We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
202 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

The Swan is in one of the prettiest buildings in Victoria in a great location a little away from the noise and main tourist attractions but easy walk everywhere. it is right opposite the Market which is fun. However our loft suite was quite dark and both rooms were upstairs while the small bathroom was downstairs which wasn't very convenient. The living room was comfortable with huge sofas and unusual interior decoration. our room had a hatch on the ceiling instead of a window and the other room was also practically windowless. However they were large, spacious rooms so you didn't feel too cramped. The rest of the hotel, bar, lobby, restaurant is very pleasant with a good atmosphere. The Saffron Bistro is a little pretentious with complicated but tasteless dishes though good value. Probably better to eat in the pub. I have had better beers.
having said all this I didn't see anywhere else in Victoria (except possibly the Empress) where I would have preferred to stay. So i would still recommend the Swan.

  • Liked — the building, the location, the restoration
  • Disliked — the darkness of thre rooms, the downstairs bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    99
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
75
129
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

We stated there 2 nights in August with our 2 kids . Main objective was to take in the Titanic Exhibition at the BC Museum (which was sensational).

Firstly the hotel inself is architecturally beautiful and has been restored superbly. The rooms also are large and well appointed. We had a loft room which was great but a bit of a pain to hoof downstairs to use the toilet during the night.

The location of the hotel is great in that it is not right downtown but on the edge of Chinatown and is within walking distance to most things. The downside is that there is certainly a large drifter/drug population in the vicinity (which according to staff has gotten worse since the Salvation Army house opened just across/down the street). Not a huge deal but certainly something to be aware of. The hotel uses a parking lot directly across from the Salvation Army house - do not leave valuables in your car as we saw car windows broken.

We also had to change our rooms due to overnight repairs on the restaurant venting which was right above our room. No big deal - not a showstopper. However are first room was a bit noisy with the venting.

We had dinner the first night in the Wild Saffron Bistro which was adequate but nothing special which was disappointing as we read great things about it.

The biggest complaint we had was with the service in the hotel for breakfast. Breakfast is served in the glass enclosed patio and was very very slow. We also were disappointed with the attitude of our server when 2 of our breakfast orders came out, 2 more couple minutes later, and then when I had to ask for the maple syrup was told sarcastically "don't worry".

After spending the Sunday morning/early afternoon walking and at the Museum we came back for a mid afternoon snack/drink and once again the service was super slow for only a couple of appies/drinks.

However on Monday morning the service was much faster mainly due to the fact that the weekend traffic had passed.

Overall we found the property adequate, staff (aside from one) were pleasant enough, location was hit/miss and food was ok. Would we stay here again? Don't think so.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiaussiecanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2007

On a visit to Seattle, My brother treated us to a weekend at Swan's Hotel. Delightful hotel, roomy flats, wonderful brewpub, and restaurant. Just cozy and comfortable.

The service, both hotel and restaurants was great, the staff did all they could to see that you enjoyed your stay. On Saturday evening, a band played in the restaurant/bar, and it was great--what fun.

It is a good walk to the harbour, but not too far, and it is located downtown, among many excellent restaurants and shops.

  • Liked — Comfort, out of the ordinary, not chain type restaurant
  • Disliked — Pricey, but worth it.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2007

The Swans was absolutely superb from the helpful and welcoming staff to the individual suites. Our party had booked several rooms and each suite which consisted of a loft bedroom, lounge and fully equipped kitchen was equally warm and welcoming. The reception staff were knowledgeable about the local area and helped with booking tours of Victoria on the ‘The Big Bus Tour’ (it’s a must to get your bearings around Victoria) and also Angela the receptionish booked a Whale Watching excursion with Seafun Safaris for us, (totally recommend this company, they love their job and the environment! [--]). Angela answered many other questions we posed with a willing smile, she was a treasure. The evening entertainment each night was excellent and if you didn’t want to experience Victoria you could closet yourself away within the Swans and still experience a wonderful time. The guys in our group also vouched for the excellent standard of beers and the Margaritas were inspiring………. If you are looking for an intriguing fun hotel this is for you, however for those of you who would like a romantic hideaway this is the perfect get away and if you can afford the penthouse suite this is truly awesome!

  • Liked — Fun unique hotel, suite very impressive
  • Disliked — Corridors in hotel a little dark
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MandyClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2007

The location, the atmosphere, the food and the rooms are all excellent for a stay in Victoria. Right on the waterfront within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants, not that you need to go anywhere, the inhouse restaurant and bar are great. Try their beer!

  • Liked — Great location and the rooms were a good size - kitchenette too!
  • Disliked — Room was a little dark
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyme30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

The Swans Suite hotel consists of a classy restaurant with adjoining pub (lots of different ales) with suites above. These are spacious with a large lounge/kitchen area with separate bedroom and bathroom. The rooms are not amazingly well finished but are clean and the place is centrally located - just a few minutes walk from both the main shopping area and the harbour/hotel/parliament frontage. If you were looking for a v. luxury stay don't stay here but if you want a central base, are staying for a few days or more, want to go out in the evening, perhaps are using public transport and/or are considering cooking a few meals for yourself then this is ideal. Would be good for small groups/families sharing because fo the size of the main rooms.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Nothing particularly
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete_H_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

There were three of us traveling so we tried to book suites at in every city. We were having trouble finding a decent one until we came across The Swans. We booked solely based on the pictures and it delivered.

The suite itself was 2 stories (loft style) with a kitchen, small balcony, and living room (with pull-out couch). The suite was clean and modern and a great size.

A continental breakfast was included each day which would either e eaten in the restaurant on the first level or it could be delivered to your room (nice bonus).

Upon arrival, we were given coupons to taste the beer that’s brewed in-house. I recommend trying a few brews - very good stuff! The pub has great food and live music (none of which is heard in the hotel above). For something classier, they have a restaurant attached as well. We didn't go but it was highly recommended.

The exterior of the hotel is clean and "pretty" with flowers everywhere. The only downfall of this place is the proximity to a homeless shelter (although there were no problems).

The hotel is a short walk from downtown and a few seconds from a strip of great shops. China town is right around the corner.

The place is a true find, price was great and the staff was very friendly.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet included
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing