We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Getaway Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Lovely Getaway Hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Our family had the opportunity to spend three lovely days visiting Victoria during our BC adventure. We had decided to stay at the Swans Suite Hotel, partially based upon the reviews that we had read. When we arrived, we found it to be lovely. The location was perfect in terms of getting around the city, which is very walkable. The rooms were spacious and clean. And the hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating, willing to make reservations, provide information or assist in any way possible. It was truly a good choice and we will stay there again on our next trip. The hotel staff made whale watching reservations for us with BC Whale Watching. We heartily recommend a trip with Captain Harold if this is something you choose to do. He gives you your monies worth by far. The hotel, its brewpub restaurant and the excellent staff make this a place that we think you will enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    101
    29
    18
    9
See reviews for
79
133
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The service, accommodations and price exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded upon arrival to a 2BR loft suite with views of the inner harbor.
First trip to Victoria and we didn't feel like "tourists" mainly because Swans' is so well known and loved by the locals. We were within walking distance to all the things we wanted to see and do. The staff could not have been more helpful.
After a full day of trekking about it was really nice to have our meal downstairs in the pub - again enjoyed by the locals without a long trip back to our hotel, which of course was just upstairs.

Highly Redommended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The room was great but once you step outside of the hotel it is a different world. There is a Salvation Army location a block away and a train stop across the street. There are agressive homeless people everywhere. I found it unnerving. The front desk staff was hit or miss. Half of them were friendly and helpful and the other weren't. The bar downstairs gets a bit roudy but I couldn't hear anything in my room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldie7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I had surgery at the beginning of the month and needed somewhere with a suite. We've stayed many nights over in Victoria from the Empress to the Traveller's Inn and this is by far the best hotel!

We had a one bedroom loft suite which came with a full kitchen, and it's own little patio/garden area. The staff was outstanding, and location was perfect for the hospital. My husband was there for 48 hours and wanted to move in!

I've seen some reviews complain about the homeless and junkies being bad at the location but once you've walked around downtown Victoria you'll find this is the way Victoria is.....it has the most homeless people we've encountered and is the only positive negative regarding the hotel or even the city.

The front desk even lent us the laptop as we were having problems with ours, and they have over 100 movies you can borrow.

I'll never stay anywhere else but here from now on!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbwvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orono, Maine
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

After reading all the rave reviews, I thought our night at the Swan would be wonderful. But, the 'studio suite' wasn't a suite as I understand the term - it was a regular hotel room with a small kitchen, no eating area. It was nicely decorated and v. clean. We got the room away from the music in the pub, hoping for a nite of quiet, but there was lots of street noise, drunks when the bars let out, sirens, street people shouting at each other. Didn't eat the complementary breakfast because the check in person forgot to give us the vouchers. Great location and interesting art. Food in the restaurant was of uneven quality - some quite good, some got left uneaten.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rab05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the brewpub, with live music, good food, and a selection of great beers from their own brewery. The hotel is situated right downtown Victoria, perfect for me as I was in town on business and enjoyed the easy access to the beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sv0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My husband & I stayed here in Sept and loved it! Victoria is an amazing city to explore!! And Swans Hotel was in the heart of the downtown. There was great live music in the pub every night. The rooms were great, with beautiful views & loft bedrooms (the 1 bed rooms). The only drawback (& this was more the city than the hotel) was the amount of homeless people!! Their shelter is fairly near the hotel, but homeless people are everywhere begging for money! But that certainly didn't stop us from having an amazing time & it didn't stop us from feeling safe. Beautiful hotel, great restaurant staff, great place!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenpuppy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
387 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing