We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and good location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed having so much space in our self catering apartment. The upstairs bedroom is huge but you do have to go downstairs to the bathroom. The downstairs kitchen area is more than ample with all the items you need for preparing a meal, making beverages (fresh apples, tea, sugar and filter coffee supplied free of charge) and having breakfast before heading out and exploring. We chose Swans because we didn't have a car, so we liked its central location to everything but mainly because we wanted to enjoy local music and beers in the pub downstairs - without having to walk the streets at night getting back to our unit. Tip - We had an amazing meal and on site brewed beers at the Canoe Brew Pub around the corner which overlooks the water.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariaptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    102
    30
    19
    9
See reviews for
81
134
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel. The rooms vary tremendously, in that some are open lofts with the bed on a different level, others suites in the sense there is a full bedroom, and others suites that are large open rooms with a separate living area. All have their own full kitchens and a nice-size bathroom, and all have large pieces of original artwork in the room. The price I paid was a real value for all this. It's a heritage building, so there are both beautiful things from this and small downsides (the hallways are narrow compared to most modern hotels). There is a bar with live music every night, which means that you need to ask to have a room on the 3rd floor or away from the bar area if you want things quiet. I am very sensitive to noise when sleeping, and it didn't wake me up being on the second floor away from the bar, so most rooms should be fine for this. The food at the restaurant is good as well.

Room Tip: not over the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polaraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarau, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on our last trip to Victoria. If you're looking to spend most of your time in and around town, this is the location for you. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the center, and 15 minutes to the inner harbour.
The rooms are very big and very clean. Having a separate room to let the little one sleep for a midday siesta is a must for any traveling parent. The staff are super friendly and accommodating. Swans Pub downstairs is a great brew pub with excellent food and live music most (if not all) nights.
There are 2 things that need highlighting. First is parking. There is no secure parking available as part of your stay, but instead, there is an open public lot behind the hotel. If secure parking is an absolute must, this might not work for you. Second is the great brew pub below the hotel. If silence and an early night sleep is required, you might have issue with this place. Were either of those an issue for us? No way. I prefer secure parking but can live without it, and the noise did die down eventually (our munchkin sleeps through anything, so it wasn't an issue).
If you are in Victoria, this really should be on your shortlist of hotels. Did I mention, it's pet friendly!
We will be back, next time with our furry kid too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverAzzurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a Swans loft on the third floor with a view out to the Johnston Street bridge under construction. I enjoyed watching the work site and the cyclists and the little buzz that is downtown Victoria. I go back to Swans because the two- level rooms are airy and have a great feel. With the pub down two floors we knew this was not going to be quiet early, and we were down the street all night anyway to catch the New Groovement playing at Canoe. Which was awesome, that girl can sing!
Swans was exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: Maybe all the rooms have a view, ask. Second floor would be noisier until the pub closes but we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardwickeHowlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Swans Hotel on a recent trip to Victoria. Fantastic location! The room was more like an apartment. See photos. Great bar/restaurant attached. Views from the room are not the best, but we were not in the room during the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcthrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We spend 3 nights at Swans in their pet friendly suite, it felt like being home away from home. It was very comfortable had everything we needed , the beds are so dreamy and we really appreciated all the original art work .The staff were friendly and so nice to Buddy our dog .and the location is perfect. We will definitely be back when staying in Victoria

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeneedsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights and had a really great time. The rooms are very nice and unique with a full kitchen which was very useful. The hotel front desk personnel were very helpful, we arrived early and our room was not ready so they gave us a bunch of complimentary free drinks in the hotel brew pub. The location is good, close to the waterfront, mall and Chinatown. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natashaa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
404 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,454 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 30 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing