We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, accomodation, location and pub at Swans Suite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
nanoose bay, bc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent service, accomodation, location and pub at Swans Suite Hotel”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at Swans for two nights in February. The location is ideal because it is within walking distance of Victoria tourist destinations, shopping and restaurants. This hotel is a historical property but the suites are modern with a small living room and kitchen. The sofa was the only piece of furniture that was not comfortable. We did not use the kitchen other than for tea or coffee because the pub 's menu for breakfast is reasonable and the food is outstanding. The bedroom was large, bed comfortable and the suite was sound proof.
All the public areas are immaculate as was our suite. Fresh flowers were on the table when we arrived along with two B.C. apples in the fridge. The service was excellent throughout our stay. Oh yes, each suite has wi-fi.

Lyndy
Nanoose Bay, BC

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndyNanooseBayBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwansSuiteHotel, General Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Swans! Our Brewpub staff will be thrilled to hear that you so generously complemented their food and service! We hope to see you again soon!
Janina Ceglarz, G.M., Swans Suite Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    102
    30
    19
    9
See reviews for
81
134
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My girlfriend and I desperately needed a romantic getaway and boy, did we get it!!! Swans was the ideal place! We had a fantastic time!!! A lovely experience!!!
-Choncha and button say thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawniebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwansSuiteHotel, General Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Thank you so much for the kind review. Our staff loved having you both here and we were so glad that we were able to give you the romantic vacation you deserve! We hope that you will return to stay with us again one day!

Janina Ceglarz, G.M., Swans Suite Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We have been to Victoria, BC many times. On this particular visit we decided to try the Swans Hotel, and....we liked it.

From reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we knew about the potential "noise factor", but...it never became an issue. "Street People"....well, anybody who has ever visited Victoria should know that there are "Street People" so that should be another non-issue.

Victoria is one of my most favored cities in the world....especially the Inner Harbor. I just love the "put-puts"....the small water taxis that criss-cross the harbor. If I had my way, I could spend my entire vacation just riding these little boat around the harbor.

The Swans:

1. Well, we got upgraded to a suite right off the bat. That was a nice touch...!!!

2. The location is unbeatable. You're right next to Chinatown and within easy walking distance to many of the better restaurants.

3. We had a couple of beers in the pub, and it is obvious that the Swan is liked by the locals.

We liked it too. Thumbs up for the Swan.

PS: Parking is a problem. The Swan refers you to a parking lot about a block away. Be prepared to drag your suitcases back to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The food and service is out standing and the choice of quality beers is beyond belief,great after whale watching and what a beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davewales57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Our family had the opportunity to spend three lovely days visiting Victoria during our BC adventure. We had decided to stay at the Swans Suite Hotel, partially based upon the reviews that we had read. When we arrived, we found it to be lovely. The location was perfect in terms of getting around the city, which is very walkable. The rooms were spacious and clean. And the hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating, willing to make reservations, provide information or assist in any way possible. It was truly a good choice and we will stay there again on our next trip. The hotel staff made whale watching reservations for us with BC Whale Watching. We heartily recommend a trip with Captain Harold if this is something you choose to do. He gives you your monies worth by far. The hotel, its brewpub restaurant and the excellent staff make this a place that we think you will enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The service, accommodations and price exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded upon arrival to a 2BR loft suite with views of the inner harbor.
First trip to Victoria and we didn't feel like "tourists" mainly because Swans' is so well known and loved by the locals. We were within walking distance to all the things we wanted to see and do. The staff could not have been more helpful.
After a full day of trekking about it was really nice to have our meal downstairs in the pub - again enjoyed by the locals without a long trip back to our hotel, which of course was just upstairs.

Highly Redommended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The room was great but once you step outside of the hotel it is a different world. There is a Salvation Army location a block away and a train stop across the street. There are agressive homeless people everywhere. I found it unnerving. The front desk staff was hit or miss. Half of them were friendly and helpful and the other weren't. The bar downstairs gets a bit roudy but I couldn't hear anything in my room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldie7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
404 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,454 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 30 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel
Swans Hotel & Brewpub Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing