We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Having a suite overlooking the bay is great. Being surrounded by amazing first nation and other exquisite art makes our weeks in Victoria a constant visual pleasure even when the sun goes down. Add to this the micro-brewery and a fun place to eat tasty food with a a few steps to our room.... heaven. Margi and Peter

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was shopping around for rates and availability and was shocked to find rooms at this location during the summer season at $99!! Unfortunately between the time that I had called and the time that I walked in (5 minutes later) the rate had SKYROCKETED to $199! The gentleman at the desk was not very friendly and I decided against staying at this hotel. Do not call after 3pm if you want honest rates as the man at the desk is not customer service oriented!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Poonharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We just stayed at Swans for two nights in a 2 bedroom suite with our teenage granddaughter. Our suite was clean, basically furnished, comfortable. The location was convenient to all the major sites walking. Only downside is that we wanted to sit outside on patio to sip our Swan brewed pint and she could not sit there because she is under 19. This is not Swans's' fault but a Canadian law that children cannot be allowed into what is considered a pub.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Elsmocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Four 60ish women loose on the town and we couldn't have found a better location to attend the McPherson Theatre, Kayak the Gorge, enjoy some wonderful cuisine, walk to the new Bateman Gallery along the Victoria waterfront... and at the end of the day, climb into wonderful comfy beds with good pillows. AHHHH! Our room had a full kitchen which was well equipped. Service at the front desk was wonderful, the hotel clean and welcoming with fresh apples available through the day and coffee/tea set out in the morning. Parking was available for $9/day a half block away in a well lit lot. A good find.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quite dark but very quiet. The outside rooms are on the street and have a wee balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

On Saturday night, a friend rented a suite at the hotel to have a small gathering for her birthday. All 12 guests were between the ages of 30 & 40 and there were 12 people in total who arrived at the hotel between 8:00pm & 9:00pm. After 2 warnings, we were asked to leave the hotel just before 11:00pm. The front desk told us they had noise complaints and complaints of smoking coming from our suite. The music coming up through the floor from the pub downstairs was louder than the music coming from our suite and no one in the room was a smoker. Everyone was sitting around having appies and a few drink and were sitting around talking. We tidied up the room and left the hotel. This situation confused us all because we had not done anything wrong. The front desk attendant wouldn't listen to us when we told him that the complaint couldn't have possibly be directed at us. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who has conversations at a reasonable volume because you might get asked to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CLBVicBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a very homey suite - a furnished apartment I'd like to have in any city. Our delightful king was on the 3rd floor facing the water. Windows opened for fresh air, then sealed very well. The loft bedroom meant our bed was well above the street, but we had to descend stairs to the bathroom in the dark (which is why I travel with a nightlight). Well-done original art hung on the walls. All the furniture was comfortable and welcoming. Bathroom and kitchen were compact but well designed. Free wifi worked well for both tablet and laptop. Guest laundry is on third floor and requires a key. The hotel feels inner-city European with: narrow stairs, one smallish elevator for floors 1-3, no luggage cart, pay parking a block away, a loading zone out front. Location is in the middle of everything.

If you get a loft, bring a nightlight for the stairs at night and eyeshades for the stairwell skylight (next to the bed) in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed only one night here during our stop in Victoria. The hotel is close to downtown and in an erea with shops, restaurants etc. We had a large suite: downstairs livingroom, kitchen and bathroom. Here is also the foldaway bed/couch. Upstairs are two bedrooms: one with a queen size bed and one with two singles. The suite was clean and well equiped. The only downside that I can think of was the temperature: since it was very hot for May the room was very warm. There is no AC and you have to cool the suite with fans.

Room Tip: There is a public bar in the hotel. Our room was far away from all the noise (band playing) but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,587 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 47 in Victoria
715 reviews
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 47 in Victoria
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £94 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 30 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing