We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two days in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Lewis House B&B
Ranked #13 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Two days in Victoria”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The John Lewis House B & B was a beautiful residence in a centralized location with the majority of activities within walking distance (beach, downtown, parks, etc.). Becky and Bob were delightful hosts and very welcoming. Breakfast was rather expansive (cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffins, toast, main entree - you get the picture) and always tasty. A nice extra touch was the expectation that any uneaten muffins went with us for later consumption - I enjoyed them for several days after returning home. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittygoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
92
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Becky & Bob create a warm and inviting environment for their customers, adding even more character to the beautiful old house.
The B&B is in a central location and perfect for the on-foot tourist/traveller.
The breakfasts are to die for and the added touch of the hosts' morning routine only adds to the experience. Becky made muffins to take with us, so we cut down on lunch costs, which for a pair of students is a rather large bonus! The couple made great recommendations as well for dinner spots and daily sights.
The BEDS...I have never slept so well! And to sleep that well and have a sizeable, home-made, gourmet breakfast is otherworldly!
I have highly recommended this quaint B&B to everybody I know in hopes that they too will have as lovely a time as we did.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed for just one night while in Victoria on business in late April and it was a delightful break from chain hotels. Excellent local neighbourhood that was easy to walk to downtown/Harbour and to the ocean. The home is beautifully maintained and the rooms were thoughtfully furnished and featured a lovely basket of much appreciated refreshments. Hosts Bob and Becky provided for my every need even before I had arrived, by giving detailed instructions for local bus and sightseeing options and accommodating my early morning departure. I also appreciated their warmth in the way they took the time to make it feel like a home away from home (without the chores!) It is friendly and thoughtful hosts like them that re-affirm why I stay in B&Bs whenever I travel - plus the bed was super comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albaheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saturna Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Wonderful historic house near downtown in quiet neighbourhood. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs and each has its own bathroom. I rated the room as 4 rather than 5 because the private bath is reached through the hallway, so a bit awkward if you want to pop to bathroom in naked state. However, the bathroom is literally one step from bedroom door. I suggest bringing a dressing gown if you are concerned! Both the bedrooms and bathrooms are top quality. Bed very comfortable. The best part of this B and B are the hosts, Bob and Becky. We mentioned we were vegetarian when we reserved, and without us asking, they produced a list of vegetarian restaurants and even checked to see if they were open on sunday! That's service! Finally, the breakfast was divine: crepes filled with mushrooms, eggs, cream cheese and herbs. Fresh fruit cocktail to start, granola, yogurt, muffins and toast to fill you up if the crepes were not enough! We will be back, thanks Becky and Bob! Leigh and Vagn

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We arrived in Victoria on the ferry from Port Angeles and it only took a couple of minutes to drive to the John Lewis House. We could walk everywhere since the location was so close to the Inner Harbor of Victoria. The hosts had great suggestions for sightseeing and restaurants. Beautiful woodwork in the comfortable home. The bedroom was a bit small but nicely decorated and clean. Huge, delicious breakfast with homemade granola, jams, and berry muffins that we had for lunch on our trip to the central part of Vancouver Island. The house is just a few minutes walk from ocean views and Beacon Hill Park; many people out with children and dogs. The weather was better than we expected for November. Becky and Bob were very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan5619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The John Lewis house is a nice little B&B located in a conveniant location close to downtown/inner harbor as well as other sights and restaurants in the area. More importantly, it is the place where my wife and I were married on 11/11/11. Our hosts, Becky and Bob were helpful and accomadating and even acted as our witnesses for the ceremony. We felt honored to be the first couple to be married in their home and they made every effort to assist us throughout the entire affair. Their son Ben, who lives nearby even stopped by and took pictures for us. Needless to say, this was all unexpected and made my wife and I feel honored and special. I cannot say enough good things about the graciousness and hospitality of Becky and Bob. They made a very special day all the more so through their thoughtfulness and impeccable service.
In addition, Becky is an excellent cook and all the food was excellent. Bob's knowledge of the local eateries and accurate directions were a big help also. All in all a very wonderful B&B with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The best thing about The John Lewis House are the hosts, Becky and Bob. They will do their best to help you. The breakfast is great. We felt at home. The room and bathroom is exceedingly clean. We stayed in the pink room and were the only guests at the time. The bathrooms are private but out in the hall so if there would have been more guests it would have been less comfortable, even though each room has its own bathroom. The ceiling over the bathtub is very low so that's not very comfortable. For us, the distance from downtown was a small drawback. we had good weather but if it's raining, the 10-15 minute walk to town might be a problem. But overall it was a good place to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yael2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Lewis House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Lewis House B&B

Property: John Lewis House B&B
Address: 58 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage registered B&B close to downtown, inner harbour, coastal path and Beacon Hill Park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Lewis House B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing