We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of room-great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This interesting hotel is in a historic building and is old with narrow hallways. We had a two bedroom suite and both rooms were upstairs with a living, kitchen and bathroom downstairs. We had a spacious king bedroom and the kids had twin beds which were great for us. If you have mobility issues, you need to inquire ahead about rooms. We faced the inside, and had only the courtyard window. A little dark, but we weren't there to stay indoors. Either way it was very large. The place was clean, found a few leftover odds and ends from previous travelers, but things happen. The only thing that bothered me was the smell on our floor. I believe some staff lived there and the whole thing smelled like food. It was a little overwhelming. Made us feel like we were in an apartment building. But, it was part of the experience. We really liked the location, we found Victoria quaint and walkable. Parking is offsite and reasonable. A few tips for a stay here: find a grocery store before you get into the heart of town, it was hard to find a convenient store for basics. Brew pubs in BC at least, don't allow kids to eat in their establishments. Somewhere this should be noted, like when you cross the border or somewhere. We could not eat in Swan's pub, because we had our kids with us. We ran into this problem in many places. However, right down the street the Canoe brewery has a beautiful place and a restaurant area that allow kids, and have a kids menu. I would stay here again for space and location, it was unique and the front desk folks were really kind, I don't recall names. Overall a nice stay. The art is also cool, and good coffee in walking distances.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Granolamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I'm surprised I haven't reviewed this hotel yet as my wife and I stay here at least twice a year when visiting Victoria. So every suite has a kitchen if you desire to cook, we just use the fridge for snacks/wine/etc. Every suite is unique, furniture is different, great original artwork, high ceilings, some rooms have loft bedrooms, some have outdoor patios. I've lost count of the number of different suites we've stayed. Downstairs is a very busy pub with live music every night and a very tasty menu. If you don't eat here, you are only minutes away from several good restaurants and great shopping experiences. We park the car ( there is a charge for this) and walk everywhere. Minutes to the inner harbour and all the grand sites of downtown Victoria. Helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: There are two rooms above the pub that are offered as a discount due to the live music in the pub. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed having so much space in our self catering apartment. The upstairs bedroom is huge but you do have to go downstairs to the bathroom. The downstairs kitchen area is more than ample with all the items you need for preparing a meal, making beverages (fresh apples, tea, sugar and filter coffee supplied free of charge) and having breakfast before heading out and exploring. We chose Swans because we didn't have a car, so we liked its central location to everything but mainly because we wanted to enjoy local music and beers in the pub downstairs - without having to walk the streets at night getting back to our unit. Tip - We had an amazing meal and on site brewed beers at the Canoe Brew Pub around the corner which overlooks the water.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariaptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel. The rooms vary tremendously, in that some are open lofts with the bed on a different level, others suites in the sense there is a full bedroom, and others suites that are large open rooms with a separate living area. All have their own full kitchens and a nice-size bathroom, and all have large pieces of original artwork in the room. The price I paid was a real value for all this. It's a heritage building, so there are both beautiful things from this and small downsides (the hallways are narrow compared to most modern hotels). There is a bar with live music every night, which means that you need to ask to have a room on the 3rd floor or away from the bar area if you want things quiet. I am very sensitive to noise when sleeping, and it didn't wake me up being on the second floor away from the bar, so most rooms should be fine for this. The food at the restaurant is good as well.

Room Tip: not over the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polaraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on our last trip to Victoria. If you're looking to spend most of your time in and around town, this is the location for you. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the center, and 15 minutes to the inner harbour.
The rooms are very big and very clean. Having a separate room to let the little one sleep for a midday siesta is a must for any traveling parent. The staff are super friendly and accommodating. Swans Pub downstairs is a great brew pub with excellent food and live music most (if not all) nights.
There are 2 things that need highlighting. First is parking. There is no secure parking available as part of your stay, but instead, there is an open public lot behind the hotel. If secure parking is an absolute must, this might not work for you. Second is the great brew pub below the hotel. If silence and an early night sleep is required, you might have issue with this place. Were either of those an issue for us? No way. I prefer secure parking but can live without it, and the noise did die down eventually (our munchkin sleeps through anything, so it wasn't an issue).
If you are in Victoria, this really should be on your shortlist of hotels. Did I mention, it's pet friendly!
We will be back, next time with our furry kid too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverAzzurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a Swans loft on the third floor with a view out to the Johnston Street bridge under construction. I enjoyed watching the work site and the cyclists and the little buzz that is downtown Victoria. I go back to Swans because the two- level rooms are airy and have a great feel. With the pub down two floors we knew this was not going to be quiet early, and we were down the street all night anyway to catch the New Groovement playing at Canoe. Which was awesome, that girl can sing!
Swans was exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: Maybe all the rooms have a view, ask. Second floor would be noisier until the pub closes but we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardwickeHowlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Swans Hotel on a recent trip to Victoria. Fantastic location! The room was more like an apartment. See photos. Great bar/restaurant attached. Views from the room are not the best, but we were not in the room during the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcthrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
458 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £97 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 30 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing