We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Highly Recommend This B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Lewis House B&B
Ranked #12 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

With just two guest rooms, this is a small but wonderful place to stay while in Victoria. Bob & Becky are incredible! They are so fun to talk with as well as being a wealth of information regarding the area! We wanted to drive to Butchart Gardens, so Bob printed out a map for us. He even went out in the rain to help us load the car when we were leaving! Becky serves up a fabulous breakfast, and provides muffins with a plastic bag each morning so that we can take them with us and have a snack later in the day! Both guest rooms are on the second floor with each having their own bathroom just outside your bedroom door (not connected). Our room, as well as the bathroom, was spotless! We were just a short walk to downtown, the museum and the Parliament building and the walk is quite nice, on residential streets. I really have nothing negative to say about this B&B! I would return in a moment, and highly recommend it for anyone staying in Victoria. Thanks to Becky & Bob for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Some reviews mention the lower ceiling in the bathroom, but if you request the Blue Room, you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomomma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a find in Victoria and what a couple. Bob and Becky, we thought went out of their way to make sure all our needs were met but after reading other reviews, this is the norm. Spotless bathrooms and bedrooms, a breakfast I still think about and a mid-morning snack, this couple takes their B and B seriously. Fresh fruit, flowers and goodies were in our rooms upon arrival and were replenished each day. Even provided us with a great selection of books and current magazines to read in the room. Knowledgeable about not only the well known sites in Victoria, Bob and Becky sent us to places off the beaten track, making it a very memorable holiday. At the end of their street, a very short walk, was a great sea front trail. We would recommend this B and B highly. Thank you Bob and Becky from your friends in Ontario!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvbc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The house is historical and charming, the hosts warm and welcoming, the breakfast delicious and the location couldn't be better. Fresh fruit and fresh flowers in our room, books and maps available to help plan our visit and the recommendations and suggestions by the hosts all added up to a special visit in lovely Victoria. In addition to the food, the short walk to the sea front, the proximity to the harbor, we were sent on our way each morning with freshly baked muffins for our "elevenses". Need I say more?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmdja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

what a find .bob and becky have to be the bet hosts ever . nothing was too much trouble ,bob even tried to repair my kindle .the bedroom was comfortable with a private bathroom next door . im keeping the best till last the breakfasts were to die for all home cooking followed by fresh muffins in a bag to eat during the day .my sort of accommodation .thanks once again dave &jo

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaysareus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We received a warm welcome from Becky & Bob in their lovely heritage house very well located to visit Victoria by foot. They provided us with valuable advise on what to do and where to eat. The breafast is outstanding and the main issue here is with what to begin with : everything is home made and tasty, and you get a doggy bags with spare muffins for getting energy during the day!
In few words : you feel at home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marcpascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this little 2-room bed and breakfast (although we were only there for a short time on our way to the San Juan islands). The British owners are very friendly and funny, and breakfast was excellent. We had time to walk all around the downtown and some residential areas of Victoria and had a relaxing time. The bus from the BC ferry terminal near Sidney, BC stops about a 10-15 minute walk from the bed and breakfast, and a local bus line runs even closer for getting into and out of the city area if you don't want to walk. Overall definitely recommended.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. They are probably very similar, and each has its own bathroom. The old hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulswirhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent a couple of nights here as part of a long trip around Canada, and had a lovely time. The owners, Becky and Bob, were the perfect hosts, and we loved the pretty antiques and period features throughout the house. The breakfasts were excellent and the location perfect for walking into Victoria's downtown district. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 92 in Victoria
275 reviews
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#2 of 92 in Victoria
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 92 in Victoria
529 reviews
Victoria West
Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Lewis House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Lewis House B&B

Address: 58 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £65 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage registered B&B close to downtown, inner harbour, coastal path and Beacon Hill Park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Lewis House B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing