We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its got location, comfort, food and entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Its got location, comfort, food and entertainment”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We just spent 5 nights here and it was a delight. We liked having a suite(at a reasonable price). The suites are a generous size and sport original art. The hotel has a great pub downstairs which sports live bands (of various sorts) every night of the week. Monday night was latin night and the dancing was incredible. The weekend, rock and roll and the place heaved. It was a very entertaining place to be within 5 minutes walk of everything in the downtown core.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    101
    29
    18
    9
See reviews for
79
133
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Studio Suite vaulted ceiling gives wow w/style on the first level with small sitting/dining area, full kitchen and bath. Staircase leads to loft bedroom with comfy king bed(requested) and small window city view. 20% off breakfast and easy/tasty late- night room service. Brewpub packed on weekend, so get your free taster early. Convenient walking to city shops, harbor, BC Museum, Parliament and Empress.

Room Tip: Website easy to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1492GetouttheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbard, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Chose this hotel primarily for its location; it's perfect for exploring downtown Victoria. We were pleasantly surprised upon check-in when we were upgraded from a Studio unti to a one-bdrm suite. Staff was extremely helpful with all inquiries. Suite was nicely furnished and very comfortable. If ever in Victoria (which I hope I am), we will definitely stay here and also would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaguarmom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Swan Suite was just perfect to celebrate our anniversary. We loved the location, it was right across the street from China Town (check out Fan Tan Alley) and an easy 15 min walk from where the Victoria Clipper docks. Victoria is such an easy town to walk around in, I actually loved this location.

We were greeted by Angela at the front desk, and she was terrific! They had our room ready for an early check in, which we hadn't expected. They also gave us a bottle of champagne, which was another terrific surprise. The connecting brewery had great beer and pub food.

The hotel is full of eclectic art, giving this place a real authenticity to it; this is not just another hotel chain. We were soooo happy with the room: super clean, high ceilings, brick walls, juliet balconies, more art...did I mention this place has tons of character? There's a great kitchenette we wish we would had used, but maybe next time, because we will definitely be back!

The only warning we would have is that if you do not like noise, you should book a room that is not above the brewery. For us, this was not a problem since we were planning on staying up anyways. You could tell the locals enjoy this place too, which is a great sign.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccpham9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We came to BC for our vacation to visit my family out here, and both my wife and I wanted a little 'vacation from our vacation' while out here. We decided to take a short trip out to Victoria, and found the Swans Suite Hotel when we were looking online for a place to stay.

The price was great, the location was great, so we booked! When I called to check a couple of details, an employee named Curt asked what the occasion was. I let him know that we were coming out to celebrate our first anniversary, and he let me know that he would do what he could to make the stay special.

We arrived on the ferry, and dropped our bags at the hotel before walking around to see the sights. When we got back to the hotel, our bags were in our room, so we just headed up. The loft rooms are fantastic. You get a nice living room, and the bed is up on the second floor. It was a huge space that we were not expecting! A little more than an hour after we got to our hotel room, there was a knock on the door, and a hotel staff gave us 2 bottles of Buckerfield's Beer, and an anniversary card! An unexpected addition to our stay. Our thanks to an employee named Curt!

The loft style room was fantastic, and had a great king bed upstairs. If I have one complaint, it's that we weren't able to stay longer!

I look forward to heading back again, for our future trips to Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geesbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We had a great stay here. Our room was clean, large, and comfortable. We were in one of the 2nd floor suites, which we were warned might be noisy when there was live music in the brewpub; actually, it wasn't bad at all, and we appreciated the opportunity to go downstairs to listen to music! The hotel was centrally-located, too, so it was very easy to walk to almost anywhere we wanted to go from there. The staff were very nice, though surprisingly not very knowledgeable about the transport options around Victoria. This caused us some trouble when we were leaving, but that could've happened anywhere and they did, appropriately, apologize to us for the inconvenience caused.

We enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violetaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Our suite was spotless and quiet. The original art was a nice touch as was the sparkling wine and truffles ( part of the Valentine's Day promotion ) . Dinner at the Wild Saffron was excellent and served at a leisurely pace. A late evening walk to the Empress and back was quite breathtaking. The king size bed was comfort itself and we never heard a sound all night. Breakfast on the Patio was ample and well cooked and a great place to read the complementary Globe and Mail.
We'll do this again. It was a memorable experience and great value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltamontes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwansSuiteHotel, General Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
I was very happy to hear that you had a romantic Valentine's night at Swans! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! The Valentine's shared platter dinner was great fun to plan and put together and Swans had a special glow that weekend with all the love in the air. My staff and I are so glad you and your valentine were able to be part of it! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
388 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing