We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Spot with Tons of Personality!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Excellent Spot with Tons of Personality!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Swan Suite was just perfect to celebrate our anniversary. We loved the location, it was right across the street from China Town (check out Fan Tan Alley) and an easy 15 min walk from where the Victoria Clipper docks. Victoria is such an easy town to walk around in, I actually loved this location.

We were greeted by Angela at the front desk, and she was terrific! They had our room ready for an early check in, which we hadn't expected. They also gave us a bottle of champagne, which was another terrific surprise. The connecting brewery had great beer and pub food.

The hotel is full of eclectic art, giving this place a real authenticity to it; this is not just another hotel chain. We were soooo happy with the room: super clean, high ceilings, brick walls, juliet balconies, more art...did I mention this place has tons of character? There's a great kitchenette we wish we would had used, but maybe next time, because we will definitely be back!

The only warning we would have is that if you do not like noise, you should book a room that is not above the brewery. For us, this was not a problem since we were planning on staying up anyways. You could tell the locals enjoy this place too, which is a great sign.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccpham9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    99
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
74
128
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We came to BC for our vacation to visit my family out here, and both my wife and I wanted a little 'vacation from our vacation' while out here. We decided to take a short trip out to Victoria, and found the Swans Suite Hotel when we were looking online for a place to stay.

The price was great, the location was great, so we booked! When I called to check a couple of details, an employee named Curt asked what the occasion was. I let him know that we were coming out to celebrate our first anniversary, and he let me know that he would do what he could to make the stay special.

We arrived on the ferry, and dropped our bags at the hotel before walking around to see the sights. When we got back to the hotel, our bags were in our room, so we just headed up. The loft rooms are fantastic. You get a nice living room, and the bed is up on the second floor. It was a huge space that we were not expecting! A little more than an hour after we got to our hotel room, there was a knock on the door, and a hotel staff gave us 2 bottles of Buckerfield's Beer, and an anniversary card! An unexpected addition to our stay. Our thanks to an employee named Curt!

The loft style room was fantastic, and had a great king bed upstairs. If I have one complaint, it's that we weren't able to stay longer!

I look forward to heading back again, for our future trips to Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geesbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We had a great stay here. Our room was clean, large, and comfortable. We were in one of the 2nd floor suites, which we were warned might be noisy when there was live music in the brewpub; actually, it wasn't bad at all, and we appreciated the opportunity to go downstairs to listen to music! The hotel was centrally-located, too, so it was very easy to walk to almost anywhere we wanted to go from there. The staff were very nice, though surprisingly not very knowledgeable about the transport options around Victoria. This caused us some trouble when we were leaving, but that could've happened anywhere and they did, appropriately, apologize to us for the inconvenience caused.

We enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violetaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Our suite was spotless and quiet. The original art was a nice touch as was the sparkling wine and truffles ( part of the Valentine's Day promotion ) . Dinner at the Wild Saffron was excellent and served at a leisurely pace. A late evening walk to the Empress and back was quite breathtaking. The king size bed was comfort itself and we never heard a sound all night. Breakfast on the Patio was ample and well cooked and a great place to read the complementary Globe and Mail.
We'll do this again. It was a memorable experience and great value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltamontes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwansSuiteHotel, General Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
I was very happy to hear that you had a romantic Valentine's night at Swans! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! The Valentine's shared platter dinner was great fun to plan and put together and Swans had a special glow that weekend with all the love in the air. My staff and I are so glad you and your valentine were able to be part of it! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanoose bay, bc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at Swans for two nights in February. The location is ideal because it is within walking distance of Victoria tourist destinations, shopping and restaurants. This hotel is a historical property but the suites are modern with a small living room and kitchen. The sofa was the only piece of furniture that was not comfortable. We did not use the kitchen other than for tea or coffee because the pub 's menu for breakfast is reasonable and the food is outstanding. The bedroom was large, bed comfortable and the suite was sound proof.
All the public areas are immaculate as was our suite. Fresh flowers were on the table when we arrived along with two B.C. apples in the fridge. The service was excellent throughout our stay. Oh yes, each suite has wi-fi.

Lyndy
Nanoose Bay, BC

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndyNanooseBayBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwansSuiteHotel, General Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Swans! Our Brewpub staff will be thrilled to hear that you so generously complemented their food and service! We hope to see you again soon!
Janina Ceglarz, G.M., Swans Suite Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

My girlfriend and I desperately needed a romantic getaway and boy, did we get it!!! Swans was the ideal place! We had a fantastic time!!! A lovely experience!!!
-Choncha and button say thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawniebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwansSuiteHotel, General Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Thank you so much for the kind review. Our staff loved having you both here and we were so glad that we were able to give you the romantic vacation you deserve! We hope that you will return to stay with us again one day!

Janina Ceglarz, G.M., Swans Suite Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

We have been to Victoria, BC many times. On this particular visit we decided to try the Swans Hotel, and....we liked it.

From reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we knew about the potential "noise factor", but...it never became an issue. "Street People"....well, anybody who has ever visited Victoria should know that there are "Street People" so that should be another non-issue.

Victoria is one of my most favored cities in the world....especially the Inner Harbor. I just love the "put-puts"....the small water taxis that criss-cross the harbor. If I had my way, I could spend my entire vacation just riding these little boat around the harbor.

The Swans:

1. Well, we got upgraded to a suite right off the bat. That was a nice touch...!!!

2. The location is unbeatable. You're right next to Chinatown and within easy walking distance to many of the better restaurants.

3. We had a couple of beers in the pub, and it is obvious that the Swan is liked by the locals.

We liked it too. Thumbs up for the Swan.

PS: Parking is a problem. The Swan refers you to a parking lot about a block away. Be prepared to drag your suitcases back to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing