We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip!”

Five Star Whale Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
US$72.84*
and up
Whale-Watching Cruise with Expert Naturalists
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1985, Five Star Whale Watching is Victoria’s longest running and most respected Whale Watching company. We are a family business offering unparalleled service and location. Five Star Whale Watching has been a key player in establishing Victoria British Columbia as a world famous whale watching destination. Our high speed expedition catamarans are the perfect vessels for environmentally friendly and responsible whale watching without sacrificing comfort!With over 80 Resident Orcas (Salmon Eating Killer Whales) and numerous Transient Orcas (Marine Mammal eating Killer Whales), discover why Whale Watching in Victoria B.C is a must for any visitor. Our marine life also includes Humpback Whales, Migrating Gray Whales, Minke Whales, Porpoise, Seals, Sea Lions and numerous Marine Birds. We live in one of the best places in the world to enjoy whale watching – let our expert staff and crew educate and inspire you with the wonders of the Salish Sea!We take our marine environment seriously, and strive to implement the “Reduce, reuse, recycle” philosophy in all we do.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We took the 2:00 tour and our naturalists Kaegan and Kayla were professional and informative--and obviously well educated and excited about marine life. The boat was great for viewing (top deck, front and back as well as great windows from inside. We were able to see 5 Orcas, including a baby learning to feed, and they came up to our boat! The trip itself was beautiful and Kaegan answered all our questions while also alerting us to other wildlife to see in the area and informing us of the geographical sights--so interesting! It was the highlight of our 7 day visit to Victoria and Vancouver.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    30
    13
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“enjoyable day”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went on this tour Jul 19 aft. very windy day and water fairly rough. boat is a catamaran and handled water very well. even though rough i felt very safe at all times and ride was smoother than one i had taken in Tofino 2 weeks earlier on a calmer day. we saw whales. i appreciated that this company tried very hard to stay the legal distance away from the whales (unlike one of the other companies out there!) staff seemed very knowledgable. they were a little hard to hear at times over the sound of the engine. staff were very safety conscious and very helpful in assisting us both inside the cabin and up on top deck. views from top deck are spectacular. hot chocolate and coffee was available which was a nice touch. also washrooms on board. tip: take a good camera that allows you to zoom in to your pics later as whales are a bit of a distance away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FunSeeker75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great tour, no chance of getting wet”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Went on this tour with my mom, dad, and boyfriend. My mom was not feeling the idea of having to strap into a wet suit and climb into one of those tiny little boats, so we chose 5 star and I'm glad we did. Our guide on board, Kayla (Chaela?) was extremely knowledgeable. I had no idea there were so many differences between orcas! We sat up top and there were really big thick jackets for when it got cold, which was a great touch.

We saw many orcas, bald eagles, and seals. I can't say we saw more on this tour than we would have on another, as a lot of the boats seemed to be gathered around the same place we were, but it was definitely comfortable and Kayla was a great value add and a wonderful conversationalist. Definitely recommended.

P.s. There is a bathroom, coffee, and hot chocolate onboard.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
“Whale Watching in the Juan de Fuca strait”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff were very helpful and informative. We saw two pods of about 50 orcas each (total about 100) but they were quite far away. They breached several times which was kind of exciting. All in all a very good experience. Free hot chocolate on the boat was a nice touch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kermit639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Dream come true!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Experienced, knowledgeable, and friendly staff greeted us upon arrival. They share their passion of the environment and the marine life. The ride was smooth and relaxing. The views...exhilarating! This was my second whale watching expedition but my first time ever to see the most majestic animal in the world. Orcas!!!! Dream come true! Thank you

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Star Whale Watching also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Five Star Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing