We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay anywhere else .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Lewis House B&B
Ranked #12 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not stay anywhere else .”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Becky and Bob provided warm hospitality , but not intrusive . Breakfast outstanding , best in 3 weeks of touring with added treat of home-made muffins to take each day . Great tips on sights to see , buses to catch and how to avoid boat-loads of tourists at Butchart Gardens . Great location , a short stroll from the harbour hub . Rooms are very clean , comfortable and quiet . Extremely good value for money .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JudyC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
93
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Altogether a very pleasant stay. Becky and Bob make good hosts, ensuring you have what you need helping out with directions/restaurants etc. The raspberry french toast was amazing and was followed by lots of delicious breakfast food. Rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated and the location was great with a very short walk to the sea and not too much further to the tourist sites. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EdmontonBirdie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

What an introduction to B&B in Canada! The welcome was great, the house wonderful, the breakfast the best we found in three and a half weeks and the woodpecker a treat!
This really is a super place to stay and although quiet and peaceful is still only a stroll from the harbour! If we visit Victoria again we will not look elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had 2 nights with Becky & Bob at the beautiful John Lewis House. We absolutely loved it, and Becky & Bob are so welcoming and helpful. Breakfast, as others have said, is an absolute treat to set you up for the day: granola, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, Becky’s daily changing hot dish, toast and then freshly made & delicious muffins which you’re urged to take out with you. Wonderful!
The position of the house is great too. It’s an easy 15 min stroll into the centre of Victoria but in a quiet area itself. In the other direction it’s a 2 minute walk to the coastal path or up the street facing to Beacon Hill Park. There’s one parking space on the driveway but plenty of free on-street parking.
We’d go back in a flash. Thanks B&B from A&A

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I was in Victoria for a quick two-night stay. I unfortunately did not have much time to spend at the John Lewis House, but what little time I had was wonderful. The hosts were helpful, discreet, and all-around charming. I was treated to a breakfast fit for a queen, even on the second morning, when I had to eat and leave at an ungodly hour for an early flight back home. The room and bathroom were as clean as any I have ever come upon, and the view from the beach at the end of the street was beautiful. With a fifteen-minute walk to downtown and a bus stop right twenty steps away from the front door, what else can you ask for? I can't think of anything!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthrn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My boyfriend and I had planned a trip to Victoria, BC back in August. We had originally booked a stay at Oceans Island Inn Garden Suites although when we arrived and attempted to check in, we were told that the hotel overbooked us and had called all over town to try to find us accommodation on what is considerably the busiest weekend of the entire year -- Victoria Symphony Splash takes place this weekend. Luckily, the John Lewis House had a cancellation and we were put up in this lovely B&B for a night. Bob and Becky were such welcoming hosts, we immediately felt very at home. Their house is immaculate and beautiful. We had a lovely room, private bathroom and woke up the next day to a delicious breakfast spread, complete with homemade banana muffins (which they packaged up for us to go!). Bob was extremely knowledgeable about Victoria and happily answered our many questions about where to eat and what to see. All in all, we were ecstatic with the service we received at the John Lewis House. So much so that we did not want to leave to stay our 2nd night in the Oceans Island Garden Suites, as our original itinerary called for. The location was superb -- walking distance to downtown Victoria and situated on a beautiful quaint street close to the water. I recommend this B&B to any couple (young or old -- we are 25) or family looking for genuine service with a smile. We could not have asked for a better stay or better hosts. Bob and Becky most certainly made our stay in Victoria that much more memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We (my parents) recently stayed at John Lewis House B&B in Victoria, BC for five days.

This is a lovely Heritage House, convenient to downtown and the ocean.

We had a very clean and comfortable bedroom and private bath. Also there is a nice sitting room for guests to read or watch television.

Excellent breakfast was provided with homemade granola, yogurts & fresh fruit, juices, homemade jams, toast and muffins. Every day, we were treated to a delicious hot dish prepared by Becky.

Bob & Becky are excellent hosts. They gave us good advice on interesting places to visit, along with directions and maps.

We highly recommend John Lewis House B&B as your home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskatchewanTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,695 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Lewis House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Lewis House B&B

Property: John Lewis House B&B
Address: 58 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage registered B&B close to downtown, inner harbour, coastal path and Beacon Hill Park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Lewis House B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing