We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here because of a coupon we had, with no real idea of what to expect. It's in a great location, and the suite we had was like a small apartment with a kitchen, and electric fireplace, table & chairs, comfortable sofa and chair, flat screen TV downstairs. The kitchen had coffee, tea, and apples in the fridge. The bathroom was well stocked. Upstairs was a roomy loft bedroom with a comfortable king size bed, and a second flat screen TV, small desk, and full closet. Both floors had french doors opening to TINY balconies with views of the harbor. We were within walking distance of everything important. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant attached was excellent, and we were given a voucher for a sample beer to get us started. I can't think of anything to warn about except that the stairs to the loft were a bit steep, if that would be a worry.

Room Tip: We were in a suite, and didn't see the rooms on the lower floor to be able to advise that way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aark2947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R, Director of Sales at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Hi aark2947,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your first experience at Swans. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite not knowing what to expect. We have designed our rooms to feel like you are at home with spacious sleeping areas and full kitchens. While you stayed in one of our loft-style suites, we do have rooms without stairs if you prefer for next time.

And thank you for the kind review of our Brewpub. We are proud to serve our award-winning beer, brewed on-site, and we enjoy being able to share this with our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to have you back soon aark2947.

Regards,
Sarah Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at the Swans for a long weekend. We liked our stay and would definitly stay there again next time we go to Victoria. The room was just fantastic. It was on two floors so it was like having our own little apartment in the city. I was worried about noise but there wasn't any. It is in a great location. We didn't have a car and were able to walk all around the city from this hotel. Restaurants and shops are all right outside the front door. The one small bad thing I will say about our stay at Swans was that the front desk staff and one waitress in the pub weren't very friendly. The front desk staff wasn't ever rude or anything, they just weren't warm, welcoming, or enthusiastic. They didnt try to have a nice interaction that would push the customer service from fine to excellent. And, I wouldn't eat at the pub again. We had lunch so perhaps dinner with the live music and pub vibe would be better. We found it overpriced for totally regular food and our waitress was a bit rude to us. With so many other options so close by, there is no reason not to try somewhere else.

Room Tip: I think that not all of the rooms are on two floors, which is what made it really cool. Definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumblehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R, Director of Sales at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Dear Grumblehog,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to receive your generous comments about our property and rooms. Each room is unique and most of them are two levels. The hotel was actually originally designed as an apartment building so the suites are large and spacious.

I am sorry to hear you experienced service and food that was not up to Swans' high standards. Customer service and great tasting food is an absolute priority for us, and we are disappointed to hear that we let you down. The incidents have been brought to management's attention and we will continue to ensure that our guests receive nothing but exceptional experiences.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to having you back and wish you a great holiday season.

Regards,
Sarah Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great hotel. I will be back. Loved the location.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenkelly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was the first hotel my husband and I stayed at when we were sent to Victoria on a house-hunting trip and it quickly became our favourite. Each room is beautiful. They are all suites, have loft bedrooms with massive and comfy beds. The art is ever-changing and unbeatable. The location is exactly where you want to be and the prices are more reasonable than an overrated chain hotel. There is a great restaurant and fun bar attached and you are in the centre of everything.

The only thing I suggest as a local is to secure your vehicle and leave NOTHING out to be seen. There is a problem with theft from vehicles in our city but if you leave nothing out - you are fine. Trust me, they will break your window for a quarter. The City is safe - don't get me wrong but like any major city -- there is a certain population that has no regard for other people's things. DO NO let this deter you from staying at Swan's as it is PERFECT and we send all our out-of-town guests to this spectacular boutique hotel.

Get a walking map of downtown and be sure to take a horse & carriage ride located at the side of the Parliament buildings. Walk the harbour front and DO NOT miss taking at little green Harbour Taxi ferry to Fisherman's wharf and have the fish n' chips. In the summer, there is a new Pirate Ship for famililes that takes you in the harbour with real pirates and a show that includes the kids in costumes!

Room Tip: They were all good from what we could tell. Very quiet considering the central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Our foursome of girlfriends stayed at the Swans Suite for one night when we arrived for our 5 night trip to Vancouver Island. The bar and restaurant downstairs is convenient for meals and cocktails, and we found that this hotel had some of the liveliest nightlife in Victoria. The crowd was quite a bit older than our group, but everyone was having fun. The hallways are fairly dark, as is the furniture in our living room and kitchen cupboards, but the room was clean and comfortable. We walked around downtown, enjoyed dinner and drinks, and called it a night fairly early. Depending on where your room is situated, you can get a lot of street noise. There was a guy spraying a hose on the flowers in the flower box outside our window at 5AM. Too early for that when you're on vacation! Overall a great choice for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aprildon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon here. We are from Minnesota, not familiar at all with the area, and found the staff particularly helpful in recommending transportation and places to go (especially Curt!). Our suite was quite spacious and the kitchen fully stocked. We were pleasantly surprised to find we had a private outdoor patio as well. I agree with a previous review that it would've been nice to have had a bathroom on the bedroom floor, which was a minor thing. It was also nice to have newspaper service every morning, as well as a pub and liquor shop attached. We loved it and loved the central location as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAS854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Swans Suite for two days. Our suite was fabulous, kitchen and living room on first floor, lofted bedroom on 2nd. I only wished we had need for a full kitchen, but we opted to eat out instead (I highly recommend nearby Kim's Vietnamese Restaurant at 748 Johnson Street). Only thing I'd change was that the bathroom was on the first floor; I would have preferred to have it upstairs, off the bedroom. That was a minor issue. The studio was very spacious, both upstairs and down) and we just loved the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janerbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,602 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £93 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 30 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing