Experience. Technically advanced and visually, it is the most powerful and immersive movie experience in the world.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic films!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very good staff, very polite and helpful! Great movies and sound was perfect. Came back twice for their shows!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Mark,
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review.
We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your IMAX Experience and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    238
    57
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“History of the Vikings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Since my husband is of Scandinavian descent we decided to view this IMAX movie. Learned a lot about Viking history. Movie was good, but not quite as dramatic as other IMAX movies we've seen , yet I would still recommend going.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear JKS55,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for others. We are pleased to hear you learned a lot while watching the IMAX film Vikings: Journey to New Worlds.

As you may already know, this IMAX film makes a for a great companion film to the Viking exhibition currently on display here at the Royal BC Museum until November this year.

Once again, thank you. We do appreciate your recent visit to IMAX Victoria.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
“IMAX GRANDE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location near everything downtown, the magnitude of the screen (best seats in the middle, two rows under the highest row), the variety of the shows and even the gift shop, close to the also very good one of the Royal Museum

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DagmarSchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Dagmar,
Thank you for your kind comments and for posting a review after your recent visit.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is by far the best and largest museum I've been to. It has a wide variety of exhibits and is a good way to spend a day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jayden,
Thank you for including the Royal BC Museum in your visit to Victoria.
We take great pride in our museum and value your comments and visitation.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Theatre Director
IMAX Victoria (Inside the Royal BC Museum)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The biggest screen in BC...and it's great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

As noted, it is a very very big screen. The seating is very comfortable, and provides a terrific view for all. The staff is friendly and professional. We saw the Great White Presentation, and it was very informative, as well as dramatic. Yes, they have popcorn!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David_S154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent visit.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your IMAX Experience. I know we say it the largest IMAX screen in BC, but in fact, it's one of the largest in the world!
We do look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing