We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice location, very spacious suites and great beds. Only tiny littel minus is that the bedrooms in our suite were upstaurs and the bathroom was downstairs, but apart from that would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    99
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
74
128
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice hotel, that isn't a like every other hotel out there. We had a nice room, with a small kitchenette, and kingsize bed. The room was fairly newly renovated, and was really comfortable, with great vaulted ceilings with a french balcony. It's located right downtown, and walking distance to the parliament, restaurants, and chinatown.

We were on the second floor and the bar below wasn't overly loud, but we could hear it, so any light sleepers would be wise to ask for a third floor apartment. Parking was not free ($9.50 a night). However, all things considered it was a great hotel, and I would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkiAlpinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have been to victoria many times before and always stayed in the big hotels. Swans was only known to me as a good place to eat or drink. We decided to use the hotel for a biuness trip. The loby was small and a little sketchy and we were concidering leaving. The staff was friendly and helpful so we stayed to look at the room. What a suprise. Great loft room room,(be aware, lots of stairs) a full kitchen that we used. China town up the street and around the corner. The main tourist area Victoria a couple of minutes walk away. Parking is down the street, so be prepared to walk to your car. There were a few fans in closets, so i suspect it may get hot in the room in the summer.

Room Tip: limited views, road noise on street sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were traveling with friends and pleased with the location of this hotel. The Market Square is across the street (great shops/restaurants) and Chinatown is the street behind. Walking to downtown to see the Empress Hotel, Royal Museum and Parliament Buildings about 10 minutes. Room was great. We rented the two bedroom and surprised only one bathroom and not on same floor as bedrooms. Not a big deal but with 4 people there were queues at times.
Beds were so comfy. Bedrooms did not have large windows and they did not open so it did get a bit stuffy and warm in the night - thermostats were off and did not see A/C in bedrooms.
All in all a great stay and would go back anytime. Friendly staff, easy check-in and parking nearby ($9.50 night).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We requested a quiet room, away from the busy street and the pub below and we got it. One of the few suites that was not renovated and was very dated, but quiet as requested. Towel shortage, so many days housekeeping would take the towels and there would be none until laundry was completed. Black mold in the bathroom, which they cleaned immediately when pointed out. Carpet was not vacuumed in some areas. Housekeeping was the Achilles heel of this otherwise charming hotel. Note: Our room had very steep, awkward stairs and the handyman almost fell down! Not a suite for the frail or elderly or very young children. The microbrewery below was amazing!!! Front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at_Swans, Front Office Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent stay. We do appreciate reviews as they help us improve our services for future and returning guests. I am pleased to hear that our front desk staff were helpful and that you enjoyed our brewpub. We are extremely particular when it comes to the cleanliness of our property and we will certainly be addressing the housekeeping service you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just stayed in the Swans Suite Hotel in Victoria for two nights. We have eaten there before but have never stayed there. We had a spacious suite with two bedrooms, a living room and a full kitchen. Travelling with a baby can be challenging but this unit was perfect for our group. It is close to all the places you want to visit in downtown Victoria: Government Street shops, the waterfront, and China Town.The staff was friendly and informative. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natashamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Terrific location if you aren't driving. It is right downtown and close to everything. Good pub, great service and clean, comfortable rooms. We arrived on a night that had live music which was a great way to spend an evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing